Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

ODD failure, help!

T40/T41/T42/T43 Series
BlueFalcon

ODD failure, help!

#1 Post by BlueFalcon » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:16 pm

Hello,
I have limited knowledge about laptops so, I'm sorry, if my doubt is too simple.

Well, I have a T42p and my ODD is no working, its unable to ready something, The computer is working with windows 7 ultimate.

I tested many discs and a same message appears:

Insert the disk

The original ODD is a Panasonic UJ-812

I purchased a used AD-7910-A, Sony/NEC, and the problem is the same.

The seller says that this ODD is working fine.

My ask...

The read disk problem can to be something of the computer?

Both the ODDs, was recognized by windows and in the system, device manager not conflict and the device is working fine.

Thank you very much for your help.

Have a nice week!

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder

Re: ODD failure, help!

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:22 pm

Create and boot a Linux live USB, then try and access the CD. What CD are you using? Have you tried using a stamped CD,like one you bought from the store, not a CD-R or CD-RW?
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

BlueFalcon

#3 Post by BlueFalcon » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:45 am

Hello, thank you for your reply.