Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

1GB Ram for T42

T40/T41/T42/T43 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
ziloo
Freshman Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:00 pm
Location: los angeles, California

1GB Ram for T42

#1 Post by ziloo » Sun May 08, 2022 2:24 am

Hello Folks,

I recently tried to increase my 1GB Ram (2x512MB) to 2x1GB Rams in my T42;
the only DDRs I found were KVR400X64C3A/1G that resulted in black screen and
system not responding. What else are my options?

ziloo :mrgreen:

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22877
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire
Contact:

Re: 1GB Ram for T42

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 08, 2022 3:29 am

It can take up to 2 ea. 1GB PC2700/DDR333 SODIMM, preferably low-density.
Such as these: https://www.ebay.com/itm/201895402498
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
IBM: T23 (XP/SP3) - Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, M900 Tiny (all with W7/SP1)

ziloo
Freshman Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:00 pm
Location: los angeles, California

Re: 1GB Ram for T42

#3 Post by ziloo » Mon May 16, 2022 5:35 pm

...
Why the lower density matters?

ziloo :mrgreen:

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22877
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire
Contact:

Re: 1GB Ram for T42

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue May 17, 2022 12:27 am

Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
IBM: T23 (XP/SP3) - Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, M900 Tiny (all with W7/SP1)

ziloo
Freshman Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:00 pm
Location: los angeles, California

Re: 1GB Ram for T42

#5 Post by ziloo » Tue May 17, 2022 1:22 pm

...
I found and installed the following:

KVR333X64SC25/1G
1GB Kingston DDR1 Notebook RAM PC2700 333MHz SO-DIMM 200-Pin


and.........the T42 system just froze before the Thinkpad logo even starting,,,blank screen! :lol:

Well....should I try another module?

ziloo :mrgreen:

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22877
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire
Contact:

Re: 1GB Ram for T42

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed May 18, 2022 12:28 am

Unfortunately, yes.
You used ValueRAM, which is notorious for conking out.
Use the Search... box at the top of this page, search for valueram and weep! :cry:
Get some proper brand-name RAM, such as from: Micron, Hynix, Elpida, G.Skill, Mushkin, Crucial, Axiom, Samsung.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
IBM: T23 (XP/SP3) - Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, M900 Tiny (all with W7/SP1)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T40/T41/T42/T43 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests