Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Does the T43 take 2GB modules?

T40/T41/T42/T43 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8542
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Does the T43 take 2GB modules?

#1 Post by pianowizard » Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:39 am

Many people here have said that the T43 can only use 1GB modules, maxing out at 2GB total. That's also what the Tabook says. But there are 2GB PC2-4200 laptop modules, and if PC2-4200 motherboards can't use them, why would such modules be made at all? Has anyone tried 2GB sticks in the T43?
Dell Latitude 7370 (QHD+, 2.84lb); HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, 2.00lb);
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Dimitri_P
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: • California •
Contact:

#2 Post by Dimitri_P » Wed Apr 11, 2007 8:47 pm

Confirmed, it does.

I put PC2-5300 stick into bottom slot

It booted up.

Bios showed total of 2.5GBs

Paranoid_TP_User
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 9:11 am
Location: Ireland

#3 Post by Paranoid_TP_User » Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:41 pm

Dimitri_P wrote:Confirmed, it does.
Bios showed total of 2.5GBs
Are you saying that on my T43 I could install 4 GBs of RAM?
My Thinkpad: 2669H2G (T43P)
P M 770(2.13GHz), 2GB RAM, 60GB 7200rpm HD, 15in 1600x1200 LCD, 128MB ATI FireGL V3200

Dimitri_P
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: • California •
Contact:

#4 Post by Dimitri_P » Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:08 pm

Paranoid_TP_User wrote:
Dimitri_P wrote:Confirmed, it does.
Bios showed total of 2.5GBs
Are you saying that on my T43 I could install 4 GBs of RAM?
hold on let me check...

Dimitri_P
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: • California •
Contact:

#5 Post by Dimitri_P » Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:17 pm

Works with Hynix PC2-5300 2GB + 512MB Hynix PC2-4200

With Micron 2GB PC2-5300, Won't even start!

with Hynix PC2-5300 2GB and any 1GB stick didn't start...

draw your conclusions

Paranoid_TP_User
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue May 16, 2006 9:11 am
Location: Ireland

#6 Post by Paranoid_TP_User » Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:21 pm

Dimitri_P wrote:Works with Hynix PC2-5300 2GB + 512MB Hynix PC2-4200

With Micron 2GB PC2-5300, Won't even start!

with Hynix PC2-5300 2GB and any 1GB stick didn't start...

draw your conclusions
Good work sir, interesting about the 2.5GB combination you had there, I had always understood that I was limited to 2 GB
My Thinkpad: 2669H2G (T43P)
P M 770(2.13GHz), 2GB RAM, 60GB 7200rpm HD, 15in 1600x1200 LCD, 128MB ATI FireGL V3200

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8542
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#7 Post by pianowizard » Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:23 am

Dimitri_P wrote:draw your conclusions
Dimitri, thanks for the experiment! Wow, the T43 seems very picky when it comes to 2GB modules! Reminds me of using PC133 sticks on the 600E/X.
Dell Latitude 7370 (QHD+, 2.84lb); HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, 2.00lb);
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22919
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire
Contact:

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Apr 12, 2007 6:51 am

Don't try to put in more than 3GB, because XP can not handle more than 3GB! (Vista can, it seems)
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
IBM: T23 (XP/SP3) - Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, M900 Tiny (all with W7/SP1)

zacha81
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Germany

#9 Post by zacha81 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:36 am

hello!

tested: t43 and t43p with two micron modules. both modules will work in the top slot but not in the bottom slot. aditionally the system will boot up with a 2gb in the top and a 1gb in the bottom slot, bios does regognize 3 GB of memory but there are only 2GB available within the operating system Windows XP as well as LINUX! Any solution for this problem? Cause this way I don't benefit from the aditional memory (I can have 2gb and one slot available but not use more than 2GB in Windows and so the empfty slot is still useless.

regards.

EDIT: here is a video showing the behaviour of the t43 (there is only a 512M module installed in the second slot but the t43p with a 1GB module behaves the same way:

http://www.manitoba-team.de/t43.avi

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2793
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

#10 Post by Temetka » Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:11 pm

Heck can a T41P take 2gb modules?
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8542
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#11 Post by pianowizard » Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:13 pm

Temetka wrote:Heck can a T41P take 2gb modules?
There aren't 2GB PC2700 SODIMMs.
Dell Latitude 7370 (QHD+, 2.84lb); HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, 2.00lb);
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2793
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

#12 Post by Temetka » Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:15 pm

So what about PC-3200, or will that not fit? I know they changed the modules physically between DDR1 and DDR2.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8542
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#13 Post by pianowizard » Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:19 pm

Temetka wrote:So what about PC-3200, or will that not fit? I know they changed the modules physically between DDR1 and DDR2.
2GB PC3200 SODIMMs also don't exist. And indeed, PC2-3200 wouldn't fit. There aren't 2GB PC2-3200 SODIMMs anyway.
Dell Latitude 7370 (QHD+, 2.84lb); HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, 2.00lb);
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2793
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

#14 Post by Temetka » Tue Apr 17, 2007 10:34 pm

Ah well, I guess I'll have to suffer with only 2GB...
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

zacha81
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Germany

#15 Post by zacha81 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:55 am

if you read what I wrote you would have noticed that more than 2GB is not possible even with the t43p!

monkey243
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 9:39 am
Location: GUANGZHOU CHINA
Contact:

#16 Post by monkey243 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 8:57 am

The intel document said 915 chipset do not support more than 2GB RAM. But you can put more than 2GB RAM in notebook with 915 chipset. But you just can't use it in your operating system, like XP or Vista.
IBM X31 2672B1J 1.3G/1G/120G/CISCO 350

zacha81
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 12:58 pm
Location: Germany

#17 Post by zacha81 » Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:13 pm

so what? so what is the difference between is not supported and does not work? btw i don't even believe this to be a chipset question but a software issue regarding to ibm thinkpad bios!
Thinkpad T43p| 2.13| 2GB| 2x100GB 7k100 | Dock II, removed fan :)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T40/T41/T42/T43 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests