Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Using a T41 image on a T43

T40/T41/T42/T43 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
91011
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:10 pm
Location: Centennial, CO

Using a T41 image on a T43

#1 Post by 91011 » Thu May 28, 2009 3:02 pm

Trying to avoid doing a clean install on a relative's machine but after cloning her T41 drive and installing it in the new T43 a BSOD comes up right after booting. (Safe & normal modes) Throught I'd try a repair install next - I'm guessing it's a drive controller issue. Also, no Recovery Partition exists.

Anyone ever run across a method to make this work?

Thanks,
John
X301 -- X201s -- X2faux1s -- X201 -- x230 -- T61 -- T60p -- T42p

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17102
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Using a T41 image on a T43

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Thu May 28, 2009 5:08 pm

You can't move a hard drive from T41 to T43 without major headaches, since the HAL is very different.

Clean install is your best bet, especially on a generally moody machine like T43.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

91011
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:10 pm
Location: Centennial, CO

Re: Using a T41 image on a T43

#3 Post by 91011 » Thu May 28, 2009 6:16 pm

Thanks, I was afraid that would be the answer. I like your 'moody' description, no argument from me.

John
X301 -- X201s -- X2faux1s -- X201 -- x230 -- T61 -- T60p -- T42p

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 17102
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Using a T41 image on a T43

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Thu May 28, 2009 10:05 pm

Make no mistake, I love T43/p machines...almost as much as A31p ones, but there's no denying that one too many of them have a mind of their own on occasion...they're quite similar to Italian classic sport cars when it comes to temper, I'd say...as well as to some ladies I've known... :D
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

davidspalding
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1593
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:39 pm
Location: Durham, NC
Contact:

Re: Using a T41 image on a T43

#5 Post by davidspalding » Fri May 29, 2009 1:29 pm

91011 wrote:Trying to avoid doing a clean install on a relative's machine but after cloning her T41 drive and installing it in the new T43 a BSOD comes up right after booting. (Safe & normal modes) Throught I'd try a repair install next - I'm guessing it's a drive controller issue. Also, no Recovery Partition exists.

Anyone ever run across a method to make this work?
I"m unclear on what system needs repair ... her T41? Or are you building up a new T43 for her?

[edit]
Oh, I think I see what you're doing. I would use the SMA (System Migration Assistant) on the T41 to grab together her My Documents, application data (spotty, but works for Microsoft apps), favorites, Desktop, blah blah, and put it on an USB stick or something, Then either user R&R recovery media to format/setup the T43, or do a fresh install, install all the IBM drivers and utilities from their site (this can get tedious, as you don't need everything), then run SMA on it to install her user. One trick that wasn't clear in the README ... run SMA on the target computer AS the user want everything restored to.
2668-75U T43, 2GB RAM, 2nd hand NMB kybd, Dock II, spare Mini-Dock, and spare Port Replicators. Wacom BT tablet. Ultrabay 2nd HDD.
2672-KBU X32, 1.5GB RAM, 7200 rpm TravelStar HDD.

91011
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:10 pm
Location: Centennial, CO

Re: Using a T41 image on a T43

#6 Post by 91011 » Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:02 pm

Postscript:
Had some free time & an available T43 so made another try by using a WinXP install disc & doing a Repair (not Recovery) installation over a T41 image.

The repair went fine, the T43 booted to the login screen (without the Repair install it went BSOD right after the Thinkpad logo) but wouldn't logon until Windows was re-activated. Because the T43 has different Ethernet & WiFi it couldn't activate online and I didn't feel like doing the endless phone activation.

But the login was for the T41 username, so I'm pretty sure it was my T41 with the T43 install laid on top of it. Whether it would have run reliably I'll leave for someone else to try.

John
X301 -- X201s -- X2faux1s -- X201 -- x230 -- T61 -- T60p -- T42p

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T40/T41/T42/T43 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ziloo and 27 guests