Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
harbong
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:47 am
Location: Hays, KS

t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#1 Post by harbong » Wed Dec 09, 2009 8:54 pm

Hello, I have an issue with my t42 on a dock running an external monitor off DVI.

For the most part it works fine. I can do:
External monitor only at 1680x1050
External at 1680x1050 + LCD as primary
but
when I set up presentation director to do
LCD + External as primary at 1680x1050
it will not allow me to run this configuration, saying that the resolution and color quality are an issue. I used to run this configuration with a t40 with a dock with no problem.

I am running Radeon Omega drivers v 4.8.442. I realize I am probably running the graphics to the limit but it seems to be possible since it can work with both and the LCD as primary. Also, the option in the display properties through windows, the option for "Make this the primary monitor" when monitor 2 is selected is grayed out with Monitor one always checked.

are there any solutions to this?

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#2 Post by sjthinkpader » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:51 am

What is the Presentation Director version?
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

harbong
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:47 am
Location: Hays, KS

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#3 Post by harbong » Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:14 pm

PD v2.57
I should also note that
running my external monitor at 1680x1050 (full screen no scrolling) was not possible with the default ATI drivers on my t40 and this computer, so I have always used the omega drivers since getting a dock and external monitor.

harbong
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:47 am
Location: Hays, KS

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#4 Post by harbong » Tue Dec 22, 2009 10:56 pm

any ideas?

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8223
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#5 Post by dr_st » Wed Dec 23, 2009 1:26 am

I've had some issues with the recent Omega drivers. Try older ones. Version 3.8.330 seemed to work fine for me on the T42, and I frequently ran the exact same configuration you mentioned.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

harbong
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 10:47 am
Location: Hays, KS

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#6 Post by harbong » Tue Dec 29, 2009 11:31 pm

thanks! I will try this.

Terrahawk
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 430
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:51 am
Location: Hamilton, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#7 Post by Terrahawk » Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:52 am

I have a T42p that is running the configuration you're wanting but using the latest IBM drivers. Both displays are set to 32-bit colour, the external LCD is 1680 x 1050 and the Thinkpad LCD is at 1400 x 1050. I am using a DVI connector to drive the external monitor. The graphics chip is an ATI FireGL T2 128MB.

I think my T41 will do this too but I've only just got it back (from an unexpected trip to China). I'll check a bit later on.
Geoff.
T60P 2007-8JM / T60 1951-A35 / Z60M 2531-E9M / Tablet 1838-23M / Tablet 2 3679-27M
T410 2522-CTO / X301 2776-A17 / X201 3680-FAG / T420 4180-AQ3

Nick Y
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Location: Bucks., UK

Re: t42 cannot do 2 screens with external monitor as primary

#8 Post by Nick Y » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:53 am

Have you tried Ultramon?

http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests