Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

T4x series specific matters only
Message
Author
lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#31 Post by lukee » Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:17 am

Xenomorph wrote:how many people have actually installed this?
Hard to say, but I've tried it and have it for 3 days now. Everything works perfectly. No 2010 error with Samsung HM160HC hard drive, which is officialy unsupported drive. From the screenshots on MDL forum is apparent, that TTav134 only bypassed code generating the error. So the HDD checking mechanism is still inside but there is no code to generate error, delay and 2x beep :wink:
Have to say also, that possible data corruption possibility might still exists using non-approved HDD but I don't know anybody who experienced this problem during that 5 years... Altough there was notification from IBM, main thing is that IBM/Lenovo cannot guarantee 100% reliability if some parts are not coming from IBM. Then you can't plead in a court with them if their machine will impact your business. And that's all from this secret.
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

top points
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 5:12 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia, EU

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#32 Post by top points » Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:53 am

Installed over 12h ago, during this time I've done some restarts- no 2010 or any other errors occured. Everything seems functioning.

Type 1871, Samsung HM160HC
6474AH5

Raceboy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Location: Tartu, Estonia

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#33 Post by Raceboy » Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:07 am

With the removal of the SATA-PATA bridge chip you will be eliminating the reason why IBM implemented the HDD compatibility check at first place.
And get to use better/newer/faster/bigger/cheaper HDD's.
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#34 Post by lukee » Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:27 am

Raceboy: yes, and this was reason why IBM didn't want to risk a reliability issues by using an HDD without IBM's firmware. Big business risk for IBM. I'm planning to remove bridge chip soon to install Hitachi 7k500 (500GB 7200rpm drive) into main HDD bay, but I don't know about any local company with appropriate equipment. I've some soldering tools at home but the bridge chip's connection to planar is very small. I'm affraid I can't solder SATA wires correctly with my equipment. :(
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

Dottore
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 9:07 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#35 Post by Dottore » Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:57 am

Nice, T43p (type 2668), Samsung HM120HC (120Gb) SATA experienced full brilliance: D

No one Error 2010 and an ugly sound beep-beep.
Simply rising faster Win7 system and got a significant speed compared to the original Travelestar 80Gb Hitachi (IBM original parts)

I will definitely keep Hitachi fail Samsung
T43p - 2,13Ghz, 2GB x 1, 80GB Hitachi, Win7 Pro
T41 -1,6Ghz, 512MB x 2, 40GB Hitachi, Win XP Pro

TTav134
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:14 am
Location: orleans, france

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#36 Post by TTav134 » Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:24 pm

UPDATE

Link to MDL at first post
================================================== =========================
ThinkPad T43, T43p (2668, 2669, 2678, 2679, 2686, 2687 Machine types only)
Version: 1.29 (1YET65WW)
Release Date: 2006/09/06
SLIC2.1 Lenovo TP7U

T43-SLIC2.1_7U_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zip

================================================== =========================
- ThinkPad R52 (1858, 1859, 1860, 1861, 1862, 1863, 1958 Machine types only)
- ThinkPad T43 (1871, 1872, 1873, 1874, 1875, 1876 Machine types only)

Version: 1.29
Release Date: 2007/06/05
SLIC2.1 DELL M09

R52-T43-76UJ29US_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zi p

================================================== =========================
- ThinkPad R52 (Machine Type 1846, 1847, 1848, 1849, 1850, 1870, 1957)
Version: 1.29
Release Date: 2007/02/07
SLIC2.1 DELL M09

R52-76UJ28US_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zi p

================================================== =========================
ThinkPad X41
Version: 2.09 (74ET64WW)
Release Date: 2006/12/25
SLIC2.1 DELL M09

X41-74uj15us_SLIC2.1_M09_no_1802_no_2010_by_TTAV134.zi p

================================================== =========================

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#37 Post by Tasurinchi » Wed Nov 24, 2010 4:56 pm

This is really good news... I'm just having two candidates for testing :wink:

Edit: Had no problems downloading it, no pop ups or anything of that kind (using Portable Chrome)
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

Nick Y
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:17 pm
Location: Bucks., UK

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#38 Post by Nick Y » Sat Nov 27, 2010 8:34 am

Brilliant; well done.

Works a treat with my WD3200BEVE on the T43 :D

Thank you, TTav134, for finding the solution.

Nick
IBM ThinkPad T43-2668-F5G,
T41p-2373-GEG & a T61-6466-9YG

Raceboy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Location: Tartu, Estonia

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#39 Post by Raceboy » Sat Nov 27, 2010 9:48 am

Tested on my X41, absolutely no problems.

Thank you!
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p

TTav134
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:14 am
Location: orleans, france

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#40 Post by TTav134 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 11:02 am

hi gents,

does somebody can confirm if SLIC table for X41 Tablet is valid, i have a doubt.

regards

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#41 Post by Tasurinchi » Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:09 pm

Works on my WD 320GB without no issues! Thanks :bow:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

91011
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 441
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:10 pm
Location: Centennial, CO

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#42 Post by 91011 » Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:15 pm

@TTav134
The T43 26xx BIOS is the only one of the four that uses a Lenovo SLIC. The other three use a Dell SLIC because the Lenovo will not fit (too large). The Lenovo BIOS with the Dell SLIC has been used for more than a year (but with no 2010 removal) and continues to pass validation.
X301 -- X201s -- X2faux1s -- X201 -- x230 -- T61 -- T60p -- T42p

ladoga
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#43 Post by ladoga » Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:42 pm

Thank you TTav34.

I just flashed my x41 with your modified BIOS using phlash16.exe from bootable USB thumbdrive. Works without a hitch except the checksum warning before flashing process starts. Now I don't have to wait due to 2010 error and the boot is blazing fast with Kingspec 64GB SSD. (7 seconds from splash screen to X)

I tried using IBM BIOS upgrade utility (DOS CD image written to thumbdrive) to write my own bootsplash image into your modified ROM file (simply renaming the file to whatever was the filename of original IBM BIOS image), but it did't work much like I expected. IBM flash utility complains about corrupt BIOS and refuses to continue. Maybe again the due to checksum?

Any ideas how I could replace the default bootsplash bitmap in your BIOS image?

TTav134
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 3:14 am
Location: orleans, france

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#44 Post by TTav134 » Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:34 am

ladoga wrote:Thank you TTav34.

I just flashed my x41 with your modified BIOS using phlash16.exe from bootable USB thumbdrive. Works without a hitch except the checksum warning before flashing process starts. Now I don't have to wait due to 2010 error and the boot is blazing fast with Kingspec 64GB SSD. (7 seconds from splash screen to X)

I tried using IBM BIOS upgrade utility (DOS CD image written to thumbdrive) to write my own bootsplash image into your modified ROM file (simply renaming the file to whatever was the filename of original IBM BIOS image), but it did't work much like I expected. IBM flash utility complains about corrupt BIOS and refuses to continue. Maybe again the due to checksum?

Any ideas how I could replace the default bootsplash bitmap in your BIOS image?
Recalculate Phoenix BIOS checksum: phnxcksm.exe http://www.endeer.cz/bios.tools/
Useless when flashing from windows with WinPhlash

("Flags" Tab):
[ ] Verify BIOS part number
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is different
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is newer
[ ] Verify BIOS image size
[ ] Verify BIOS checksum
[ ] Zero block before erasing
[x] Verify block after programming
[x] Disable Axx swaping automatic detection (if present)
[ ] Clear CMOS Checksum

("DMI" tab)
"Update": Select "Update the BIOS and not DMI"

For BMP replacement there is all necessary tools in original IBM bios package. (CHKBMP.EXE, logo.bat, logo.scr ... and readme.txt for the "how to") and once the checksum will be fixed you will have better success.

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2790
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#45 Post by Temetka » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:26 am

Just installed on my T43 2668-YHS. Works like a charm. The annoying beep for unsupported hard disk has been removed. Thanks.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#46 Post by Tasurinchi » Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:32 pm

Hi! I know it's a T4 thread, but I tried today to patch my X41T and it's not working. Win7 keeps saying it can't load the driver PHLASHNT.sys and to check that I have administrator privileges. But I am running the program with an administrator user. Did someone have similar problems?

Edit: Solved! I had to deactivate the UAC settings and reboot the machine! (Note to self: think before posting :oops: )
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19321
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#47 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:37 pm

Next time you try something like that, get a bootable CD, rather than updating from within Windows. Much saver!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#48 Post by Tasurinchi » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:09 am

Yeah I know, but I was lazy again :oops: . I don't have a dock or external optical drive for the X41T. I should have checked if I have a small USB stick lying somewhere and make it bootable. Still have to patch my X41, allthough I have a X4 dock with drive for it.
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#49 Post by lukee » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:18 am

Solved! I had to deactivate the UAC settings and reboot the machine!
You don't need to deactivate the UAC. Right click and select 'Run as Administrator' is enough :wink:
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2077
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#50 Post by Tasurinchi » Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:32 am

lukee wrote:ou don't need to deactivate the UAC. Right click and select 'Run as Administrator' is enough
I was logged in as Administrator from the beginning. Still did not work until I turned off UAC and rebooted the machine. Really weird...
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

ladoga
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#51 Post by ladoga » Tue Jan 04, 2011 9:27 pm

TTav134 wrote: Recalculate Phoenix BIOS checksum: phnxcksm.exe http://www.endeer.cz/bios.tools/
Useless when flashing from windows with WinPhlash

("Flags" Tab):
[ ] Verify BIOS part number
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is different
[ ] Flash only if BIOS version is newer
[ ] Verify BIOS image size
[ ] Verify BIOS checksum
[ ] Zero block before erasing
[x] Verify block after programming
[x] Disable Axx swaping automatic detection (if present)
[ ] Clear CMOS Checksum

("DMI" tab)
"Update": Select "Update the BIOS and not DMI"

For BMP replacement there is all necessary tools in original IBM bios package. (CHKBMP.EXE, logo.bat, logo.scr ... and readme.txt for the "how to") and once the checksum will be fixed you will have better success.
[edit] It worked fine using phnxcksm-0.2.exe. Checksum recalculator couldn't be run in DOS mode so I had to use another machine with windows for it (I'm using linux on the thinkpad). I copied the updated file back to boot media and IBM BIOS update program had no complaints this time.

I lack words, but I wish to thank you for all the work you've done. It has helps many people who wish to upgrade their old trusty thinkpads. :)

slatka kuca
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 5:03 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#52 Post by slatka kuca » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:14 pm

Cheers its work for me t43 2669 work fine with Samsung 160 Gb HD.
Its working one week for now and work fine.

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#53 Post by lukee » Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:33 am

Here is my experience after two months of intensive using of my T43p/Win7 with this BIOS mod - absolutely no problems, everything works like a charm.
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

rasmer
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 8:25 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#54 Post by rasmer » Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:47 am

I want to use an old HDD on my T43, but it won't go past the Error 2010 at all.
I would like to use these files to flash the bios, can someone tell me how I could do it from a CD ?

Thanks ahead!

jsailorca
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:26 pm
Location: Los Angeles, California

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#55 Post by jsailorca » Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:10 pm

Got a T43 (2668 here), I have a few questions
regarding this BIOS mod:

What software do I need to flash the new bios?
How do I back up the old bios in case the new bios does not work?
Would SLIC2.1 affect activation of WinXP Pro in case of
re-installation is required?


Thanks.

Bibin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 1:07 am
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#56 Post by Bibin » Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:47 pm

I had applied this to my T43p, and then applied the SATA mod. Did anyone do the mod with the stock bios? I have a theory that the 2010 error would not show up in that situation but I can not test it myself unless there is an easy way to restore my original T43p bios.
Give your T43/T43p/R52/X41 the SATA it deserves! http://mikejmoffitt.com/sata

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#57 Post by lukee » Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:05 am

Bibin wrote:I had applied this to my T43p, and then applied the SATA mod. Did anyone do the mod with the stock bios? I have a theory that the 2010 error would not show up in that situation but I can not test it myself unless there is an easy way to restore my original T43p bios.
Only HDDs with original IBM firmware will boot without 2010 ERROR together with the stock BIOS, independently if the SATA bridge is on place or not. The chip itself is fully transparent for the BIOS as well as for operating system.
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

Easy Wind
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#58 Post by Easy Wind » Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:06 pm

nice bios utility!

I got this working on my T43 (2668) and everything looks mighty fine! Only snafu I ran into were the files hosted on the MDL site didn't work, however the files hosted on the boardroom did ??

Anyways - thanks (and good bye error 2010) !
T42 (type 2373)
T43 (type 2668) x2
T60 (type 2007)

CoolRunnings
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:29 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#59 Post by CoolRunnings » Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:06 am

Tested with an 80gb Western Digital - no problems so far! YES! That beep was SO annoying! Thank you for posting this.

dorronto
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2275
Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 7:12 am
Location: Hallstead PA. USA

Re: T43 no more error 2010 (picture warning)

#60 Post by dorronto » Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:38 am

Thanks......worked for me with my mint T43 Intel graphics.....excellent...faster boot times also....... :mrgreen:

Ron
IBM Lenovo X1 Carbon (1st) / T61 / iPad Pro 12.9 (2015) / iPad 10.5 (2017) / iPad Mini 4.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests