Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD in Ultrabay caddy

T4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD in Ultrabay caddy

#1 Post by andertrack » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:42 pm

A quick how to for those that want to upgrade to a 2.5" SSD for their main boot drive. I recommend installing a fresh copy of Windows 7 when you install your SSD

Preperation:

1. Search on ebay for "ibm t42 sata caddy" and buy from a top rated seller (I purchased mine from nypc-tech)

Image

2. Buy any 2.5" SATA SSD that is within your budget (try logic buy: http://www.logicbuy.com/categorydeals/c ... drives-ssd)

3. Purchase a copy of Windows 7 (if you have more than two computers to upgrade to 7, get the family 3 pack: http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Windows ... 498&sr=8-1)

4. (optional) Purchase an enclosure for the DVD drive on ebay (search for "usb external case t42 dvd")- You will need an external DVD drive to install Windows 7 from a DVD, but you can download Windows 7 from Microsoft and install from a USB drive

5. (also optional) Search for "IDE 44-Pin 2.5" HDD to Compact Flash CF Adapter Converter" on ebay and install in IDE bay with a blank CF card after you remove your IDE hard drive. This will get rid of the 30 second boot delay. Otherwise, you can just leave the IDE bay empty. Also on amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Syba-SY-IDE2CF-NB ... 602&sr=8-1

Image


Installation:

1. Remove IDE hard drive from computer

2. Remove optical drive from Ultrabay (see manual for instructions)

3. Install SSD into SATA caddy and then install into Ultrabay (where your optical drive was)

4. Boot up the computer and go into the BIOS and change the boot order so that the SSD is first

5. Install a fresh copy of Windows 7 (any version) onto the SSD; using XP is not reccomended because it does not have TRIM support

6. Boot up the computer, and Windows should find most of the drivers. Go to lenovo.com for any additional drivers you may need

7. Enjoy the blazing speed and reliability of SSD! (Note: the read/write speed will not be on par with native SATA because the caddy is working on a PATA bus)
Last edited by andertrack on Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:14 am, edited 24 times in total.
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

ausmike
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 977
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:16 am
Location: ~ 3Million Mile Club Member~~

Re: How to use SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#2 Post by ausmike » Sun Feb 27, 2011 10:20 am

Since you "cloned" the Hard drive to the SSD (via Acronis).....
am curious ..... what you did with 'virtual memory' files ..ie pagefile.sys and like files on your SSD ?

>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Am Also 'curious' as to how the CF (assume u ment 'compact flash' which are most commonly used in Digital Camera)....how do they address UDMA Fixed Disk Mode feature normaly avalible on MOST IDE hard drives?


thanks
Work: None - Retired ! Yipee!! ~~Older/Hm use:Asus Zenbook i7FHD~~ w701ds CTO;W520cto;T61P-IPSmodels; T43P,...&700Tstill going strong!! DEC Alpha Series OS: Win7x64; OSX; SuSe Linux; RedHat~~

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#3 Post by andertrack » Sun Feb 27, 2011 12:51 pm

I did not end up cloning the drive (I was thinking of another time), my mistake. I actually did a fresh install of Windows 7 because of the support for TRIM. I have edited the how to guide to recommend a fresh install of Windows 7.

In terms of your second point, yes, it is a Compact Flash card, and I am not sure about UDMA. I formatted the card, put it in the CF to IDE adapter, installed the adapter in the IDE bay, and forgot about it. There is still a slight delay at bootup, but nowhere close to the 30 seconds before I installed the CF card.
Last edited by andertrack on Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

Johan
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: How to use SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#4 Post by Johan » Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:02 pm

Readers of this thread might (also) want to see the thread 1.8" SATA to 2.5" IDE converter? - especially from this post and onwards... it is strongly related to the subject discused in this highly interesting thread! :wink:

Thanks very much for posting this!! :bow:

Johan
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#5 Post by andertrack » Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:03 pm

Your welcome Johan. I did look at the 1.8" SATA to IDE solution as well as a PATA SSD, but I think that in terms of cost, the 2.5" SSD with ultrabay is the cheapest.
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

edhkim
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#6 Post by edhkim » Sat May 07, 2011 3:37 pm

Just wanted to say thanks to the OP. I liked the relative price-effectiveness of this approach, so for under $140 for a 64GB crucial (one day before they released the new model for essentially the same price, dagnabbit) and the two adapters, got this to work by cloning my drive using the trial version of Casper (after DriveXML didn't work - I wonder if Casper did a better job copying over boot stuff). I suppose if I were more patient I could've gotten a better deal on the SSD, but it's not like I need a lot of space, and 64 was a step up, even.. I'll give it a few days to see how much faster it is, but from the first 15 minutes of use, seems pretty snappy. Not that I benchmarked my old stock HDD anyway...

So again, thanks for the idea and how-to!

Johan
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#7 Post by Johan » Sat May 07, 2011 3:44 pm

@ edhkim:

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for sharing!

Would you be able/willing to give an idea of the boot time on your T42 (as I take it that you've got a T42?), and information about what OS you're running... e.g. XP or Windows 7?

Thanks in advance! :-)

Johan
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#8 Post by andertrack » Sat May 07, 2011 6:12 pm

Your welcome edhkim. I went back to my original post and cleaned stuff up a little bit and split the guide into two sections, which hopefully will make it easier to read.
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

edhkim
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:14 pm
Location: Reno, NV

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#9 Post by edhkim » Sun May 08, 2011 6:44 pm

Let's see... Actually I have a T43p, and I cloned my WinXP drive. It was actually partitioned into two drives, but Casper cloned both onto the new disk in one go. I then used MiniTool Partition Wizard to expand the two partitions into the rest of the available space (I think the full version of Casper lets you do that at the same time as cloning).

As for bootup time, I've got JoliOS co-installed, so I have to choose that on boot, but if I do everything as fast as I can (choose WinXP, then slide my fingerprint at the right time), it takes about 30 seconds to see the boot menu (even though I have a CF card in the original hard drive bay), finger print login at 1 minute, reactive desktop by about 3 minutes and 30 seconds. I'm guessing that means I have to figure out something about the CF-to-IDE card, since I don't see the card available, either. Just format it so that it's blank, right?

I also have soluto installed, which tells me that by its reckoning that "bootup" has gone from about 4 and a half minutes to 2:15, but I think that's from when soluto starts running just after windows has started.


In any case, I'll also note that the Intel SSD Toolbox does not recognize the drive as an SSD, probably because of the superbay adapter, but that's probably not a surprise. I'm not sure if I'll get a noticeable decline in performance as my lack of TRIM becomes an issue. MyDefrag mentions on its FAQ that it kinda sorta hand-wavey addresses some SSD fragmentation issues indirectly, but I dunno what that will mean for wear-and-tear. Maybe using its USB defragging script would be the best approach? Once a month? Still googling around for answers on best practices.

Also, now I've spent at least a little more time, and yeah, it's faster! Weirdly, especially when I try to pull up the ATI Catalyst Control Center that handles the display and video card settings. Going to hibernate still takes a while, but my RAM is 2GB so I'm guessing that's just gonna take a while. Waking up from hibernation is faster. I'm thinking a big part of the increase in speed I'm seeing may lie in the fact that my hard drive was near capacity, so a lot of files were fragmented now matter how much I tried to defrag. Not the whole thing, of course, but definitely played a part.

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#10 Post by andertrack » Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:41 pm

I think my thinkpad would have been dead by now had I not done this (bump)
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

ChugokuOtaku
Sophomore Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 8:09 am
Location: Herndon, VA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#11 Post by ChugokuOtaku » Fri Sep 09, 2011 11:02 pm

andertrack wrote:I did look at the 1.8" SATA to IDE solution as well as a PATA SSD, but I think that in terms of cost, the 2.5" SSD with ultrabay is the cheapest.
for the 1.8" solution, cost comes out to be about the same really...

Shapeways caddy $17
microSATA to IDE adapter $17
1.8" 64gig SSD bought from forum member $80

And you still get to keep the ultrabay available for an optical drive(which I'm sure few of us still need... lol) or battery.

X1 Carbon Gen 3, QHD non-Touch, i5, 8gig, 480gig M500
X1 Carbon Gen 1, i5, 8gig, 256gig Sandisk
T420si, i3, 16gig, 256gig M4
x60T SXGA+, 1.5Ghz, 3gig, 80gig X25-M G1
T43 SXGA+, 1.86Ghz, 2gig, 60gig Agility 2 + 160gig 5K80
T42 SXGA+, 1.7Ghz, 2gig, 80gig X18-M G1
x41 / T22 / 380ED

jaobedoza
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:02 pm
Location: east

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#12 Post by jaobedoza » Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:48 pm

5. (also optional) Search for "CF to 44 pin 2.5" IDE" on ebay and install in IDE bay with a blank CF card after you remove your IDE hard drive. This will get rid of the 30 second boot delay. Otherwise, you can just leave the IDE bay empty.
Why don't we just leave the old ide drive in and use it to store data? or remove it from the boot order to eliminate the delay.

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#13 Post by andertrack » Sun Oct 30, 2011 4:58 pm

jaobedoza wrote:why don't we just leave the old ide drive in and use it to store data? or remove it from the boot order to eliminate the delay.
I wanted to remove the IDE drive to get rid of the noise the HD makes as well as the extra power consumption (also getting rid of it reduces system weight)
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

jaobedoza
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 8:02 pm
Location: east

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#14 Post by jaobedoza » Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:27 pm

andertrack wrote:
I wanted to remove the IDE drive to get rid of the noise the HD makes as well as the extra power consumption (also getting rid of it reduces system weight)
OK, but what causes the boot delay? i thought maybe it was related with the removal of the IDE drive? i also like the reduced weight/noise/power consumption without having to buy a CF and IDE adapter.

bokaal
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:54 pm
Location: Rixtel, The Netherlands

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#15 Post by bokaal » Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:59 pm

I also just installed a SSD a main boot drive in my T42. The renewed experience is very good!

Since I removed the orignal hard drive I also experience the 30s boot delay.

As suggested, I bought as CF to 2.5 IDE 44 pin adapter. But with that I have a question. The adapter is quite small and the 2.5" is quite narrow and thin. How did you guys install this adapter and how do you ensure it stays in place?

Image

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#16 Post by andertrack » Sun Mar 25, 2012 5:12 pm

bokaal wrote:I also just installed a SSD a main boot drive in my T42. The renewed experience is very good!

Since I removed the orignal hard drive I also experience the 30s boot delay.

As suggested, I bought as CF to 2.5 IDE 44 pin adapter. But with that I have a question. The adapter is quite small and the 2.5" is quite narrow and thin. How did you guys install this adapter and how do you ensure it stays in place?
The adapter I got was the size of a 2.5" HD, so I just attached it to the metal bracket and slid it in. It is like this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Syba-Ultra-IDE- ... 5890f15b47

You can try to mount the smaller adapter to the metal bracket and do it that way.
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

605
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:22 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#17 Post by 605 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:16 pm

I tried to install a Intel 330-series SSD in a newly purchased SATA caddy, but could not get this to work properly:
I already had Win7 running on the IDE HD, so I Ghost'ed it over to the SSD.
The PC starts up fine, but about every 10-15 sec, it seems like it gets "stuck" for about 5 sec with the harddrive light on the caddy on. There are no error messages displayed, and none in the event log. I installed Intels SSD software, and ran the optimizer, TRIM etc (many times!), but nothing improved. The Intel Diagnostic program says all is fine.

I gave up in the end, and put a Samsung HM250HI (250 gb SATA) in the caddy, and this is my current configuration.

I am not sure how much I would gain by working on the SSD installation, as I feel the Samsung in the caddy is giving me good performance, at least a lot better than the old 40 GB Htachi IDE HD, but if anybody has a hint, I am more than willing to test it! :D

Here are some results for the 3 different disks.
(The Intel results is taken when booting from IDE, could not get meaningful results when booting from it.)

The original Hitachi 40 GB IDE
Image

The Intel 330 60 GB in Caddy (Not booted from):
Image

The Samsung 250 GB SATA in Caddy (when booted from):
Image

The PC is a T42, 2.0GHz, 2 GB ram, SXGA+, ATI 9600/9700 (Not much more to upgrade here :)

andertrack
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 9:54 pm
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

#18 Post by andertrack » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:09 pm

Weird, only thing I can think of is that the caddy doesn't like that SSD. Did you try to update the firmware on the SSD. Might want to try another SSD like this one from crucial:

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-64-2-5-In ... ywords=ssd

Clean install of Windows 7 couldn't hurt either.

With my SSD I am getting something like 80MB/s reads, which is terrible compared to a SATA SSD, but its the best I can hope for on a SATA to PATA bridge. If you don't need the shock resistance of an SSD (I treat my T42 even more like the tank it is now), I would stay with the mechanical drive.
IBM ThinkPad T42 2373-M3U 64GB Kingston SSD (Ultrabay), 1.8GHz M 745, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9600, 14.1" SXGA+, Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit

How to use 2.5" SATA SSD as main boot drive for T42

605
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 5:22 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD in Ultrabay (main boot drive)

#19 Post by 605 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:16 pm

Thanks for the hints, but as my T42 never moves an inch, and I am happy with the performance of the new mechanical SATA disk in the caddy, I decided to put the Intel SSD in my wifes X61, where it seems to work fine. I Ghost'ed over her Win8 install, and was up and running in 30 min :D
The write performance is a bit dissapointing, but read rates are probably as good as can be expected from a SATA 1-laptop. Really good upgrade from her old 64 GB Hitachi which were around 25 GB/sec.

Image

Raceboy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 am
Location: Tartu, Estonia

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD in Ultrabay (main boot drive)

#20 Post by Raceboy » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:40 am

Is the partition aligned? This could easily affect the write performance and lifetime of SSD as well. On my X60 Tablet, I get ~100+ MB/s writes on all but 4K random writes (those are ~40 MB/s).
X61s:L7500,4GB,128GB SSD,IPS
X32s:PM 758 LV CPU mod,2GB,64GB microSATA SSD,COM mod,IPS
701c,240,380,X60s,560X,570E,600/E,T20,T21,T30,TR451,T42p
Past:560/E/Z,600E,R30,T21,T23,T30,T40,TR451,T40p,T41,T41p,T42,T42p,T43,X20,X22,X23,X24,X31,X40,X41,X60/T,X61/s,X201,T60,T60p,T61,T400,T601p

abhiutd
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 3:47 pm

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD in Ultrabay caddy

#21 Post by abhiutd » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:15 pm

How do i Install Windows 7 on SSD (that is in the UltraBay caddy as shown in this post) since now there is now no DVD drive? Thanks.

twistero
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 2:25 am
Location: Princeton, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: How to use 2.5" SATA SSD in Ultrabay caddy

#22 Post by twistero » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:20 am

abhiutd wrote: How do i Install Windows 7 on SSD since now there is no DVD drive. Thanks.
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=install+windows+7+from+usb+drive
X60 tablet 6363-P3U, 3GB ram, 128GB SanDisk Extreme SSD, SXGA+ screen, Intel 6300
T61 Frankenpad in 15 inch T60 body, UXGA LED-lit AFFS LCD, T9300, 6GB RAM, NVidia NVS140m, Intel 6205, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, 1TB HGST HDD + eBay caddy in Ultrabay
701c butterfly, 75MHz 486DX4, 40MB ram, 1GB CF card

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T4x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests