Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

300 CHARACTER LIMIT IN SIGNATURE

Got a question or suggestion about the forum? Ask or comment here, or
PM an admin or moderator.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Khipata
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:33 pm
Location: Arlington, VA

300 CHARACTER LIMIT IN SIGNATURE

#1 Post by Khipata » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:51 pm

I have a question for administrators, moderators and forum members:
How do you guys beat (or do you?) the 300 character limit in signature?
Thanks in advance for the reply(s)! :)
5140,L40SX(3),PS/NOTE 425(2),PS/2 NOTE,700T,730T,700,700C(3),720C,701C(3),701CS(3),360P,360PE,750P,380,385,PC110,TRANSNOTE, Z50,240,240X,600,600E,600X(2),A31P,750C,755C,770,X40,X60,X61S,X61T,R50,R51E,R61I,T20,T21,T30,T42(2),T43,T60,T61(4),T500(2),W520,HP95LX,100LX,200LX,300,PSION II,3,NEWTON130

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10135
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Re: 300 CHARACTER LIMIT IN SIGNATURE

#2 Post by rkawakami » Fri Dec 12, 2014 2:31 am

AFAIK, there's no way to "beat" the 300 character limit. It's a general board setting that should apply to all members. I just recently discovered a "feature" about the signature; it does not break lines (i.e., auto wrap) like the posting area does. When I was recently browsing the forum with my iPad, I couldn't figure why all of my posts were much wider than everyone elses. Since I normally post from an A31p, I couldn't see that my posts were any different. My signature line for years was a single line; no CRLF at all. So that caused each one of my posts to be displayed as wide as my signature line. Your signature is the same. Your post looks fine on my UXGA A31p but if I view it on my iPod Touch, the text of your post (and everything else on the forum page) is about 1/2 the width of your signature.

With my iPad in landscape mode, this thread looks normal except for your post. My post auto-line breaks at the end of the "TRANSNOTE" in your .sig.

edit: I think I need to update the information above concerning the line breaks... Since my original .sig and Khipata's do not have any spaces within (to minimize the number of characters used), the board does not know where to break the line. Therefore, it will output the entire line as is and forces the width of my post to be as wide as the signature. The "fix" is to use spaces between items OR hard code a line break.
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

GomJabbar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9834
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am

Re: 300 CHARACTER LIMIT IN SIGNATURE

#3 Post by GomJabbar » Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:11 am

Interestingly on my android phone, Khipata's sig is somewhat wider than the forum page!
DKB

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: 300 CHARACTER LIMIT IN SIGNATURE

#4 Post by dr_st » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:09 am

Oh, yeah. It is definitely wider than XGA, perhaps even wider than WXGA/HD. :)
Current: Thinkpad 25 (20K7), Yoga 14 (20FY), X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, T60 1952-F76, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Notices, Questions and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest