Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

Got a question or suggestion about the forum? Ask or comment here, or
PM an admin or moderator.
Post Reply
Message
Author
MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#1 Post by MikalE » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:31 am

I don't see any option here to get a new tab to open if I click on a link in a thread here. I'm always checking out suggestions that others make for help or parts or a discussion on another site.

This is the only site I visit that will not open a new tab when I click on a link.

Is there some setting I am missing in my Preferences menu?
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18831
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:50 am

If you have a mouse, you can either click on the middle button or the wheel to open that link in a new tab.
Only other option is to right-click on that link, then select "Open link in new tab".

It would need a Forum-software modification to implement "open-link-in-new-tab", and that would then only apply to new links.
And you'd then also need to manually (!) redo all the umpteen thousands of old links.
NO WAY JOSE!
Too much hassle.

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2944
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#3 Post by Neil » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:52 am

Probably not the only way to do it, but the way I do it is right click the link, and choose "open link in new tab" from the menu.
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18831
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Aug 26, 2016 7:55 am

Hey Neil, not fully awake yet?

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2944
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#5 Post by Neil » Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:06 am

Don't appear to be, do I? Plus looking at other things while writing posts, and totally unaware of what others might have posted. :oops:
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P

Saucey
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 865
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:22 pm
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#6 Post by Saucey » Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:34 am

If you only have a two button mouse you can hold CTRL while left clicking, opens a new tab. :)
Coffee, ThinkPads & Nikon Fan.

Current: PixelBook, Y50-70, T430
Collected: A31p, T43p, 2521
Past: W700ds, X1C3, 701C

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#7 Post by MikalE » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:43 am

You know, I forgot all about that option. I'm just so used to having a link open another window I forgot about it.

So, right-click it will be then I guess.

What is it about this forum software that doesn't allow for it automatically?
T500 C2D 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 RPM Drive, 15.6in 1600x900 LCD, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard reader, media card reader, FPR, Win10 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, Ultimate-N 6300 AGN, German KB, Bluetooth 4.0.

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1531
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#8 Post by Cigarguy » Fri Aug 26, 2016 12:46 pm

Many sites won't open in a new tab automatically. It's no big deal for me to right click to open a new tab.

brchan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 11:43 am
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana

Re: How do I get a link in a thread to open a new tab???

#9 Post by brchan » Fri Aug 26, 2016 12:51 pm

Easiest way is to use the middle click button on the mouse or trackpoint. Otherwise, CTRL + left click.
Current Thinkpads: W530 (functional classic keyboard mod), X301, T61, T60, T43, A31p, T23, 600X, 770
Other: mk5 Toughbook cf-19, mk1 Toughbook cf-53

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Notices, Questions and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests