New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

IBM or Lenovo Desktops, Workstations, ThinkStations, etc. Recent vintage, hardware/software..
Post Reply
Message
Author
farmall77
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Alvada, Ohio, USA

New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#1 Post by farmall77 » Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:24 pm

A month after I became a Thinkpad user I decided I should update my ancient desktop.

Today I picked up a Thinkstation S20-4157.

When it got sold off they wiped the O/S, I have the windows 7 pro key on the back, which Microsoft won't accept on the website. I didn't get any recovery media.

Any ideas?

It looks like an awesome system, for it's age, I'm planning on mostly using it as a graphics/video workstation.
T520 i7-2620m (4242-4uu),T520 i5-2520M(4243-4wu) T61 (7665-CTO X2) T61p (6459-CTO)

ThinkStation S20, ThinkStationD20, ThinkCentre M52-8113

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18085
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Oct 09, 2015 5:00 am

Get a set of Lenovo W7 Pro 64-bit recovery disks from a contemporary laptop.
T400/T500/W500 if yours has ATI graphics.
T420/T520/W520 or newer if nVidia.
Once installed, run System Update, or update drivers manually from Lenovo website.

Place a WTB in our Marketforum, or contact Lenovo.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2931
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#3 Post by Neil » Fri Oct 09, 2015 8:02 am

Whenever I run across a Windows license number that won't activate on-line, I activate by telephone. Hasn't failed yet.
Collection = T500 - R400 - X300 - X200 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - T61 (14.1" SXGA+) - T60 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P - 600E

farmall77
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Alvada, Ohio, USA

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#4 Post by farmall77 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:13 am

Thanks!

Tried it last night with the recovery media I made from my intel graphics T520, loaded but failed at startup.

Trying it now with recovery media from the Nvidia equipped T520.

Microsoft won't even let me download the disk image.


Next step is a new HDD, I have a feeling this one is not as healthy as it should be. Step #2 might be a set of factory S20 recovery media.
T520 i7-2620m (4242-4uu),T520 i5-2520M(4243-4wu) T61 (7665-CTO X2) T61p (6459-CTO)

ThinkStation S20, ThinkStationD20, ThinkCentre M52-8113

farmall77
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Alvada, Ohio, USA

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#5 Post by farmall77 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:46 am

Everything is normal until I get to the "Starting Windows" screen, the floating particle animation runs for a split second and then it crashes. Re-boots to the "Windows failed to start" menu. Non of the options have a positive result.

Looks like it's new HDD time, shame as this is a 1tb drive, but who knows how much abuse it has suffered.

EDIT: Conflict with the RAID card it came with, making progress!

Success! RAID card was the issue, we are up and running!
T520 i7-2620m (4242-4uu),T520 i5-2520M(4243-4wu) T61 (7665-CTO X2) T61p (6459-CTO)

ThinkStation S20, ThinkStationD20, ThinkCentre M52-8113

Utwig
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: Slovenia/Europe

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#6 Post by Utwig » Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:29 pm

First get some windows working so you can check whether it has SLIC 2.1 activation. I recommend you install from OEM media the version you intend to use. (for example Windows 7 Pro). If you don't have OEM Pro CD, you can find online, you can also change the language pack after installation.

If you don't have a DVD burner or don't want to pollute environment by wasting a DVD, you can install from USB. You don't need any Rufus or MS utility. You just format USB in NTFS, make partition active using diskpart in administrative CMD and copy contents of .iso (extract with 7-zip) to USB key.

You can check that with Aida64 (download BETA) - you don't need to activate windows yet.
If it has SLIC 2.1 or higher then proceed with steps below. If SLIC is only 2.0 or lower then it supports only Vista. Sometimes on OEM machines a BIOS update adds SLIC 2.1. Go to Lenovo site and update BIOS and all firmware - you don't need activated Windows for that. If the sticker is Windows 7 it's most likely 2.1

Then you need to find the certificate in the form of xrm-ms and OEM key that matches it.
Make a folder usually I create folder called oem in C:\Windows\System32\
Copy xrm-ms file there (you need to confirm to make changes...)
Start command window in administrative mode, (right click CMD icon, > Run As Administrator)
Type:
slmgr -ilc C:\Windows\System32\OEM\certificate_file.xrm-ms
slmgrp -ipk XXXX-XXXX-XXXX - put your Lenovo key - you need a Lenovo key for your version of Windows 7 (Home, Pro, Ultimate..)
Reboot, in Computer > Properties it should show as activated now.

If after BIOS update it still shows as SLIC 2.0 you may find modded BIOS on my digital life or there is some Chinese forum which is difficult to navigate and you need to register to download. If you don't manage to have BIOS to have SLIC 2.1 (no OEM or modded BIOS available), then you need to call Microsoft and activate by phone, you need a valid key and they usually don't complicate if you say you reinstalled.

Activating using SLIC 2.1 OEM certificate and OEM key is much better than calling as in case you change too much hardware it won't activate and you'll have to call again. With OEM SLIC activation you can stick HDD in another OEM machine and it will work which is very convenient for places with multiple PCs.

You can get the certificate and the key from a working OEM machine, such as Thinkpad or find one online. My Digital Life forums are a good place to start.
You can also find Windows 7 48 in 1 or such DVD images where you can select install Lenovo Pro OEM. You can go this route if you trust the maker of the image (usually popular images are OK).

You can extract key from existing install using magic jelly beans keyfiner (google) but be careful to unselect crapware it comes with.

After that you install Lenovo System update or just install drivers for missing stuff in device manager from Lenovo site. Don't install any not needed bloatware such as Lenovo ShareIT

If you really need help, you can PM me.
T540p, T420s (soon to be T420ps :) ), X61t, T60p, T42p, A21p

UMPC2024
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:18 am
Location: Lawrence, KS

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#7 Post by UMPC2024 » Mon Feb 15, 2016 3:05 am

Also if you're just looking for a Win 7 Pro x64 bit ISO, here's another thread dealing with a similar issue http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=119576
And once you get it working, don't forget to look around the Windows 7 section for some posts about slow Windows updates. Fresh installs have recently been hanging. Good luck!

farmall77
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Alvada, Ohio, USA

Re: New Thinkstation S20 owner, need help.

#8 Post by farmall77 » Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:18 pm

Thanks folks,

This got solved quite a while ago, and the S20 has been a rock solid machine for me or several months now.

I installed from my #2 T520 Recovery disks and Win 7 Pro64 activated from the S20's embedded key. I have auto update turned off, but I keep it pretty current on the updates.

The same recovery media provided the O/S for the T61 I'm typing on, thanks to a Lenovo OEM product key from a dead machine.
T520 i7-2620m (4242-4uu),T520 i5-2520M(4243-4wu) T61 (7665-CTO X2) T61p (6459-CTO)

ThinkStation S20, ThinkStationD20, ThinkCentre M52-8113

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “IBM or Lenovo Desktops/Workstations/ThinkStations only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests