Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

IBM RS/6000 Workstation

IBM or Lenovo Desktops, Workstations, ThinkStations, etc. Recent vintage, hardware/software..
Post Reply
Message
Author
fultontech
Sophomore Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:38 am
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Contact:

IBM RS/6000 Workstation

#1 Post by fultontech » Fri Feb 05, 2016 2:31 pm

So back in the day, IBM made desktop workstations with RISC CPU's.

I picked up a 7043-150 (43P-150). It's a little newer than my ThinkPad 820, but it will run AIX 4.2 as well.
The 820 has devices in it that drivers were never written for after version AIX 4.2. The 43P-150 has a newer 16MB video card that there is no driver in 4.2, but there is in 4.3 and after.

All the device firmware and updates are still hidden/lost on the IBM ftp server. Took a few days of hunting to find SCSI ID setting manuals (1998) for each drive in the unit.

The last firmware version (microcode) allows AIX 5.3 32-bit to be installed. I just need to find a copy not on DVD.

250MHz CPU (I have a 375MHz CPU and cache card).
896MB RAM
4.5GB HDD (x2)
DDS3 Tape (12GB-24GB)
SCSI CD-ROM (40x)
2.88MB FDD (I tested it since I had 3 disks. It works)
16MB 3D graphics card
PCI SCSI-2 adapter (external port only)

Now running AIX 5.2 TL10 SP8
IBM P75
IBM ThinkPad 700, 720C, 750Cs, 360C, 360P, 360CE, 360PE, 730TE, PC110, 365CSD, 365ED, 701Cs, 820, 600X, 770X, 240, T30
IBM RS/6000 43P 150
Lenovo ThinkPad X41T, X61T, X200T, X201T, X220T, X230T, X280
Lenovo ThinkCenter M92p Tiny, M900 Tiny

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 656
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: IBM RS/6000 Workstation

#2 Post by jdrou » Thu Feb 11, 2016 2:19 pm

I have AIX 5.3 on 8x CDs. I already have ISO images of them I could give you if we can find a convenient way to transfer.

I've also got 2-3 of those 43Ps at work that we'll probably be trashing sometime soon. Let me know if you need any spare parts.

Another good option for an AIX machine to play with is the pSeries 510 9110-510 - 2U rackmount, POWER5 CPU, can run AIX 7, uses DDR memory which is pretty common and cheap on ebay; the 51A is POWER5+ using DDR2 memory which is not as common.
I've been watching these on ebay for a while debating whether I want to spend that much money.
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (2720QM/2000M/FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ/GF730GT/FHD),
T480 (i7-8650U/GF150MX/QHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700, Dell XPS 13 w/Kaby Lake+Iris Pro+TB3
Daily driver: T480

fultontech
Sophomore Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:38 am
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Contact:

Re: IBM RS/6000 Workstation

#3 Post by fultontech » Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:02 pm

I didn't know I had a response.
jdrou wrote:I have AIX 5.3 on 8x CDs. I already have ISO images of them I could give you if we can find a convenient way to transfer.
I could setup temp FTP access. I'll PM you if that will work (and there is storage available).
jdrou wrote:I've also got 2-3 of those 43Ps at work that we'll probably be trashing sometime soon. Let me know if you need any spare parts.

I was looking for/thinking about the DVD drive, but then I couldn't go back to AIX 4.x since there is no driver.
I just discovered my dds3 drive won't write, I think it may "actually" have a damaged head.
I had a 256MB DIMM fail so I used a 64MB. Which is why I'm at 896MB RAM
jdrou wrote:"Another good option for an AIX machine to play with is the pSeries 510 9110-510 - 2U rackmount,

I think my spouse ... it would just not be a good thing for me to bring rack equipment home. I or it my not survive.
IBM P75
IBM ThinkPad 700, 720C, 750Cs, 360C, 360P, 360CE, 360PE, 730TE, PC110, 365CSD, 365ED, 701Cs, 820, 600X, 770X, 240, T30
IBM RS/6000 43P 150
Lenovo ThinkPad X41T, X61T, X200T, X201T, X220T, X230T, X280
Lenovo ThinkCenter M92p Tiny, M900 Tiny

micrex22
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:22 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: IBM RS/6000 Workstation

#4 Post by micrex22 » Sun Sep 04, 2016 2:06 am

If you guys end up FTPing AIX, let me know (I'd like to store a copy of on mine as well).

I have a POWER5 box which will need AIX 5 reinstalled at some point. It's a tower though, not a rack ;)

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 656
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: IBM RS/6000 Workstation

#5 Post by jdrou » Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:28 pm

micrex22 wrote:If you guys end up FTPing AIX, let me know (I'd like to store a copy of on mine as well).

I have a POWER5 box which will need AIX 5 reinstalled at some point. It's a tower though, not a rack ;)
I did upload them to the OP. If you've got an ftp site PM me the address and I'll upload.
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (2720QM/2000M/FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ/GF730GT/FHD),
T480 (i7-8650U/GF150MX/QHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700, Dell XPS 13 w/Kaby Lake+Iris Pro+TB3
Daily driver: T480

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “IBM or Lenovo Desktops/Workstations/ThinkStations only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests