ThinkStation S20 Memory issues.

IBM or Lenovo Desktops, Workstations, ThinkStations, etc. Recent vintage, hardware/software..
Post Reply
Message
Author
farmall77
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Alvada, Ohio, USA

ThinkStation S20 Memory issues.

#1 Post by farmall77 » Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:34 pm

I'm ashamed to admit I only recently decided to face this problem, but now that I'm trying to fix it it's getting really annoying. Hopefully the brain trust here will have some answers.

System is a ThinkStation S20 4157, O/S is Windows 7 64 PRO, loaded from the recovery media from my T520.

System setup #1 was six (6) sticks of identical 2GB PC3-10600E. System only recognized 4GB as available. Listed the remainder as hardware reserved. SYSconfig -> advanced -> Max memory is unchecked.

System setup #2 is six 4GB sticks, otherwise identical and Samsung/Lenovo branded. These six are not mixed in any way. System can use 7.99GB of 24.

Updated to the latest BIOS, no change. Bios video is set to PCI, not onboard. I can't find anything else to change.

I can't see any reason for 16GB of ram to be hardware reserved. Not running anything exotic beyond a basic Nvidia video card. It sees all the ram sticks as healthy and usable, just taken for other purposes.

Any and all ideas would be appreciated.
T520 i7-2620m (4242-4uu),T520 i5-2520M(4243-4wu) T61 (7665-CTO X2) T61p (6459-CTO)

ThinkStation S20, ThinkStationD20, ThinkCentre M52-8113

micrex22
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:22 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: ThinkStation S20 Memory issues.

#2 Post by micrex22 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 5:02 am

What CPU is it running? Xeon or lower-end?

It may need the xeon option to run past 8 GB for some unforetold reason.

farmall77
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Alvada, Ohio, USA

Re: ThinkStation S20 Memory issues.

#3 Post by farmall77 » Sat Apr 23, 2016 7:59 pm

micrex22 wrote:What CPU is it running? Xeon or lower-end?

It may need the xeon option to run past 8 GB for some unforetold reason.

Xeon W3550 Quad Core 3.06 Ghz
T520 i7-2620m (4242-4uu),T520 i5-2520M(4243-4wu) T61 (7665-CTO X2) T61p (6459-CTO)

ThinkStation S20, ThinkStationD20, ThinkCentre M52-8113

micrex22
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:22 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: ThinkStation S20 Memory issues.

#4 Post by micrex22 » Sun Apr 24, 2016 2:57 pm

farmall77 wrote: Xeon W3550 Quad Core 3.06 Ghz
What memory mode is the BIOS set to, independent mode?
If it's set to spare channel mode or memory mirroring mode (if these options exist), you'll be unable to utilize the full range.

Also did you try setting the BIOS back to factory defaults?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “IBM or Lenovo Desktops/Workstations/ThinkStations only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest