Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

intellistation M pro 6225 memory capacity

IBM or Lenovo Desktops, Workstations, ThinkStations, etc. Recent vintage, hardware/software..
Post Reply
Message
Author
tom lightbody
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 1:07 am
Location: cleveland

intellistation M pro 6225 memory capacity

#1 Post by tom lightbody » Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:42 pm

I have an "intellistation M pro 6225-CTO"
HMM memory specs call for PC2-3200 ECC DIMMs

In 2005 max was 1GB, but now 2GB seems to be
available--physically same size, but double
row of chips instead of single.

will these 2GBers serve as memory in my machine?

thanks
the way up and the way down are the same (heraclitus)

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: intellistation M pro 6225 memory capacity

#2 Post by thinkpadcollection » Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:32 pm

Unbuffered memory only either standard or ECC. This is 925X chipset with limit of 4GB total. Supports prescott up to 2MB on 800fsb only. 3.8GHz can be done on this socket 775.

I rather switch to Dell 755 or 760 or HP elite 8000 CMT and use C2Q 3.0GHz Q9650 with 8GB (4 sticks of DDR2 800 2GB each can be had for under 40 CDN on ebay, just take care with chinese sellers by specifying as shown!)

For example: Went for 27 CDN. :) I paid 38 last time.
https://www.ebay.ca/itm/New-Micron-8GB- ... SwBkRaGSGt

Search for hynix, samsung, micron or crucial, elpida. append to the 4x 2GB DDR2-800

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

micrex22
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:22 am
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: intellistation M pro 6225 memory capacity

#3 Post by micrex22 » Wed Feb 21, 2018 4:10 pm

tom lightbody wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:42 pm
I have an "intellistation M pro 6225-CTO"
HMM memory specs call for PC2-3200 ECC DIMMs

In 2005 max was 1GB, but now 2GB seems to be
available--physically same size, but double
row of chips instead of single.

will these 2GBers serve as memory in my machine?

thanks
I actually own one of these machines and even did some hardware repair to the motherboard (one of the KZG chemicons exploded, which is expected for the KZG series).

AFAIK these systems only work with 1 GB ECC unbuffered DIMMs (not to be confused with regular buffered ECC), and the system technically tops out at 3.2 GB as the intel memory management cripples it below 4 GB (much like on the T60). I never tried purely unbuffered modules, let alone ones in a 2 GB capacity. I have a strong feeling they won't be compatible as the system is extremely picky about system memory.

Back in the day I made the mistake of installing ECC buffered modules and was completely perplexed why they didn't work (only to find out there were different types of ECC), so before I figured that out I bought a 4x 1 GB DIMM pack with official IBM FRUs.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “IBM or Lenovo Desktops/Workstations/ThinkStations only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest