Keeping both internal sound and TV connection active

IBM or Lenovo Desktops, Workstations, ThinkStations, etc. Recent vintage, hardware/software..
Post Reply
Message
Author
chermesh
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:47 am

Keeping both internal sound and TV connection active

#1 Post by chermesh » Fri Sep 26, 2008 2:49 pm

Hi,
I wonder if you can suggest a solution to the following problem:
Wnever I connect my M55e (WinXP Pro (SP3)) to a TV set, I loose system sound.
Is there a way to keep both sound outlets active?

Ran

leoblob
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago IL USA

#2 Post by leoblob » Tue Sep 30, 2008 1:31 pm

I'm not completely understanding the situation. Are you saying that you try to plug the output from the TV audio into your computer, or ar you trying to plug the audio output from your computer into the TV?
TP360 • TP365x • i1452 • TP T42 • Intellistation Z Pro

chermesh
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:47 am

Let me clarify

#3 Post by chermesh » Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:21 pm

leoblob,
I'm trying to establish a permanent connection between my Yamaha receiver (leading to a home cinema system) with my M55e Lenovo desktop.
Whenever I plugin the cable leading to the Yamaha, I get acceptable quality of sound. Still, I loose my system sound. Since the home cinema system if in one room and my pc in another, I can't supervize the broadcasting from the pc.
Therefore, I would my system sound to continue operating even when the external cable is connected to the soundcard.
I got two serious suggestions, to add a USB sound adapter and to add a sound card.
I wonder if these are the best options (and if so, would appreciate suggestions for specific brands), or if a better option exists.

I hope, this time I made myself clearer. If not, please let me know.

leoblob
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 2:47 pm
Location: Chicago IL USA

#4 Post by leoblob » Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:16 pm

OK, I think I understand now.

You are probably losing your audio since many of these jacks have a built-in switch which is mechanically activated when a plug is inserted. Short of disassembling the front (or rear) panel of your computer and replacing the jack with a non-switching type, adding another sound device seems best. If I am correct about the jack, then this is a hardware problem which can only be solved with hardware.

I can't recommend models or brands of audio devices since I'm not sure. My intuition tells me that a USB audio device is less likely to conflict with your existing sound card than adding a second sound card, but that's largely speculation on my part.

By the way, my Intellistation has the same exact behavior, and if I remember correctly, the PC300s do, too.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “IBM or Lenovo Desktops/Workstations/ThinkStations only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests