Should I upgrade my TC A55 to Win7, 32 or 64bit?

IBM or Lenovo Desktops, Workstations, ThinkStations, etc. Recent vintage, hardware/software..
Post Reply
Message
Author
kjjb0204
Freshman Member
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Should I upgrade my TC A55 to Win7, 32 or 64bit?

#1 Post by kjjb0204 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 4:08 pm

My Lenovo ThinkCentre A55 runs just fine on Vista Business and I received Win 7 Ultimate NFR for both 32 and 64 bit versions. I have no real need to upgrade the OS, but I'm a tech junky and having the latest is one of my passions. Seriously, if I go more than a week without wiping and reloading some version of an OS on my BlackBerry, I start going into withdrawal. Anyhow, I'd like to put Win7 on my system, but just not sure if it's worth any potential headaches. I could upgrade to the 32 bit relatively easily I assume, but I'm thinking of doing a clean install of the 64bit. I would probably leave the recovery partition intact and install Win7 over the running Vista OS partition.

Is there any great advantage to loading 64bit from scratch? I have 4GB installed, and of course can only see 3GB currently. All programs and hardware are compatible per Windows Upgrade Advisor. I haven't done a clean install on my pc in a few years, and I remember it being a huge pain to re-install all programs and settings. Should I just go with the 32bit version?

The only other concern is that my A55 came with Office 2007 Pro installed and if I do a full install on Win7 64bit, I'll lose that, which would be very expensive to replace.

Thanks!

ZaZ
moderator
moderator
Posts: 4498
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Should I upgrade my TC A55 to Win7, 32 or 64bit?

#2 Post by ZaZ » Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:39 pm

I've had Office running in 64 bit Vista. I didn't have any issues with it. As for 64 bit, I didn't really see any huge performance leaps running it, but I don't do anything really super CPU intensive or where I'd need more than 3GB of memory.
ProBook 470 G3

Synthetickiller
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:59 pm
Location: Slidell, Louisiana
Contact:

Re: Should I upgrade my TC A55 to Win7, 32 or 64bit?

#3 Post by Synthetickiller » Wed Dec 23, 2009 6:42 pm

I've found x64 to be smoother, but I'm a power user and do a lot of stuff most people don't do. I've always been a fan of more ram. If you're not using all 4 gigs, might as well, right?

I've found drivers to be very very solid on win 7 or vista x64 (since both are are 95% interchangeable, I mention both). I have had no issue with software or hardware compatibility in any way.

I'd go x64. Actually, I did with both vista and win 7. I never looked back.

As for clean install, everything will run better, plus you can tweak everything from a stock OS to get the most performance out of your machine. How long does it really take to reinstall everything anyways?

I'd go x64. :thumbs-UP:

Edit: Depending on how much ram you eventually want to have, if you can drop another 4 gigs in there and that won't break the bank, you can run without a page file and see a performance boost. I've never used more than 4gigs of ram unless I'm benchmarking.
Thinkpad: x200 p8600 2.4ghz (probably won't OC) / 2x2gig ddr3 1066 / HDD = ? / WIN 7 (adding OSX & Ubuntu later)

Desktop: MSI K9A2 Plat / PII 945 @ 3.75ghz / G. Skill 2x2gig ddr2 1000 / 120gb ocz agility / gtx260 core 216 / IBM trackpoint keyboard :D

A31
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Norwich, UK

Re: Should I upgrade my TC A55 to Win7, 32 or 64bit?

#4 Post by A31 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:47 pm

Having previously running Vista x84 (32 bit), I also found the Vista x64 (64 bit) to be faster, smoother and above all, more reliable.

I've never actually run Windows 7 x84 or x64 before, but hey, I have a copy of Windows 7 Pro downstairs and maybe in the future, I'll be able to install it. If I do, then I'll be installing 64 bit edition. Windows 7 and Vista are in some ways, very much alike from what I can gather.
Lenovo ThinkPad L540 | Core i5 4200M | 8GB 1600MHz RAM | 1920x1080 Display | UltraNav with Fingerprint Reader | Seagate SSHD 1TB | 720p Webcam | 6 Cell 56Wh Battery | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Past: IBM ThinkPad A31, R40

My custom-built desktop - see pics!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “IBM or Lenovo Desktops/Workstations/ThinkStations only”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests