Page 1 of 1

How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:09 pm
by kburel
I'm a newbie so I apologize if this is an obvious question. I have edited the .ini file and I see instructions for changing the temperature values depending on whether the program calculates in celcius or fahrenheit. But I don't see a parameter that instructs tpfancontrol to calculate it's temperatures in fahrenheit. How do I get tpfancontrol to calculate the temperatures in fahrenheit?

Thanks.

Re: How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:48 pm
by kburel
I've solved my own problem. A careful review of tpfancontrol.ini revealed that if the temperature of the lowest level of profile "Smart Mode 1" will switch from celsius to fahrenheit if set higher than 79 degrees. I set it to 140 0 and now my display shows fahrenheit. It look good now. I'd like to suggest that you an ini file for fahrenheit users be distributed with the product where I could just rename the file and I'd be good to go. That would make it easy for a newbie like me. But then again, I wouldn't learn as much.

KB

Re: How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:07 am
by jayton4
Nobody uses Fahrenheit with electronics. Why do you want the numbers in F anyway? It does not relate to anything else, as any comparisons or information you try to look up about about the temperatures you experience will all be in C. I really doubt they will ever make a different ini file for Fahrenheit when you can just make the simple change you mentioned.

Re: How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:43 am
by kburel
What is the point of your rude reply? The only reason you responded is to tell me I'm stupid. The reason I want the number is Fahrenheit is to understand quickly what is the temperature of this thing sitting on my legs. Thank you very much. I know all about celsius. I can convert it. But I've grown up in the US and Fahrenheit is our native language. I'm not trying to compare the temperature to anything electronic. I'm trying to compare the temperature to things biologic - my legs. Please refrain from posting such rude replies.

Re: How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:29 am
by jayton4
kburel wrote:What is the point of your rude reply? The only reason you responded is to tell me I'm stupid. The reason I want the number is Fahrenheit is to understand quickly what is the temperature of this thing sitting on my legs. Thank you very much. I know all about celsius. I can convert it. But I've grown up in the US and Fahrenheit is our native language. I'm not trying to compare the temperature to anything electronic. I'm trying to compare the temperature to things biologic - my legs. Please refrain from posting such rude replies.
You have my apologies. It was not my intent to sound rude, and I did not want to say you are stupid.

Re: How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:22 am
by John Roberts
My thanks to the kind member who found a simple and effective way to change the temperature display of tpfancontrol from Degrees Celsius to Degrees Fahrenheit. I used the same method for Smart Mode 2, and it works Great! :mrgreen:

Re: How do I switch tpfancontrol to fahrenheit?

Posted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 2:30 pm
by house kitten
I just wish anybody would post the settings and how I should edit them. I thank OP for posting and I too am born in the US and want mine in F.