Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

Work/comment area for scripts and utilities like TP Fan, 2-finger scrolling, etc
Message
Author
jacb
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:30 am
Location: England & Vietnam

Re: How can I reverse No-1802 using software?

#121 Post by jacb » Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:37 am

aaa wrote:
jacb wrote:The N0-1802 utility is great, but has anybody written a program that will reverse its bit setting effects?
I've edited the code to do that. The utility prints out the original value that was in there to begin with, then it does it's changes. On my T40, the original value was simply 0 instead of 0x80. With my changes I was able to switch the 1802 on and off whenever I wanted. I do not have the code on me right now (it was a pretty teeny change though), I'll post it later.
Any update aaa ?
R40 2682-K2G
England & Vietnam
Good, better, best; never rest till your good is better and your better is best

JHEM
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 5571
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Contact:

#122 Post by JHEM » Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:10 pm

Not to say that this doesn't work, just that changing the EEPROM on the Atheros cards is a PITA!

jlgjlg, have you considered using an Intel card? I've got an Intel a/b/g card (2915ABG) in my T30 and it works a treat and WITHOUT the 01c90 error! Got the same card in my upgraded A30P.

Just a thought.
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown

jlgjlg
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Paris, France

#123 Post by jlgjlg » Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:30 am

JHEM, i am not going to buy an another card... it is too late.
I can live with the 01c9 error.
But i have hope to find a solution in this forum.

For the Intel card, i read somewhere that the Atheros was better. I think that i will be unable to see the difference in a real world task.

jlgjlg
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:41 am
Location: Paris, France

#124 Post by jlgjlg » Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:51 am

I found a mirror of the file on a german forum.
I don't know if i can give the link here.

http://www.webfilehost.com/?mode=viewupload&id=9628376

I will remove it if it is not allowed.


So i boot the ISO and .................... it WORKS.

No more 01c9 error.

I have a T30 and a Atheros AR5006XR card (AR 5414a).

Thanks you Danage.


aaa
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1062
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:36 pm

Re: How can I reverse No-1802 using software?

#125 Post by aaa » Fri Aug 29, 2008 6:40 am

jacb wrote:
aaa wrote:...snip...
Any update aaa ?
It's a small change to no1802.c, what was:

Code: Select all

data |= 0x80;
was changed to:

Code: Select all

data = 0x0;
0 was what the utility first printed out as the original value, for my T40 anyways. No idea if using 0 will work (safely?) with other models.

Zender
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 8:34 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

#126 Post by Zender » Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:06 am

data &= 0x7F;

is the "inverse" of

data |= 0x80;
T60 14" SXGA+ 9c T5600 3GB X1400 4965AGN MC8780 IR BT FPR DVDRW Alps XPP

jacb
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:30 am
Location: England & Vietnam

Re: How can I reverse No-1802 using software?

#127 Post by jacb » Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:56 am

aaa wrote:
jacb wrote: Any update aaa ?
It's a small change to no1802.c, what was:

Code: Select all

data |= 0x80;
was changed to:

Code: Select all

data = 0x0;
0 was what the utility first printed out as the original value, for my T40 anyways. No idea if using 0 will work (safely?) with other models.
Thanks for that aaa

Do you have a version of no-1802.exe that has these mods compiled within it? If so could I please have a copy.

I think I can get my hands on a second IBM R40 Thinkpad 2682-K2G - BIOS version 1.27 that has not had the no-1802.exe program run on it ..... if I run your version of the program on that machine we can discover what the changes are. I would then be in a position to reverse the changes on my PC. I could also post the findings here for other R40 users.
R40 2682-K2G
England & Vietnam
Good, better, best; never rest till your good is better and your better is best

jacb
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:30 am
Location: England & Vietnam

#128 Post by jacb » Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:12 am

Zender wrote:data &= 0x7F;

is the "inverse" of

data |= 0x80;
Hi Zender ..... Ender

Thanks for chipping in ........ I must say that when it comes to BIOS modification "I take my cap off to you" - your information has been 110% accurate and helpful. My problem has been that my relative lack of background information has meant that your "simplified" instructions are sometimes still a little perplexing.

Once again - whilst I am certain your information above is 100% correct, I don’t know what to do with it ........

Do you have a version of no-1802.exe that would work with my IBM R40 Thinkpad 2682-K2G (BIOS version 1.27) and Gigabyte card W101HT miniPCI that would show the original BIOS information, before it modifies the BIOS? If so could you post a link where I could download it.

Thank again
R40 2682-K2G
England & Vietnam
Good, better, best; never rest till your good is better and your better is best

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

#129 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:23 am

As mentioned earlier in the thread, there is no need for a reverse-1802 program.
In your laptop BIOS, just check that all passwords have been DISabled.
If not, do so now.
You can reset the BIOS to it's default settings, which 'wipes' the 1802-bit.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

jacb
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:30 am
Location: England & Vietnam

#130 Post by jacb » Sat Aug 30, 2008 11:14 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:As mentioned earlier in the thread, there is no need for a reverse-1802 program.
In your laptop BIOS, just check that all passwords have been DISabled.
If not, do so now.
You can reset the BIOS to it's default settings, which 'wipes' the 1802-bit.
All SOUNDS painless ..... But I bought my PC secondhand and dont have any passwords from the original owner. Whilst all is unlocked at the moment - I am loath to risk it. If the N0-1802.exe can be "adjusted" to be a on/off program ..... that seems an easy fix to me ..... no risk!

Thanks for your input.
R40 2682-K2G
England & Vietnam
Good, better, best; never rest till your good is better and your better is best

JHEM
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 5571
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 8:03 am
Location: Medford, NJ USA
Contact:

#131 Post by JHEM » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:37 am

jlgjlg wrote:I have a T30 and a Atheros AR5006XR card (AR 5414a).
Congrats.

Always happy to hear folks are keeping these older systems running and even upgrading them.

I'm in the process of setting up an old 15" UXGA-IPS A30P for my son in law to replace his over-the-hill 14" SXGA+ T21.

This is another seriously upgraded old machine, 80GB HD, 1GB max RAM, Bluetooth, Intel 2915ABG internal PCI WiFi, etc., etc. He'll have to rely on PC card solution for USB2.0, but he'll have a near perfect system for working on his digital photos, checking his mail, etc., etc.

It's got XP Pro on it and MS Office 2007, so he'll be able to use it for work as well when needed.

All in all a robust system, especially for a photographer. Large and heavy, yes, but he didn't want a smaller display or an Ultra Lite system.
James at thinkpads dot com
5.5K+ posts and all I've got to show for it are some feathers.... AND a Bird wearing a Crown

umoms
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 2:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Does Anyone Still Have This File?

#132 Post by umoms » Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:52 pm

Can anyone pm me with a link or upload it to yousendit or something? The last few links arent working anymore

smashingbloody
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:11 pm
Location: London, Canada

Non Atheros Card

#133 Post by smashingbloody » Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:26 pm

Hello,

I have 2 T30 Laptops, The first one I installed an Atheros Based MiniPCI Chipset and applied the no1802 and no01c9 patch and it works great.

The only flaw I have noticed is that if I install my PCMCIA Wireless card that has identical chipset and driver as the Atheros MiniPCI at same time they seem to both freeze up or cause system hangs, as soon as I remove the PCMCIA Card it returns to normal.

The second T30 I installed a INPROCOMM IPN2220 MiniPCI and I applied the no1802 patch but cannot remove 01c9 error as this is not an Atheros Chipset, Does anybody have any suggestions on how to change PCI ID on one of these MiniPCI Cards?

Thanks

cysign
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 6:36 am
Location: Aachen / GERMANY

#134 Post by cysign » Tue Sep 30, 2008 8:18 am

jlgjlg wrote:I found a mirror of the file on a german forum.
I don't know if i can give the link here.

http://www.webfilehost.com/?mode=viewupload&id=9628376

I will remove it if it is not allowed.


So i boot the ISO and .................... it WORKS.

No more 01c9 error.

I have a T30 and a Atheros AR5006XR card (AR 5414a).

Thanks you Danage.
#


hi there, is just oredered the same wlan-minipic-card...but it's not possible to download the utility... does anybody know an alternative downloadlocation ?

iHawk
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Koblenz, Germany

#135 Post by iHawk » Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:00 am

Yeah, the old version is still here: http://www.ihawk.org/ibm_wifi.iso

Somewhere above, there was a link to a newer version though.

Edit: Found it, here's a mirror for V2: http://www.ihawk.org/wifi_v2.zip

olex126
Sophomore Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

#136 Post by olex126 » Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:12 pm

I just upgraded an Atheros AR5BMB5 wireless card using the downloaded Linux Live CD and on reboot, the 019C error disappeared from the POST screen.

This particular card runs at 108 Mps ( Super-G) which nicely meshes with the Super-G network at the home abode. Nice!

The 1802 error patch had been previously applied to the computers' BIOS, so I by-passed this operation and went directly to the 019C fix.

The only noticeable problem on first re-boot was a 3 or 4 minute delay at the IBM splash screen. It then proceeded to boot to the hard drive, whereupon WinXP found the card. I had already downloaded the drivers, and they installed without incident.

This was done to an A31p that had the latest BIOS updates applied. Nice to be able to upgrade an old warhorse to more modern standards.

Next experiment in the next few days is to see how the card behaves in a T30, a T23, and an X31

Regards.

Dave
Previous Thinkpads: 701C, A22m, A31p, T23p x2, T30, T41, X31, various 750's, 760's, & 390's.

Current Daily Drivers: Various X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, x220, W520, T601F LED (T9500/8Gb/250SSD/W7 Ultimate)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

olex126
Sophomore Member
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

#137 Post by olex126 » Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:21 am

Success in installing the Atheros AR5005GS (AR5BMB5) in a Thinkpad T30 2366-88U.

After the initial 1802 code, I uninstalled the card, updated the BIOS with the no-1802 program, reinstalled the card, & rebooted.

The 019C error did not appear. WinXP kicked up the "New Hardware Found" screen and I proceeded to load the drivers. Connection at 108 MPs on the home network.

Curiously, there was no BIOS boot-splash delay of 3-4 minutes as when I installed in the A31p. Don't know why the difference.

Looks like the re-writing of the cards' EEPROM did the trick.

Next machine on the list is an X31.

Regards.

Dave
Previous Thinkpads: 701C, A22m, A31p, T23p x2, T30, T41, X31, various 750's, 760's, & 390's.

Current Daily Drivers: Various X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, x220, W520, T601F LED (T9500/8Gb/250SSD/W7 Ultimate)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

IQRules
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: North Caldwell NJ

For R32 1802 error

#138 Post by IQRules » Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:44 pm

iHawk wrote:Yeah, the old version is still here: http://www.ihawk.org/ibm_wifi.iso

Somewhere above, there was a link to a newer version though.

Edit: Found it, here's a mirror for V2: http://www.ihawk.org/wifi_v2.zip
Can I use this ibm_wifi.iso for R32 laptop?
Thanks

koit
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:57 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#139 Post by koit » Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:03 am

Success in installing the TL-WN660G http://www.tp-link.com/products/product_des.asp?id=21
(Atheros AR5005GS AR2414 Chipset) in a Thinkpad T30 2366-88G.
Image

MaverikMS2001
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 7:14 pm
Location: Limburg, Germany

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#140 Post by MaverikMS2001 » Thu Jan 29, 2009 8:53 pm

Tried to use in a R52 1858-ckg with an Atheros 5008 (5416) Don`t work. has someone a solution ?

night_life
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:33 pm
Location: Kendell, FL

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#141 Post by night_life » Mon Jul 06, 2009 12:44 am

danage wrote:.
Update: I have released a new version of the Linux Live CD to patch these errors. It will also work with newer Atheros Cards that previously could not be patched. Go to the Thinkwiki page linked below for further details.


Linux live CD to remove the 1802 and 01C9 POST errors


For information on the problem, read this thread first. Instead of many "thank you" replies, please show your appreciation by contributing to the Thinkwiki, for example by expanding the list of Thinkpads affected by the 01C9 error. Here is the link. Problem/Bug discussion as well as detailed success reports (PCI ID's of cards, Thinkpad models) are welcome.
Massive credit goes to all contributors to this project: LtTPfan with his constant support, Borg Number One, Vojtech Pavlek for the Linux no-1802, mjg59 for his website, Paul Sladen for tons of helpful information and suggestions and most of all wulu, who created the current code and put it all together on this live CD.

--> This patch does not change the way your card is recognized by the operating system or drivers. You do not need to uninstall your card drivers before applying it.

DISCLAIMER: This software was designed FOR ATHEROS CARDS ONLY. It has undergone only minimal beta testing and can harm your computer. The authors are in no way to be held liable for any damage caused by this program. There is no warranty given, either express or implied for any fitness for any kind of purpose. YOU AGREE TO USE THIS ENTIRELY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Download here (~4 MB).

Usage
1. If you want to use this to remove the 1802 error, do not install your Atheros card yet.
2. Burn the ISO to a CD or DVD. Make sure to open the image instead of burning it as a regular file on the disc.
3. Boot from the CD.
4. If you choose to remove the 1802 error, do so and reboot with Ctrl-Alt-Del.
5. If not already present, install the Atheros card now and boot from the CD.
6. Choose not to apply the no-1802.
7. Select your Atheros card from the list. MAKE SURE IT'S THE CORRECT ONE, a wrong selection may cause damage!
8. Shut down by pressing Ctrl-Alt-Del, turn the machine off and on.
Hi i was wondering if you can put a new updated link so i can DL this please thanks

ps
Would this work for the x31?
Thinkpad X31 1.4 Intel Pentium Centrino Samsung 160 GB HD 512GB Ram Intel PRO 802.11b wireless

cyberkeeper1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:53 pm
Location: bakersfield, california, USA

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#142 Post by cyberkeeper1 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 1:24 am

ok so IBM is a P.I.T.A. as far as proprietary stuff. i just learned this today. i looked for this problem and why i could not take a gateway wifi card and just put it in. now i know why. But according to my experience as a computer tech, as long as the setting in the CMOS is available to change, it does NOT matter if you change it. friggin IBM "lenovo" wont know or care. and bios reset is not the same as a CMOS reset. there is a difference. you have to unplug the batteries from it. (i.e., the system battery and of course the backup battery.) leave it for only five minutes, and if you're still worried about it, press the power while the batteries are out. that'll kill it. that will also reset the CMOS th factory standards. but why the heck would you ever want to change the BIOS setting to limit your wifi experience??? thats dumb to me. who ever uses the "no-1802.com" program, should never undo it. it would be a waste of time and pointless.

jiopsi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Salo, Finland

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#143 Post by jiopsi » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:27 am

Is there files for DOS USB-stick method, because I have X30 without CD-drive?

EDIT: Got it working. Used Universal USB Installer http://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal- ... -as-1-2-3/ and used unlisted linux (newsys linux) option to write the Linux Live CD image to USB stick.

Worked beautifully and removed the 01c9 error.
T40 -> T40 -> T40 -> T41 -> X40 -> X41 -> T40 -> X60 -> X30 -> R40 -> T61

ITADMIN
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:19 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#144 Post by ITADMIN » Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:40 am

Hello!

Does ANYONE have a good link for the wifi_v2 boot cd? All the above links are dead!

Thanks to anyone and everyone here for the great information!

IFIXPCS

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#145 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:24 am

Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

mjflory
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:15 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#146 Post by mjflory » Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:47 am

I hope the response isn't too late, but I did find the ibm_wifi_v2.iso CD image at a Korean site: http://tpholic.com/xe/?module=file&act= ... da8ead7085

I burned the image to a CD and it booted perfectly and automatically ran a routine to fix the 1802 and 01C9 errors. Unfortunately, it didn't remove the 01C9 error for me, as my wifi card is not based on an Atheros chipset.

Good luck!

zita212
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:43 am
Location: Antwerp, Belgium

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#147 Post by zita212 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:58 am

Hi !
I have a Thinkpad T61p which came with Intel 4965 WIFI. I bought an Intel 6205 card (which was installed and was was working in a Lenovo T420). Unfortunatelly
with that card installed I'm getting Error 1802. From what I gather the above utility will only work with Atheros Wifi cards, not with Intel.
Is there a solution for me ? I see on Lenovo website there is a newer Bios firmware update (my firmware is one version before the latest). I understood in some cases Lenovo removed WIFI card restrictions in latest firmwares, would this be a solution also ?)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: NO-1802 and NO-01C9 boot CD/ Large Pics

#148 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:02 am

Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Utility Work Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests