Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

Work/comment area for scripts and utilities like TP Fan, 2-finger scrolling, etc
Post Reply
Message
Author
yak
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:17 pm
Location: NRW, Germany

Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

#1 Post by yak » Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:52 pm

Hi,

some of Vista users have probably noticed that the Power Manager's battery gauge gets unreadable when the task bar is transparent (i.e. there are no maximized windows) and a light colored wallpaper is used.

Couple of days ago I started looking for a solution. All I found were reports of this issue posted as far as back in 2007.

Some more googling showed that this isn't entirely Power Manager's fault as there are other applications having the same problem on Vista, so it is more like another Vista's incompatibility.

The solution I came up with is based on the fact that the gauge looks OK when a dark (ideally black) wallpaper is used. I've written a tiny utility (9KB .exe) that displays a small black borderless window right underneath the gauge (and the task bar) providing a black background for the gauge which in turns makes it readable again.

The utility tries to follow the gauge so if icons are added/removed to the system tray, the taskbar is resized or moved to another side of the screen, the black background window will follow. Right now this is done using a timer so it may not follow immediately (with up to a 1 second delay). If the gauge continues to move for the next 5 seconds, the response is almost immediate. Since the gauge stays in the same position most of the time, this should not be a problem.

Download
http://files.arkadiusz.wahlig.googlepag ... ugeFix.exe

Installation
Simply start the .exe to get it running. Create a shortcut and put it into the Autostart folder to make the utility start with every system boot. It is not a problem if the fix is started before the gauge, in such case it will wait in the background and show up as soon as the gauge pops up on the screen.

Before and after
Image

Let me know if you have any problems with it.
ThinkPad™ X201 / AFFS-120
i5-560M 2.67Ghz, 8GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD, Win 8 Pro 64-bit, UltraBase X200, ThinkPad Compact USB Keyboard,
Dell U2713HM (2560x1440, IPS), ExpressCard USB 3.0 (2 ports, flush), Nexus 7+10

arlab
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 261
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 7:14 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

#2 Post by arlab » Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:19 am

Genius. :bow:
T61p T7800 2.6 GHz, Vista Ultimate x64, 15.4 WUXGA, NVIDIA Quadro FX 570M (256MB), 4 GB SDRAM, 200GB 7200rpm, Intel Turbo Memory 1GB, Intel 4965AGN, Bluetooth.

yak
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:17 pm
Location: NRW, Germany

Re: Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

#3 Post by yak » Fri Feb 20, 2009 6:55 am

:banghead:
Just saw that there's an update to the Power Manager available since a week. One of the changes is:
(Fix) Fixed an issue where the Power Manager Gauge was transparent when Windows Aero was effective.
All my work for nothing. First they don't fix it for 2 years and then when someone finally comes up with a viable solution, they fix it.

Oh well.
ThinkPad™ X201 / AFFS-120
i5-560M 2.67Ghz, 8GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD, Win 8 Pro 64-bit, UltraBase X200, ThinkPad Compact USB Keyboard,
Dell U2713HM (2560x1440, IPS), ExpressCard USB 3.0 (2 ports, flush), Nexus 7+10

Marin85
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

#4 Post by Marin85 » Fri Feb 20, 2009 11:59 am

yak, that´s great little utility! BTW, not everyone uses the latest version of Lenovo Power Manager ;) The latest doesn´t necessarily mean the best...

Thanks,

Marin
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)

Temetka
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2790
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 3:27 am
Location: Glendora, CA

Re: Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

#5 Post by Temetka » Sat Feb 21, 2009 2:52 pm

I've been having this problem for a long time.

I'll try your util if the updated power manager doesn't work.

Thanks for writing it though, it's a great fix.
New:
Thinkpad T430s 8GB DDR3, 1600x900, 128GB + 250GB SSD's, etc.
Old:
E6520, Precision M4400, D630, Latitude E6520
ThinkPad Tablet 16GB 1838-22U
IBM Thinkpad X61T, T61, T43, X41T, T60, T41P, T42, T410, X301

Marin85
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fix for unreadable Battery Gauge on Vista [PIC]

#6 Post by Marin85 » Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:41 am

yak, I tried to install your utility under Win 7 32bit, but it gave me an error message:

Code: Select all

The program can´t start because CC3290.DLL is missing from your computer. 
Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.
I googled for this .dll (doesn´t seem to be present in any .dll repos either) but couldn´t find anything...

Thanks,

Marin
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Utility Work Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests