Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning!)

Work/comment area for scripts and utilities like TP Fan, 2-finger scrolling, etc
Post Reply
Message
Author
lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning!)

#1 Post by lukee » Sat May 28, 2011 12:04 pm

Recently I decided to use small and reliable application called Sonic RecordNow to burn my CDs and DVDs instead of huge Nero Burning ROM. RecordNow was shipped with the following IBM/Lenovo systems:

Code: Select all

ThinkPad Z60m, Z60t, Z61m, Z61t
ThinkPad G40, G41, G50
ThinkPad R30, R31, R32, R40, R40e, R41, R50, R51, R50e, R50p, R60, R60e
ThinkPad X30, X31, X32, X40, X41, X60
ThinkPad T30, T40, T41, T41p, T42, T43, T43p, T60, T60p
ThinkCentre A30 (type 2296, 8191, 8198, 8199, 8316, 8434)
ThinkCentre A50 (type 8084, 8085, 8089, 8090, 8105, 8107, 8109, 8117, 8119, 8121, 8126, 8147, 8148, 8149, 8174, 8175, 8176, 8177, 8178, 8320, 8419)
ThinkCentre A50p (type 8192, 8193, 8194, 8195, 8196, 8197, 8432, 8433)
ThinkCentre A51 (type 8122, 8123, 8124, 8129, 8131, 8132, 8133, 8134, 8135, 8136, 8137, 8138, 8424, 8425, 8428, 9212)
ThinkCentre A51p (type 8420, 8421, 8422, 8423, 8426, 8427)
ThinkCentre A52 (type 8153, 8154, 8155, 8156, 8157, 8158, 8159, 8160, 8161, 8162, 8163, 8164, 8165, 8166, 8167, 8168, 8169, 8170, 8287, 8288, 8289, 8296, 8297, 8298, 8326, 8327, 8328, 8329, 8340, 8341, 8342, 8343, 8344, 8380, 8381, 8382)
ThinkCentre A53 (type 8701, 8702, 8970, 8973, 8980, 8983, 8992, 8995, 9276, 9277, 9286, 9287, 9378, 9387, 9628, 9635)
ThinkCentre A55 (type 8705, 8706, 8972, 8975, 8982, 8985, 8994, 9265)
ThinkCentre A60 (type 8013, 8700, 8976, 8979, 8986, 8991, 9266, 9269, 9282, 9283, 9374, 9383, 9384, 9631)
ThinkCentre E50 (type 8290, 8291, 8292, 8293, 8294, 8295, 8469, 8472, 8473, 8474, 8771, 8772, 8773, 8774, 8776, 8777, 8778, 8779, 9214, 9215, 9216, 9217, 9218, 9219)
ThinkCentre E51 (type 8463, 8464, 8465, 8466, 8467, 8468)
ThinkCentre M50 (type 8128, 8185, 8186, 8187, 8188, 8189, 8190, 8413, 8414, 8415, 8430, 8431)
ThinkCentre M50e (type 8179)
ThinkCentre M51 (type 8095, 8104, 8106, 8108, 8118, 8120, 8141, 8142, 8143, 8144, 8145, 8146)
ThinkCentre M51e (type 9213)
ThinkCentre M52 (type 8099, 8110, 8111, 8112, 8113, 8114, 8115, 8116, 8211, 8212, 8213, 8214, 8215, 9210, 9211)
ThinkCentre M52e (type 8299, 8380)
ThinkCentre M55 (type 8009, 8010, 8011, 8012, 8791, 8792, 8793, 8794, 8795, 8796, 8797, 8798, 8799, 8800, 8801, 8802, 8803, 8804, 8805, 8806, 8807, 8808, 8810, 8811, 8812, 8813, 8814, 8816)
ThinkCentre M55e (type 9278, 9279, 9288, 9379, 9380, 9389, 9632, 9637)
ThinkCentre M55p (type 8792, 8794, 8796, 8798, 8800, 8802, 8804, 8806, 8808, 8811)
ThinkCentre S50 (type 8086, 8087, 8088, 8094, 8127, 8183, 8184, 8416, 8417, 8418, 8429)
ThinkCentre S51 (type 8098, 8171, 8172, 8173)
NetVista (type 2169, 2179, 2254, 2255, 2256, 2257, 2259, 2273, 2275, 2283, 2289, 2292, 6043, 6049, 6266, 6270, 6276, 6279, 6286, 6274, 6290, 6336, 6337, 6339, 6341, 6342, 6343, 6346, 6347, 6348, 6349, 6350, 6596, 6643, 6644, 6645, 6646, 6790, 6791, 6792, 6793, 6794, 6795, 6822, 6823, 6824, 6825, 6826, 6832, 6833, 6838, 6842, 6843, 6844, 6848, 6881, 8181, 8182, 8301, 8303, 8304, 8305, 8306, 8307, 8308, 8309, 8310, 8311, 8312, 8313, 8314, 8315, 8317, 8318, 8319)
I've T43p so there wouldn't be any licensing problems. I've downloaded the installer directly from Lenovo support site:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 57007.html
Need to say, that I've had HDD with Windows 7 in my ThinkPad that time. After the installer was downloaded, I executed it but got this message:Image

After googling and searching some forums, I found a statement that this error occurs only on Windows 7, better say that code inside the installer checks if the system is an ThinkPad/ThinkCentre/NetVista computer or not . This code needs direct access to the RAM which Windows 7 can't provide for security reasons.
I decided to find solution how to skip this check.

I noticed, that the installer created following path:

Code: Select all

C:\swtools\apps\Rn73_08b
In this path are four files:

drives.inx: encrypted list of supported CD/DVD burners
package.zip: archive with the application itself (password protected)
setup.exe: installer's executable
unzip.exe: external utility to unzip the archive with application

It came into my mind that if there is password-protected ZIP package and unzip utility, the installer executable must call it to unzip the archive after a computer is verified as supported system for RecordNow application.

What I done? I've opened setup.exe with HEX editor and tried to find this string: package.zip. I've been lucky and the string really exists:
Image

See the sting there:

Code: Select all

unzip.exe -P Q2el=UmM[)2$asTn "%s\package.zip" -d %s
This code provides automatic unzip operation of the password-protected archive with the application itself. From this string we can easily extract the password:

Code: Select all

Q2el=UmM[)2$asTn
Now we can extract whole the archive to some folder and run setup.exe file:
Image

Setup went smoothly and only settings I had to tune was compatibility mode in Windows 7 to be set to 'Windows XP SP2'.
Image

Congratulations! Sonic RecordNow Business Edition from Lenovo is now installed on your system. Sorry for my english - I'm not a native speaker :oops:
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

ozzymud
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Location: Klamath Falls, OR

Re: Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning!)

#2 Post by ozzymud » Sat May 28, 2011 9:06 pm

I gave up nero long ago (6.x timeframe.. must every good software become bloated :P), you should have a look at CDBurnerXP Pro (Windows 2000/XP/2003 Server/Vista/2008/Win7)

That's the one i give family/friends who need simple...

For powerusers it's ImgBurn (Windows 95/98/ME/NT4/2000/XP/2003 Server/Vista/2008/Win7 +Linux w/WINE) all the way!
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning!)

#3 Post by lukee » Sun May 29, 2011 2:14 am

Yes I know CDBurnerXP but I love the RecordNow software and it is ensured that it will work with a ThinkPad&ThinkCentre burners perfectly. :) Improvements in CD/DVD burner software are minimal and people who aren't using advanced features with sounds&video, this minimalistic RecordNow application would be a good choice and even this is a commercial software you don't need to pay for it because it is already paid in your ThinkPad.
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

ozzymud
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Location: Klamath Falls, OR

Re: Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning!)

#4 Post by ozzymud » Tue May 31, 2011 2:02 am

This "trick" also works to install WinDVD Creator 3 when the Entitlement Check doesn't see IBM hardware like under Vista or 7 (the reason is NT.DLL in Vista/7 doesn't have the same routines as XP)...

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-54697

They even use the same password for "package.zip" :)

Just tested both on my non-IBM hombrew Asus desktop ;)

P.S. Easier to use 7zip or WinRar, right drag the exe downloaded from Lenovo, drop and choose "Extract to \folder_name", then go into "folder_name", and do the same for package.zip, the install files will then be in the package folder (folder_name = the name of the downloaded installer, rn732108f for Recordnow, and wc301219f for WinDVD), no need to hunt down the temporary files :)
(2)701C,(1)760EL,(6)760XL,(1)760XD
(4)CD Drives (5)int floppies (3)ext floppy (4)2.1GB
(10)CF/IDE w/2 or 4GB 133x CF (1)760XL restore CD
(1)Belkin USB 2.0 32bit Cardbus (2)WPC54G(S) Wifi Cardbus
(1)Belkin F5D5020 NIC (1)Giga-Byte GN-WLM01 Wifi
(1)Backpack CD (1) Xircom REM56G-10 + misc

lukee
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 7:17 am
Location: CZ / Europe

Re: Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning

#5 Post by lukee » Tue May 31, 2011 8:59 am

ozzymud wrote:This "trick" also works to install WinDVD Creator 3 when the Entitlement Check doesn't see IBM hardware like under Vista or 7 (the reason is NT.DLL in Vista/7 doesn't have the same routines as XP)...
Hi ozzymud, thanks for the information! :wink: I will try it today. I just found also an update of this WinDVD Creator suite which was released in 2007 and which is adding also Windows Vista support + some features and enhancements. The Creator suite update is downloadable here:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-63764
Current: T420
Previous: T400, T43p Flexview, T40, R52, T43p 14"
My first ThinkPad was 570

Johan
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1998
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 2:00 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Sonic RecordNow - how to set it up in W7 (Images Warning

#6 Post by Johan » Sun Feb 02, 2014 12:58 pm

Thanks very much for sharing this! :thumbs-UP:

I just succesfully installed Sonic RecordNow ver. 7 (Build 732B08E, Program 207b39a, 1.1.69) as described above - and it runs fine on my T42p under Windows 7 Ultimate (when, as described above, being run in "XP compatibility mode").

A couple of comments, should anybody be interested:

1) I unzipped the program manually, directly from a cmd.exe prompt as this:

Code: Select all

unzip.exe -P Q2el=UmM[)2$asTn package.zip
...and then ran Setup.exe The installation then went smooth.

2) Before doing this, I loaded "package.zip" into my ASCII/Hex-editor (UltraEdit), and in Hex-mode searched for "unzip", but didn't find any occurances?!? Nevertherless, the unzipping as just described went without problems.

3) The link following link does no longer work:
lukee wrote:I've T43p so there wouldn't be any licensing problems. I've downloaded the installer directly from Lenovo support site: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 57007.html
... this link has been replaced by RecordNow! by Sonic but the program that can be downloaded from there ("rn732108f.exe") is described in the following way: "This package installs an updated version of the IBM RecordNow! software that comes preinstalled in your IBM system." However, I cannot get this program/installer (rn732108f.exe) to work (even after first installing Sonic RecordNow succesfully, as described above); I keep getting an error during the installation: "Error: Could not open \device\physicalmemory" followed by a second error: "Entitlement check: The program cannot be used with this hardware"?!? Ooh, well, not that it matters much...

4) I cannot remember where I have the old "Sonic Record Now" from, which is required to do the installation as described here by lukee (did I perhaps copy it from an old original IBM T42p-XP installation?). I have a directory on my Win7Ult-T42p named: "C:\swtools\apps\Rn73_08b" with only these three files:

Code: Select all

31-08-2006  11:57               861 drives.inx
31-08-2006  11:58        84.089.314 package.zip
31-08-2006  11:58           200.778 setup.exe
12-05-2006  19:24           154.112 unzip.exe
... but where did they come from; that I don'r remember. Neither on Drivers and software - ThinkPad T42/p - Lenovo Support nor on Drivers and software - ThinkPad T43 - Lenovo Support I find the original, default ("non-upgrade") Sonic RecordNow installer.

5) The installation described by lukee above will also install "Sonic Express Labeller" which will start (in XP SP3 Compatibility Mode), but which will not quit properly... so you'll need to shut it down using either Windows' "Taks Manager" og Sysinternals "Process Explorer"

Maybe this topic is not the TOP-hottest around :wink: since many newer free alternatives are available (such as e.g. CDburnerXP and ImgBurn etc.), but I thought I'd just share my exprience, if anyone is interested!

Johan
IBM T42p's (2373-Q1U & -Q2U): 2.1 GHz, 15" UXGA FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 128 MB FireGL T2, 128 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate
IBM T42 (2373-N1G): 1.8 GHz, 15" SXGA+ FlexView, 2 GB RAM, 64 MB Radeon 9600, 64 GB 1.8" SATA SSD, IBM a/b/g, BT, Win 7 Ultimate

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad Utility Work Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests