Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

T20-T23 Series and T30 specific matters only. NOT for T25-Retro.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#1 Post by Annecy » Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:21 pm

Hello ...
I have a T30 ...
that I bought in 2005 ... (supposedly) "refurbished" ...

In 2014 this T30 developed a display problem ...
Various 3rd party repair attempts failed ...

For whatever/various reasons ...
I would (very much) like to salvage
my existing T30 XPinstall ...
as a/my non-internet "MultiMediaMachine" ...

What are my options ???

Could I buy any (functioning :roll:) T30 for sale on eBay ...
and simply insert the HDD from my T30 ???
Would that boot ???

Or would I have to find/buy a 2366-85U model ... just like mine ???

In 2005 that (supposedly) "refurbished" T30 was sold to me ...
with various "problems" ~ including ...
a failed memory slot & a non-functioning VideoOut jack ...

I realize I could still use my T30 with a Dock&ExternalMonitor;
however, I'd rather NOT pursue that option ...

RSVP/merci,
Ann
Æ
Last edited by Annecy on Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10135
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#2 Post by rkawakami » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:51 pm

Ann,

I don't believe that the various models of T30 made over the years changed either the Intel chipset or the video controller on the motherboard. Those two hardware subsystems are the main sources of problems when transferring a hard drive from one model type to another. What you may end up changing, and it should cause no software problems, is the display. Your -85U came with an XGA screen (1024x768 pixels). Some models of T30 came with an SXGA+ screen which has a pixel resolution of 1400x1050. In other words, with the SXGA+ screen you'll be able to display larger images without having to re-scaling them, or display more of a web page without having to scroll around. However, everything will appear to be a bit "smaller".

If you can get the model type of the T30 you are considering buying, go to the "MTM" link at the top of the page and plug it in there. You'll see what the original screen resolution was. Note that a previous owner may have changed the screen, so it doesn't hurt to ask the seller if (s)he knows what the resolution is. Good luck!
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#3 Post by Annecy » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:35 pm

Hello ...
and thank you ... for your reply ...

I am also/still wondering ... about the existing MS Windows XP install ~
which is ultimately what I am hoping/trying to preserve ...
and use in a (more) function T30 unit ...

Will that XPinstall boot in & adjust to ...
some other separate/different T30 unit ???

Also ...
Possibly the XP install will "think" that
a 2nd/concurrent XP install has been made :?: :?: :?:
Must I somehow ... deactivate the XP install in the source T30
before moving the source T30-HDD/XPinstall
to some other T30 unit :eek:

RSVP/merci :jhem:
Last edited by Annecy on Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19137
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:30 am

If all else fails, look in the T30 Recovery CD Set Needed thread and contact forum member jronald.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1829
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#5 Post by jronald » Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:26 am

I have the recovery set if you want it. Costs a donation to the Forum.

With that said I think it will swap just fine. Its not going to hurt the HDD to try the swap, it will just BSOD, and you will need the Discs.


Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#6 Post by Annecy » Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:14 pm

jronald wrote:
Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:26 am
"I have the recovery set if you want it. Costs a donation to the Forum.

With that said I think it will swap just fine.
Its not going to hurt the HDD to try the swap,
it will just BSOD, and you will need the Discs.

Ron
"
Hi :parrot:, Ron ...

Sounds good ...
I hope not too good ... to be true :bow: :bow:

I would (seemingly) need to use ...
an optical drive ~ with those RecoveryDiscs &
my existing T30 HDD/install ...
in a "replacement T30" ... of some sort ...

I still wonder ...
if that approach would work ...
on ANY replacement T30 ~
with any internal motherboard ... & whatever ...
OR
if I should acquire/try only some/certain TYPE/S of T30s ...

I would ... seemingly ... (have to) buy a used T30 from eBay ...
or maybe through CL ... somewhere ... in the world ...
other online T30 offers (that I've seen) were/are ... (way) too high priced ...)

Should I "PM" Ron ... about the above :?: :banana: :?: :banana: :?:
Last edited by Annecy on Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19137
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:50 am

ANY working T30 hard drive will run in ANY other T30, regardless of specs (assuming that receiving T30 also works...).
If needed you can buy an external USB CDRW/DVDRW-drive.

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1829
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#8 Post by jronald » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:21 pm

Its been years since I have fiddled with the T30's but Im positive I swapped HDDs between them, I had several and at the time HDDs were expensive.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1829
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#9 Post by jronald » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:28 pm

I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#10 Post by Annecy » Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:27 am

Annecy wrote:
Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:21 pm
"I have a T30 ...
~~~
For whatever/various reasons ...
I would (very much) like to salvage
my existing T30 XPinstall ...
as a/my non-internet "MultiMediaMachine" ...
"
Hello ...
and thank you ... for the/your replies ...

I would just like to make sure ...
that I've been clear ... that ...
my goal (for various reasons)
is to salvage/resuscitate the XP install ...

that happens to be / have been ... on my T30 ...

I am NOT attached to the/a T30 ...
I AM attached to the/that (personalized/customized) XPinstall ... in my T30 ...
(That XP install has about a decade's worth of customization/s therein ...)

My (limited) "understanding" is that ...
Microsoft/Windows installs are "hardcoded"
to the PC/motherboard where they were installed ...
and/so/therefore ~
one canNOT simply stick a HDD with Windoze
into (just?) any other "machine" ...
and use that HDD/install there ...

What I am "hearing" ... here ... in this thread ...
is that I COULD just stick that HDD/XPinstall ...
of mine ... from my T30 ...
into any other T30 ...
and that HDD/XPinstall would boot ... & run ...

What about those RescueDisks mentioned above :?: :?: :?:

Seems to me ... that ...
I have read (some/other) "stuff" ... around the WWW ...
that says the above is NOT possible ...

atm ... I am just not (exactly) sure ...
what to think/believe ...
Merci :oops:
Last edited by Annecy on Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19137
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:46 am

In older Thinkpads (before UEFI) ANY drive will run in ANY twin sister/brother from the same series.
Worst thing that can happen is, that you may have to (re-)install a graphics or wifi driver.
Some will also run in slightly older/newer models without modifications.
Try T30 drive in a T40/T41/T42 or R50/R51 (not T43/R52 or newer).
The Recovery disks would only be needed if you want to reinstall everything from scratch.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1597
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#12 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:04 am

DO A BACKUP FIRST!! That's how I blew out 5 installs of Windows 7 in 20 minutes. It wasn't about builds I cared about, but if you care about the XP build, back it up. Some machines will brick the build. Ive had it happen, my X61s really loves to destroy builds on every OS, resulting in a boot up BSOD. My T41 has done it too, along with my T520, on countless drive types and sizes.

So RBS> Yes, there is alot worse than reinstalling a graphics driver when swapping drives from different machine eras.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#13 Post by Annecy » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:39 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:46 am
"In older Thinkpads (before UEFI) ANY drive will run in ANY twin sister/brother from the same series.
Worst thing that can happen is, that you may have to (re-)install a graphics or wifi driver.
Some will also run in slightly older/newer models without modifications.
Try T30 drive in a T40/T41/T42 or R50/R51 (not T43/R52 or newer).

The Recovery disks would only be needed if you want to reinstall everything from scratch.
"
Thank you (very much) ...
(I am NOT trying to be difficult ... or annoying ...
by posting/asking the following :oops::
)

The above does NOT (specifically) mention a/ny MS-Windows install ...

Does the above say/mean that ...
I could simply take out of my T30
my (backed-up :!:) WD3200BEVE HDD MS-WinXP "install"
and stick that HDD/XPinstall into ...
any other T30 (or even a/ny T40/T41/T42 or R50/R51)
and that other machine/MotherBoard will/(might :?:)
boot/run my "T30/WXP HDDinstall" :?:

Annecy wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:27 am
"I would just like to make sure ...
that I've been clear ... that ...
my goal (for various reasons)
is to salvage/resuscitate the XP install ...
that happens to be / have been ... on my T30 ...
"
Instead of trying/(paying) ... again ...
to repair/restore my own/personal T30 ...
in order to preserve/save my (highly customized) WinXPinstall
I would really/rather prefer to buy some other Thinkpad T30/machine ...
(or even a/ny T40/T41/T42 or R50/R51 :thumbs-UP: )
and just simply stick my T30 WinXP/HDDinstall in ...
& "plug & pray/play" ...

Could I (please/now) just have a simple YES or NO ...
as far as there indeed being the possibility
of simply buying some other ThinkPad/Hardware
& simply taking my existing WinXPinstall/HDD
out of my T30 and using that existing WinXPinstall/HDD
in some other/replacement ThinkPad/Hardware :help:

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:04 am
"DO A BACKUP FIRST!!
That's how I blew out 5 installs of Windows 7 in 20 minutes.
It wasn't about builds I cared about, but if you care about the XP build, back it up.
Some machines will brick the build.
Ive had it happen, my X61s really loves to destroy builds on every OS, resulting in a boot up BSOD.
My T41 has done it too, along with my T520, on countless drive types and sizes.
...
"
Oh, yes ...
I believe in BackUPs ...
&
am a "back-er-upper" ...

Sometime last month I watched my MS-Win7 install
BRICK :banghead: a CloneZilla'd BackUp/partition ...

Instead of Cloning from that partition/HDD to the original HDD/partition,
I simply stuck that other HDD into my T61 ...
and booted ...
Win7 said "Preparing your desktop ... ~
which actually meant BRICKING the cloned install :flame:
(which means that Win7 (seemingly)
would/will "complicate" ever
trying to simply change the install HDD :eek:


SO ...
I CloneZilla'd my 2nd T61 Win7 backup/partition
on/to the original HDD ...
and booted ...
successfully :roll:
2005: T30 2366-85U (XP)
2015: T43 2686-M7U
2017: T61 14.1"ws
2018: T61p 6457-V9K ¦ T60 2008-4AU & 2613-CTO ¦ T420s 4174-BB4
2017: 2 OtC MS-W7s

(WiP: :help:
~revive T30 XP-install ¦ ~T43 SATA-MOD
~sell T61ws
~Max T61p & T60-2008
~Find Ultimate "ClassicTP"
)

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#14 Post by Annecy » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:48 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:46 am
"In older Thinkpads (before UEFI) ANY drive will run in ANY twin sister/brother from the same series.
Worst thing that can happen is, that you may have to (re-)install a graphics or wifi driver.
Some will also run in slightly older/newer models without modifications.
Try T30 drive in a T40/T41/T42 or R50/R51 (not T43/R52 or newer).
The Recovery disks would only be needed if you want to reinstall everything from scratch.
"
Next week ... I'm supposed to meet someone ... who has a T41 ...
The plan is ... to insert the XPinstall/HDD from my T30 ...
and see what happens :??:

I'm wondering if there are any XP and/or IBM/ThinkPad "BootRepair" utilities ...
that I should have ... "@theReady" :?: :?: :?:
Last edited by Annecy on Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19137
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#15 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:09 am

Should work.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T2x & T3x Series. NOT for T25-Retro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mandrak and 5 guests