Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

T20-T23 Series and T30 specific matters only. NOT for T25-Retro.
Post Reply
Message
Author
rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10135
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#1 Post by rkawakami » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:51 pm

Ann,

I don't believe that the various models of T30 made over the years changed either the Intel chipset or the video controller on the motherboard. Those two hardware subsystems are the main sources of problems when transferring a hard drive from one model type to another. What you may end up changing, and it should cause no software problems, is the display. Your -85U came with an XGA screen (1024x768 pixels). Some models of T30 came with an SXGA+ screen which has a pixel resolution of 1400x1050. In other words, with the SXGA+ screen you'll be able to display larger images without having to re-scaling them, or display more of a web page without having to scroll around. However, everything will appear to be a bit "smaller".

If you can get the model type of the T30 you are considering buying, go to the "MTM" link at the top of the page and plug it in there. You'll see what the original screen resolution was. Note that a previous owner may have changed the screen, so it doesn't hurt to ask the seller if (s)he knows what the resolution is. Good luck!
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19604
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:30 am

If all else fails, look in the T30 Recovery CD Set Needed thread and contact forum member jronald.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#3 Post by jronald » Sun Feb 25, 2018 7:26 am

I have the recovery set if you want it. Costs a donation to the Forum.

With that said I think it will swap just fine. Its not going to hurt the HDD to try the swap, it will just BSOD, and you will need the Discs.


Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19604
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:50 am

ANY working T30 hard drive will run in ANY other T30, regardless of specs (assuming that receiving T30 also works...).
If needed you can buy an external USB CDRW/DVDRW-drive.

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#5 Post by jronald » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:21 pm

Its been years since I have fiddled with the T30's but Im positive I swapped HDDs between them, I had several and at the time HDDs were expensive.

Ron
I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

jronald
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 1840
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:11 pm
Location: RTP, North Carolina

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#6 Post by jronald » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:28 pm

I see in my son's eyes, each day, the wonders I have squandered fortunes to possess and have sought my entire lifetime to attain. jrr 09/2011


T400's and T500's

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19604
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:46 am

In older Thinkpads (before UEFI) ANY drive will run in ANY twin sister/brother from the same series.
Worst thing that can happen is, that you may have to (re-)install a graphics or wifi driver.
Some will also run in slightly older/newer models without modifications.
Try T30 drive in a T40/T41/T42 or R50/R51 (not T43/R52 or newer).
The Recovery disks would only be needed if you want to reinstall everything from scratch.

Thinkpad4by3
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2169
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#8 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:04 am

DO A BACKUP FIRST!! That's how I blew out 5 installs of Windows 7 in 20 minutes. It wasn't about builds I cared about, but if you care about the XP build, back it up. Some machines will brick the build. Ive had it happen, my X61s really loves to destroy builds on every OS, resulting in a boot up BSOD. My T41 has done it too, along with my T520, on countless drive types and sizes.

So RBS> Yes, there is alot worse than reinstalling a graphics driver when swapping drives from different machine eras.
Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19604
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Existing T30 HDD/XP-install into "new"/used T30?

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 18, 2018 8:09 am

Should work.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T2x & T3x Series. NOT for T25-Retro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests