Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

T20-T23 Series and T30. NOT for T25-Retro.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Ryszard
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 26, 2024 5:34 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#1 Post by Ryszard » Sun May 26, 2024 5:50 am

Greetings!

I'm glad that I can join to this community. I'm the owner of the T40, T61p and T30 which have some troubles. In the future I want to expand my ThinkPads family even further

During my restoration of the T30 which was bought not so long ago to my collection. Here is what I've done to the computer during this project already:

- new thermal compound under the CPU
- dead HDD was replaced by IDE to mSATA enclosure with Toshiba 120 GB SSD inside of it
- BIOS was upgraded to 2.10 (latest possible) with Embedded Controler (1.07)
- Internal speaker is dead, so I ordered from eBay a replacement (the audio is working on external speakers)

But I notice something weird when I ran CPU-Z to make sure, that is nothing wrong with my CPU. From the beginning I felt that computer is not working as it should, and I've decided to check it. CPU-Z is reporting, that my Intel Pentium 4-M 2,0 GHz is working only on 716 MHz. Using SpeedSwitchXP it indicates that CPU is running only 1,2 GHz, and the FSB is only set at 200 MHz instead of 400 MHz. That is something that I didn't exprected from the unit. Of course, I''ve played with the Intel SpeedStep settings, but still CPU-Z reported the same data from the beginning.

What is the deal with that Pentium 4-M processors? Or maybe my CPU or unit is going to die soon? I have no clue what is causing the issue.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun May 26, 2024 6:08 am

You have either an (almost) dead battery or no battery.
In such cases, the laptop only runs at reduced speed, nothing to worry about.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Ryszard
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 26, 2024 5:34 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#3 Post by Ryszard » Sun May 26, 2024 6:22 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun May 26, 2024 6:08 am
You have either an (almost) dead battery or no battery.
In such cases, the laptop only runs at reduced speed, nothing to worry about.
Thank You for the rapid response! Yes, my unit came without backup battery and CMOS coin battery (even without that special enclosure, need to find it or maybe buy on eBay...). So, in that case the only thing what I can do is regenerate the battery, or maybe find battery pack that holds some current to work at full speed?

wujstefan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1380
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#4 Post by wujstefan » Mon May 27, 2024 3:42 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun May 26, 2024 6:08 am
You have either an (almost) dead battery or no battery.
In such cases, the laptop only runs at reduced speed, nothing to worry about.
Whoa! It's never too late to learn something new, but I was absolutely not aware of that! One generation higher (T4x) works at full speed with no battery, but I'm gonna check in the moment if the same is true for T23.
Ryszard wrote:
Sun May 26, 2024 6:22 am
Thank You for the rapid response! Yes, my unit came without backup battery and CMOS coin battery (even without that special enclosure, need to find it or maybe buy on eBay...). So, in that case the only thing what I can do is regenerate the battery, or maybe find battery pack that holds some current to work at full speed?
T23 battery also works for T30 if this is of any help; T30 batteries are signifficantly harder to get nowadays.
Too many thinkpads not enough time!
(stable under reduction)

Ryszard
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 26, 2024 5:34 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#5 Post by Ryszard » Mon May 27, 2024 4:27 am

wujstefan wrote:
Mon May 27, 2024 3:42 am
T23 battery also works for T30 if this is of any help; T30 batteries are signifficantly harder to get nowadays.
Yep, I was expecting that, too. But I've found an original package in a local advertisement portal. Even if it does not work, I should consider regenerating it. It's better than buying a Chinese replacement from Aliexpress or something.

I think the whole topic will be handy for someone with the same problem with T30's. So, I will post my results when the package comes to me :).

And another question for you guys: I cannot find the CMOS battery holder for T30, and I'm considering mounting the battery using double-sided tape. Do you think that is a good idea to do it, or maybe find the original package? :D

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon May 27, 2024 7:18 am

Hold it!
The T30 battery works in T20/T21/T22/T23 without any modification.
But a T20/T21/T22/T23 battery ONLY works in a T30, AFTER you cut out a corner of that battery!
Look at the Parts list Overall page 139 of the T30 HMM manual.
The number 10 on that page points to that specific battery-corner.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

wujstefan
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1380
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#7 Post by wujstefan » Mon May 27, 2024 9:13 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon May 27, 2024 7:18 am
Hold it!
The T30 battery works in T20/T21/T22/T23 without any modification.
But a T20/T21/T22/T23 battery ONLY works in a T30, AFTER you cut out a corner of that battery!
Look at the Parts list Overall page 139 of the T30 HMM manual.
The number 10 on that page points to that specific battery-corner.
Yup, this is correct, but the "mod" is just a mechanical cut quick&simple :)
Ryszard wrote:
Mon May 27, 2024 4:27 am
Even if it does not work, I should consider regenerating it.
Please share how did that work at any point :) I have never regenerated my batteries ('cause I don't feel my skills and hand stability can let it), so this may be of interest to me :)
Too many thinkpads not enough time!
(stable under reduction)

kfzhu1229
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2559
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Mon May 27, 2024 9:41 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon May 27, 2024 7:18 am
Hold it!
The T30 battery works in T20/T21/T22/T23 without any modification.
But a T20/T21/T22/T23 battery ONLY works in a T30, AFTER you cut out a corner of that battery!
Look at the Parts list Overall page 139 of the T30 HMM manual.
The number 10 on that page points to that specific battery-corner.
I am assuming that people have tested that and actually got it working right and IBM didn't put some sort of blacklist that blocks the weaker T2x batteries from working on T30. Or the updated power management mechanism on T23 and T30 vs T20-T22 for that matter. Because when I try A22m battery with extension wire onto the A30, the system simply does not communicate with the battery properly while it worked the other way around.

Either way, be very careful about battery stress on the T30 if you are exercising this route or going with an unknown Chinese T30 battery. The Pentium 4-M sure draws a lot of power at peak load, and from my testing on the ThinkPad R40 with the Pentium 4-M 2.2Ghz and my LG cells that both the new and the old cells have better specs than IBM's original cells, an hour of gaming on battery power got that 8 cell battery's temperature above 45C! It got hot enough that when the battery drained to 8% and I plug in the charger, the battery refused to charge until the temps hovered in low 40s again!
On the T30 if equipped with a similarly high clocked P4-M and only 6 cells to carry the power load vs 8 cells, and then you throw in a battery BMS and Chinese cells that isn't designed to carry the load of a Pentium 4-M, if you do something crazy like gaming on battery power, expect issues anywhere from shutting down due to overcurrent to overtemperature to the cells just not holding up the internal resistance, and expect the battery lifespan to age terribly, or even a hazard in the case the system pushes more than 2A per battery cell.
But for the purpose of keeping the system running at full power, that's perfectly reasonable. But just keep that in mind since there is a very legitimate reason why IBM did not want T30 users to use the weak batteries of especially the T20-T22 days, and gave it 2200mah battery cells (Dell for instance shipped them with negligibly better 2250mah cells, but more of them)!
Dell has a similar preventative mechanism on the Latitude C640/C840 Pentium 4-M systems where if the detected capacity of the battery is below 3600mah (54Wh, i.e. older than a typical battery from Pentium III systems), the battery will not charge, and will throw you a warning saying the system will shut down in 60 seconds and tell you to save your work immediately.
Ryszard wrote:
Mon May 27, 2024 4:27 am
Yep, I was expecting that, too. But I've found an original package in a local advertisement portal. Even if it does not work, I should consider regenerating it. It's better than buying a Chinese replacement from Aliexpress or something.
If you go down the route of rebuilding a battery pack, I think my posts are already detailed enough on how to approach that subject SAFELY. Depending on your luck of the battery BMS chip, you may or may not need to reprogram the EEPROM to get the capacity updated. The Mitsubishi chip gave me a lot of troubles, the Texas instruments BQ chip on the R40 battery happily recalibrated itself after half a dozen cycles. But yes they are indeed better than Chinese replacements, much better, if you get the handiwork spot on.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Precision M4300 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23901
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire

Re: IBM T30 - CPU is working only on half of it's speed.

#9 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jun 04, 2024 12:09 pm

Ryszard wrote:
Mon May 27, 2024 4:27 am
And another question for you guys: I cannot find the CMOS battery holder for T30, and I'm considering mounting the battery using double-sided tape. Do you think that is a good idea to do it, or maybe find the original package? :D
Going through my parts pile I found 2 CMOS battery holders, that almost certainly come from a T20/T21/T22/T23.
The T30 holder looks very similar and the T23 CMOS holder may also fit in a T30.
Check that and let me know.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T20-T23 & T30 Series. NOT for T25-Retro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests