Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

T2x/T3x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
karl80038
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#1 Post by karl80038 » Fri May 19, 2017 10:28 am

Is it possible to replace a worn LCD panel on my T20 with a working one from the T40? If that's possible, do I have to replace anything else besides the panel on my T20?
Anyways, thanks for reading,
Karl

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17933
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri May 19, 2017 10:45 am

Nope, won't work.

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri May 19, 2017 10:48 pm

All 14.1" T/A2x/3x use 20pin ccfl connector
all 14.1" T4x/6x use 30pin ccfl connector
You should be fine for getting a 14.1" display from T/A2x/3x which is better off for you to find on this forum or those Chinese sources such as Taobao, or pick one from theft store
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Thinkpad4by3
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#4 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat May 20, 2017 2:00 pm

Im assuming you mean thrift store :).
With great power comes great responsibility!

A lesson Lenovo has not cared to learn yet.

Mandrak
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 5:03 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#5 Post by Mandrak » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:54 pm

Is it possible to use panel from R40 in T22? If yes, can XGA panel be used with SXGA+ cables and inverter?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15896
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#6 Post by ajkula66 » Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:36 pm

Mandrak wrote:
Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:54 pm
Is it possible to use panel from R40 in T22?
No.
If yes, can XGA panel be used with SXGA+ cables and inverter?
No. You need the cable that matches the screen resolution on old (pre-T60) ThinkPads, even if you were to source a proper T2x panel.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

Thinkpad4by3
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#7 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:02 pm

Mandrak wrote:Is it possible to use panel from R40 in T22? If yes, can XGA panel be used with SXGA+ cables and inverter?
Just for your reference, If you try to swap panels between resolutions and generations, assume it doesnt work, cuz it likely wont. Even my new HD+ panel wont work in my HD T420.
With great power comes great responsibility!

A lesson Lenovo has not cared to learn yet.

Mandrak
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 5:03 pm
Location: Belgrade, Serbia

Re: Would an LCD panel from an old T40 work on my ThinkPad T20?

#8 Post by Mandrak » Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:24 pm

Thanks guys! :D

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T2x & T3x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest