Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T23 HDD capacity limitation

T20-T23 Series and T30 specific matters only. NOT for T25-Retro.
Post Reply
Message
Author
MooNWalker
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:54 am
Location: Seattle, WA

T23 HDD capacity limitation

#1 Post by MooNWalker » Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:10 am

I want to upgrade hard drive on my T23, but not sure how big hard drive it can take. I've seen on ebay ATA-100 hard drives up to 160GB, and I'm wondering if T23 will work with them? Tried to look up in tawbook and google, but haven't found any clues about this question. Does anybody know the answer?
This message was created with 100% recycled electrons

tfflivemb2
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 5596
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

#2 Post by tfflivemb2 » Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:34 am

Welcome to the forum!

The T23 can handle any 9mm 2.5" PATA hard drive that you can stick in it. Though, I saw somewhere that Windows might have a 137gb limit, in which case, you can just create two partitions on the drive, as long as the first partition is less than 137gb. (ie. 80/80 for a 160gb drive)

MooNWalker
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:54 am
Location: Seattle, WA

#3 Post by MooNWalker » Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:48 am

Thank you, will go with 160GB - I had no problems in past installing Win2k3 on 200GB one partition.
This message was created with 100% recycled electrons

tfflivemb2
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 5596
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:17 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Contact:

#4 Post by tfflivemb2 » Sat Mar 22, 2008 9:07 am

MooNWalker wrote:Thank you, will go with 160GB - I had no problems in past installing Win2k3 on 200GB one partition.
I myself have never had a problem with that limit, but then again, I use partition most of the time, so that I can reinstall the OS in the first partiion if there is a problem...without losing my data.

sparta.rising
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 890
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 1:27 pm
Location: Boston, MA

#5 Post by sparta.rising » Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:39 pm

I believe that 137GB limitation was patched in Win2k SP3 and WinXP SP1...

MooNWalker
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:54 am
Location: Seattle, WA

#6 Post by MooNWalker » Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:59 am

sparta.rising wrote:I believe that 137GB limitation was patched in Win2k SP3 and WinXP SP1...
Actualy, I've even had Windows 98 SE working w/o any problems on one (!) partition on this 160GB HDD. The only reasong why I switched to Windows Mistake Edition later is that, suprisingly, WinME works more stable on my laptop than Win98SE. Reason, though, simple - WinME managing 1GB RAM better. And yes, I do need 9x, since I'm using many programs that still work under DOS. In protected mode.
This message was created with 100% recycled electrons

Lars
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 7:58 pm
Location: Stockholm

#7 Post by Lars » Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:22 am

sparta.rising wrote:I believe that 137GB limitation was patched in Win2k SP3 and WinXP SP1...
I still think you had better make sure that the EnableBigLba key is
set in the registry.

I have W2k installation files that are patched with SP4. I still ran
into problems not long ago with a large HD. As soon as I had
patched the registry the problems went away. My drives are
partitioned to far less than 137 GB. Still I experienced data spill.

http://www.48bitlba.com/

To enable 48-bit LBA large-disk support in the registry:
1. Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
2. Locate and then click the following key in the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Atapi\Parameters
3. On the Edit menu, click Add Value, and then add the following registry value:
Value name: EnableBigLba
Data type: REG_DWORD
Value data: 0x1
4. Quit Registry Editor.
Lars

IBM Thinkpads
600, 600E *2, 600X, T42, X41, X31, X60s, X61, X61s *2

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T20-T23 & T30 Series. NOT for T25-Retro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests