Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Cloning and Imaging T60P

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#31 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:53 am

That FRU is the correct one for the Lenovo part.

How large ot a drive can I put in an Ultrabay? Before I upgrade to Win 7, my OS is Vista. Is there any restriction to the size of mobile drive I use?

If I were to clone to the Ultrabay drive, does the T60P and the OS know to boot from the original drive, or is there the possibility of a conflict between the two drives?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#32 Post by dr_st » Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:56 am

I would not suggest booting with both drives connected after the clone. Vista/7 are supposed to be smarter than XP, but strange issues due to drive letter assignments can happen (look for my linked post earlier in this thread).
Current: Thinkpad 25 (20K7), Yoga 14 (20FY), X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, T60 1952-F76, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#33 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:16 pm

What about making images, or bootable images on the Ultrabay drive? Can the Ultrabay drive stay connected in such a scenario?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#34 Post by dr_st » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:35 pm

I think so.
Current: Thinkpad 25 (20K7), Yoga 14 (20FY), X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, T60 1952-F76, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#35 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:38 pm

Any idea on how large a capacity drive can be used?

Shredder11
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:25 pm
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, England

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#36 Post by Shredder11 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:00 pm

I've only used the original HDD drives in the Ultrabay, as I have usually been replacing them with an SSD. So most of those were not that big, e.g. as little as 160GB but I am pretty sure I have read of other people using 500GB and maybe more.
Z61p x3 (C2D T7600, 3GB, 500GB SSD, BCM70015, Advanced Dock x1, Mini Dock x2)
X61 (C2D T7500, 3GB, 250GB SSD, BCM70015)
X61s (2GB, 120GB SSD)
X60s (CD L2400, 3GB, 160GB)
T43p (P M 760, 2GB, IBM Port Replicator II)
G40 x2 (P4 2.8GHz, 2GB, 60GB)
G41 (P4 3.46GHz, 2GB, 40GB)

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#37 Post by Cigarguy » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:03 pm

I've got a 1 TB Hitachi in mine. I'm sure it will accommodate 2 TB if and when they make 2 TB 2.5" HDD easily available.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#38 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:30 pm

There's this:

https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Drives-2 ... B00MBLX332

I've never been a fan of Seagate, and it's only 5400 RPM, but it is 2 TB. Has anyone tried it?

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18661
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#39 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:58 pm

I have a very similar one in my desktop: Lenovo 4XB0F18667, which is a 3.5" 2TB 7200rpm 6Gbps drive.
The Lenovo drive turned out to be a Seagate ST2000DM001-1ER164, I got it brand new last October for a song ($51.80).
I run Seatools for Windows every week, so far no problems.
But if I had known that the Lenovo drive was a Seagate, I wouldn't have bought it.
Anyway, it gets backed up regularly on an external Samsung HD.

Bought that Lenovo drive after my TWO Toshiba E300 1TB 5700rpm desktop drives both failed on the same day after only 3-1/2 months!
Toshiba refunded me fully for those failed drives, but I'll never buy Toshiba again!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#40 Post by taichi » Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:45 pm

My current drive is a Western Digital Scorpio Black 500 GB, which I like very much. Now the line is simply called Black, and goes up to 1 TB in the form factor the T60P can use. I wish they made a 2TB or larger. I also had good luck with Hitachi, which is now owned by WD, althought the Hitachi original brand supposedly lives on in a subsidiary HGST.

I bought and returned a 4TB WD My Passport, thinking it would be good for storing multiple images from this and another laptop. Amazon sent it in a ridiculously thin bubblewrap envelope, in contrast to WD's apparent policy of double boxing with 2 inches of bubblewrap. I bought an Anker powered USB hub to power the drive.

Now I'm torn between an Ultrabay Drive for images or cloning, the My Passport for imaging, or a separate USB enclosure for swapping and cloning, external to internal.

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#41 Post by taichi » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:13 am

Still wondering if an UltraBay mounted hard drive overcomes the "potential" problem encountered in cloning to an external drive. Also, as I broached before, is the UltraBay mounted drive ever looked at by the OS as a boot drive (or a C Drive), or does the OS always default to the primary internal as boot drive?

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#42 Post by dr_st » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:25 am

taichi wrote:Still wondering if an UltraBay mounted hard drive overcomes the "potential" problem encountered in cloning to an external drive.
Not knowing what the "problem" is, it is hard to answer that. To the best of my knowledge, there was never a definitive root cause and explanation, just a bunch of folks for whom it didn't work.
taichi wrote:Also, as I broached before, is the UltraBay mounted drive ever looked at by the OS as a boot drive (or a C Drive), or does the OS always default to the primary internal as boot drive?
The BIOS determines which drive to boot from. Once booting, "boot" drive and "C" drive need not be the same thing. The letter assignment process by an OS can get somewhat complicated and not always easy to predict.
Current: Thinkpad 25 (20K7), Yoga 14 (20FY), X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, T60 1952-F76, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad

taichi
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 2:07 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#43 Post by taichi » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:44 am

I first encountered the problem when I tried to use the Apricorn Hard Drive Upgrade cloning...always successful with my A21P...with the T60P. the failure led me back to Apricorn, who told me that the drives must be swapped, to clone into the newer laptop. Then I read that this was a peculiaroty with later Thinkpads, and may have been designed in for security in Enterprise environments.

Since then I have read about the "problem" in many places, but I realize that some programs seem to overcome the hurdle. And I read of some who were able to clone, with seemin success, but were unable to boot from the clone, or encountered other problems. And of course there are others for whom this wasn't true.

I know that you can go into the BIOS to change boot options, but I was basically talking about defaults. But you're right about the trickiness of drive letter assignments.

Annecy
Freshman Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Clothing snd Imaging T60P

#44 Post by Annecy » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:43 pm

Cigarguy wrote:
Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:58 pm
"I've used Clonzilla via Parted Magic to clone various HDD over the years with great success."
taichi wrote:
Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:30 pm
Cigarguy wrote:"I've used Clonzilla via Parted Magic to clone various HDD over the years with great success."
"With a T60P? I have read (and had the experience with the Apricorn HD Upgrade kit) that you can't clone from the T60P's internal drive to an external drive. From what I've read you have to swap drives...put the destination drive into the T60P and the source drive in the enclosure. Something to do with Enterprise security, that also is supposed to affect Thinkpads from the T60 on.

I had no such problem with the A21P. I cloned to Apricorn's enclosure, using their cloning software, and always had a bootable drive in an emergency.

I intended using Macrium's Reflecy Free, and buying the full version in a bit.
"
I've been using PartedMagic ... for a decade ... or so ...
In this/the "NewYear" ... I've been (for the 1stTime ... ever) ...
using CloneZilla ... (instead of DriveXML) ...
on drives/installs ... from/with each/all three (3) of my ThinkPads :bouncing-bird:
Last edited by Annecy on Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: ThinkPads
2005 ("reconditioned" :roll:) WinXP-T30
2015 2ndH T43
2017 2ndHand T61
2 Retail MS-Win7s

(WiP/Project/s: :help:
~preserving/reviving that XP-install
~looking for the "Ultimate" "ClassicThinkpad"
)

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1063
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#45 Post by kfzhu1229 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:06 pm

I always have backup images (windows backup image) for almost each series of my computers (my two P4 and one 'gaming' Dell desktops share one, all of my T43 computers share one, my A30p and A31p share one, for Spotify playback purposes, as they get recognised as one computer and takes up one slot in the 3 offline devices, and my T22 and T23 share one)
I also always at least have the iso files ready, if not burned onto a DVD, or emergency recovery on a CD.
In the event of cloning every personal files to another computer, I use a Chinese software called DiskGenius. It cannot copy individual files either, which I manage to copy by Windows PE, but helpful when I wanna delete files such as corrupted Windows directory and skips the Windows file protection. I also have a set of Windows PE as well as dos tools ready on a CD disc.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1518
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#46 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:19 pm

You don't need an OEM one. If it says its compatible with a T60, it works. Just make sure the seller has high ratings and I doubt you'll have an issue.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

LF: Interesting laptops from the late-1980s to mid 1990s. Anything of interest. Zenith laptops, early Thinkpads, laptop that just looks cool or has an interesting property. PM me if you have something.

Annecy
Freshman Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#47 Post by Annecy » Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:06 am

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Wed Feb 28, 2018 6:06 pm
"I also have a set of Windows PE as well as dos tools ready on a CD disc."
Except @ the time when I had just started using "GParted"
(which was right before the PartedMagic project was started)
I've always (for various reasons) run PartedMagic from USB MultiBoot sticks ...
which also/always included (amongst other tools/utils ...) a WinPE build ...

BartPE and UBCD4W are now defunct ...
The WinBuilderPESE project is a quite impressive successor to them ...

(I (atm) don't know .. if ... UBCDOS is still going ... or not ...
I find the Hiren's BootCD project quite similar ...
)

I was/am (still) amazed with HOW QUICKLY CloneZilla does clonings ...
I've cloned to/from HDD partitions on HDDs in the UltraBay
& also to/from HDDs in an external USB enclosure ...

Clonezilla completes a cloning in about a quarter (or so)
of the time creating DIxml image files required ...
(I've not yet/ever done a/ny CloneZilla imaging :-| )

I'm not sure ... I can find any reason/s ...
why ...
I would want to backup my OS installs
any other way ... now ... than with CloneZilla ... cloning :??:

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1510
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#48 Post by Cigarguy » Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:49 am

Lots of good cloning/imaging software around. Free, effective and simple such as Clonezilla works for me.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16064
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#49 Post by ajkula66 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:22 am

Cigarguy wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:49 am
Lots of good cloning/imaging software around. Free, effective and simple such as Clonezilla works for me.
+ 1 on Clonezilla
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#50 Post by thinkpadcollection » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:21 pm

My choice of cloning for SATA to SATA drives via with original HD in a ultrabay cradle with new blank SATA HD in original bay is Minitool Partition Wizard (freeware) on a USB drive stick was prepared by open source "rufus" tool for USB drive writer. Few point and clicks and you're done.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1063
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#51 Post by kfzhu1229 » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:17 pm

Annecy wrote:
Thu Mar 01, 2018 4:06 am
I'm not sure ... I can find any reason/s ...
why ...
I would want to backup my OS installs
any other way ... now ... than with CloneZilla ... cloning :??: [/size]
Oh yeah btw the only reason I actually do OS backup images is because I have at least 5 of those old IBM Travelstar HDD that came with my old laptops such as 390X, 600 and T22. They all work pretty reliably so far, just the rattling noise is a bit too much for my liking to be mounted inside anything other than 390X which does a good job of isolating the rattling sound. Since I only backup the essentials, even the 10GB drives work just fine for that purpose, and now that I have at least 3 of those IDE to USB/Ultrabay adapters.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Shredder11
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:25 pm
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire, England

Re: Cloning and Imaging T60P

#52 Post by Shredder11 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:41 pm

I have used a network capable version of Acronis for years, but I only use the bootable CD which also has the full networking features, and I never install it because it is impossible to uninstall if you need to. Very reliable, simple and quick.
Z61p x3 (C2D T7600, 3GB, 500GB SSD, BCM70015, Advanced Dock x1, Mini Dock x2)
X61 (C2D T7500, 3GB, 250GB SSD, BCM70015)
X61s (2GB, 120GB SSD)
X60s (CD L2400, 3GB, 160GB)
T43p (P M 760, 2GB, IBM Port Replicator II)
G40 x2 (P4 2.8GHz, 2GB, 60GB)
G41 (P4 3.46GHz, 2GB, 40GB)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: geka3250 and 3 guests