Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Can I use1 4GB DIMM instead of 2 2GB DIMMs in a T60?

T60/T61 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
Skater
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:49 am
Location: Cinnaminson, NJ

Can I use1 4GB DIMM instead of 2 2GB DIMMs in a T60?

#1 Post by Skater » Mon Jan 23, 2023 2:59 pm

Dimm Question: Can I use one 4GB Dimm in the upper socket of a T60 instead of two 2GB Dimms? I'm asking because the lower Dimm socket in my MB isn't working properly.

theterminator93
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1388
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States

Re: Can I use1 4GB DIMM instead of 2 2GB DIMMs in a T60?

#2 Post by theterminator93 » Mon Jan 23, 2023 4:19 pm

The 945GM datasheet from Intel does state that it can support up to 4GB in dual-channel configurations. However it also says that in a single-channel configuration the maximum supported RAM is 2 GB.

Based on that I would say no... but, I haven't tried it personally.
T480 with T25 keyboard | T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T601F T9900·NVS 140m·LED AFFS UXGA
T420 IPS FHD | X220 IPS FHD | T61p·T61·43·42p|X220T·301·41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote
600|770Z|770|760XD|760EL|701C|755C

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 23205
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Loch Garman, Éire
Contact:

Re: Can I use1 4GB DIMM instead of 2 2GB DIMMs in a T60?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jan 24, 2023 3:59 am

Simple: NO.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Lenovo: X240, X250, T440p, M900 Tiny (all with W7/SP1 and NO updates since 2018), T480 (on its way).

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T60/T61 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests