Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#1 Post by CeeDee » Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:32 am

I have just installed an Intel 160 gig SSD in my T60. I did a disk copy from my previous drive then ran the Intel toolbox and everything checked out great. There is a great speed improvement bu the problem is it will no longer boot on the dock, just sits there on the Thinkpad splash screen. If I switch back to the mechanical drive there is no problems.
So does anyone have any ideas why this is happening?
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

aoitenshi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Depok, Indonesia

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#2 Post by aoitenshi » Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:28 pm

Hi,

you can try install the docking driver for your T60 or you can do an OS repair (if you are using Microsoft's OSes :D )

Hope that helped you :D
Hello world.

CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#3 Post by CeeDee » Fri Jan 11, 2013 10:33 pm

Thank you for your reply. I will try reloading the dock driver tomorrow. It should be there though as I did a disk copy of my previous drive. But I suppose anything can get screwed up.
I will post my results.
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#4 Post by CeeDee » Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:20 pm

Well I have been unable to find drivers for the dock. As its just the advanced mini dock I think that the ports are just pass through, drivers are not required. Please someone correct me if I am wrong.
I did try starting the T60 off the dock and then dock it and everything worked fine but still unable to cold start on the dock.
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

Fixed_Rider
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:15 pm
Location: Littleton, CO

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#5 Post by Fixed_Rider » Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:32 pm

CeeDee, I'm tagging along for this one.

You are not alone with this issue. Until now I thought I was crazy.
I have an X61s with a Intel 120gb SSD dual booted between Win8 and Ubuntu 12.04 and I have the same issue regardless of which OS I boot into. If I cold boot while docked it hangs just past the splash screen. Since I am only occasionally docked it has not been a priority for me as I only dock to access a larger 640gb drive in the bay. I typically boot then dock if I need to transfer files or backup.
ThinkPads: T420 W520, X61, X61s, T61, T43p (SATA Mod by RBS) & iPhone 5

CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#6 Post by CeeDee » Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:38 pm

Fixed_Rider wrote:CeeDee, I'm tagging along for this one.

You are not alone with this issue. Until now I thought I was crazy.
I have an X61s with a Intel 120gb SSD dual booted between Win8 and Ubuntu 12.04 and I have the same issue regardless of which OS I boot into. If I cold boot while docked it hangs just past the splash screen. Since I am only occasionally docked it has not been a priority for me as I only dock to access a larger 640gb drive in the bay. I typically boot then dock if I need to transfer files or backup.
Fixed_Rider thanks for joining in. I wonder is this an Intel SSD drive problem or is it with any SSD.
It would be helpful if anyone else has a T6x or X6x with an SSD Drive and does NOT have a problem docking to a Thinkpad Advanced Mini Dock.

I did try putting the SSD into a caddy and setting it as first boot device, but that did not work either. I'm at a loss as to what to try next so any help would be welcome.
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

craigmontHunter
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 742
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#7 Post by craigmontHunter » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:47 pm

I have a T61 and dock it regularly, and have never had an issue with it, either with a normal drive, my 128gb sandisk or my 240gb intel, with either a second drive or a dvd/cdrw in the ultrabay. Fixed_rider, do you have the middleton bios installed? I wonder if there is some weird compatiblity issue with ssds in sata 1 machines (I'm just throwing ideas out there, I have no idea if that can even make a diffrence)
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS

GACrabill
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:26 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#8 Post by GACrabill » Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:53 am

@CeeDee
@Fixed_Rider

Neither of you has mentioned which Intel SSD you are using.

Have you read this thread about Intel 330 Series SSDs ?
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=107788

CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#9 Post by CeeDee » Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:07 pm

@GBCrabill sorry for the lack of info. Mine is a Intel X25-M SATA Solid State Drive - 160 GB.

@craigmontHunter When you installed your SSD did you start with a clean install or a copy from previous drive?

@Fixed_Rider same question, did you do a clean install or copy?

If a clean install will resolve the issue then I will just do that. However I dont want to go through it if that wont fix the problem.
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

Fixed_Rider
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:15 pm
Location: Littleton, CO

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#10 Post by Fixed_Rider » Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:21 pm

@GBCrabill I'll check when I get home on the exact model of Intel SSD.

@CeeDee, I did a clean install of Win8 RP then upgraded to full version, then dual booted Ubuntu 12.04
ThinkPads: T420 W520, X61, X61s, T61, T43p (SATA Mod by RBS) & iPhone 5

aoitenshi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Depok, Indonesia

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#11 Post by aoitenshi » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:19 pm

have you tried the windows update?
I couldn't find any driver for T60's dock on lenovo's site ...
Hello world.

Fixed_Rider
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:15 pm
Location: Littleton, CO

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#12 Post by Fixed_Rider » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:07 pm

@GBCrabill - my SSD is an Intel 330 series. Model SSDSC2CT120A3K5

Hope this helps.
ThinkPads: T420 W520, X61, X61s, T61, T43p (SATA Mod by RBS) & iPhone 5

CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#13 Post by CeeDee » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:08 am

@GBCrabill referred to this thread: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=107788 and it seems to be a hit or miss thing. So I think that this weekend I will do a clean install of Win 7 and see how it goes. I will post my results.
in that other thread, @RealBlackStuff said to check if there was a master/slave setting on the drive. Does anyone know if SSD drives have this feature?

@aoitenshi I am right up to-date with all the updates. Do you have this problem also?
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20014
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#14 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jan 17, 2013 10:51 am

CeeDee wrote:Does anyone know if SSD drives have this feature? (ED.:master/slave setting)
SATA drives (HD and SSD) don't AFAIK.
PATA drives (HD and SSD) on the other hand can use jumpers for setting Master/Slave/Cable-select/32GB-Limit/etc. to mention but a few options.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!

craigmontHunter
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 742
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:25 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#15 Post by craigmontHunter » Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:24 am

@CeeDee - I did a clean install on each drive.
@Fixed_Rider - have you tried the intel ssd toolbox, and checking for a firmware update? and do you have the middleton bios installed on your x61? I'm wondering if there is a compatibility issue with the 330 series and sata 1, since I have never used any of my SSDs over a sata 1 connection; while it should be backwards compatible, the intel site only lists sata 2 and 3 compatibility.

And the intel ssd I have is a 520 series, so it may just be it doesn't have the issue.
Elitebook 8440p, i5 520, 8gb, Samsung 840 SSD
Old/Not Working/Dead Laptops:
T61 7661CC2, 4gb, Windows 7 x64, 240gb intel SSD, 500gb Ultrabay drive
Toshiba Portege 7020ct
Thinkpad T41 23737FU
Dell Latitude LS

aoitenshi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Depok, Indonesia

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#16 Post by aoitenshi » Fri Jan 18, 2013 7:11 am

CeeDee wrote:@aoitenshi I am right up to-date with all the updates. Do you have this problem also?
I don't have problem with the dock, since I always do a clean instal on my T61 :D
The last clean installation was OS WinXP x86 on samsung 830 ssd (3 weeks ago )
It was done my putting the T61 on the 2503 dock and the OS installed generic driver for the dock ..

then I let the System Update to do the job for the rest of the drivers :D
Hello world.

Fixed_Rider
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:15 pm
Location: Littleton, CO

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#17 Post by Fixed_Rider » Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:22 pm

@craigmontHunter yes I do have the middleton bios update installed. I do not have the toolbox. I imagine it is something I can download and will have to run the tool from the Windows side? Does anyone know how this will affect the Ubuntu side of my drive?

Thanks
ThinkPads: T420 W520, X61, X61s, T61, T43p (SATA Mod by RBS) & iPhone 5

CeeDee
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Owen Sound, CANADA

Re: T60 Won't work in dock since I switched to SSD

#18 Post by CeeDee » Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:55 pm

Well it's taken a bit longer than I would have liked, but I'm up and running again and able to boot on the dock. However I am unable to run in ACPI mode. It's strange because when I loaded Win 7 the bios was set to ACPI mode but when finished it would not start unil I put it into compatibility mode.
It doesn't seem to affect performance too much but I would like to get it fixed. I tried the Microsoft auto fix but it didn't help so I suppose I will have to search for the registry fix.

I still don't understand why it was necessary to do a clean install but at least it worked, I would have been pretty ticked off otherwise.

If anyone had ideas re the ACPI thing, I would be pleased to hear.
Regards
Colin D.
T-60p Core 2 Duo T7200 4gig ram. ips uxga 160g Intel SSD. 320g-7200 Hitachi hd. Or DVDRW DL in Ultrabay
past: 600x T-23 T-30 S-30 T-41 X-32 T-60
____________________________
"Wherever you go, there you are!"

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TinkerMan and 17 guests