Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
dastardlyman
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:52 am
Location: manchester. UK

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#181 Post by dastardlyman » Tue Mar 24, 2015 11:10 am

I think there is a mis-understanding.
You can get all the 800mhz socket P cpus to work in a T61 with JUST a bios update.

The whole point of this thread is that we can get 1066mhz fsb cpus to work!
the clue is in the title of the thread.

so if you want a 1066fsb cpu to work these are the steps:
1. update to a special bios with 1066fsb cpu microcodes
2. alter your RAM spds
3. modify the motherboard.
I have done this on a 15inch T61 and I have now got a 1066FSb cpu to work
its a T9400 with 1066fsb

you must do all three things to get a 1066FSb cpu to work at full speed.

I have not got my 14 inch widescreen T61 to work with a 1066Fsb cpu yet.

:-)

Qing Dao
Sophomore Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 1:01 am
Location: Shanghai, China

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#182 Post by Qing Dao » Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:32 pm

dastardlyman wrote:I think there is a mis-understanding.
You can get all the 800mhz socket P cpus to work in a T61 with JUST a bios update.
Yes, but they were asking about running a 1066Mhz socket P processor at 800Mhz. That does require some modification as well. Granted, there is no point since you can just use an 800Mhz FSB processor, but in theory...

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#183 Post by RMSMajestic » Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:28 pm

So, has any1 tried the new 2.29 QC BIOS?
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

dastardlyman
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:52 am
Location: manchester. UK

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#184 Post by dastardlyman » Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:22 pm

:D
im very happy with my modified T61 with 15 inch screen and X3100 intel graphics
its what I use for work and its been absolutely fine for a couple of weeks now.
Its got a T9400 (at 1066fsb) and 6 gigs ram and a 2 terabyte disk.
I tried tinkering with the 667 ram spd settings but it was not stable - so im at 533 just like the instructions say.
all fine - and I can get a faster cpu in future if I want. . . .
:-)

My other T61 with intel x3100 graphics is a 14 inch one .
I have tried two motherboards and cannot get the motherboard modifications to work.
It wont run at 1066fsb :-( only 800fsb
but that's ok - its got a T8300 and it runs just fine with that.

I have looked through the 25(!) pages on the german thinkpad forum and want to say two things:

1. a big thank you to the guys that use this forum and the German one and have been on the Chinese one as well - without your help this amazing modification would not have got to Europe. thank you.

2. I would love to know how to mod my 14 inch t61 to get 1066 fsb
(but it may not be possible.)

thanks again.

your man in Manchester Uk
:-)

QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#185 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Tue Mar 31, 2015 6:51 am

RMSMajestic wrote:So, has any1 tried the new 2.29 QC BIOS?
I have not tried it. But what improvements should we expect?

We already have undervolting etc.
Thinkpad Helix 2
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, GTX 1050Ti, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Thinkpad W500, Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB), GPD win


FS: T61F

Python.p
Freshman Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:28 am
Location: Brno, Czech Republic

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#186 Post by Python.p » Tue Mar 31, 2015 6:57 am

Will this magic work on W500 ?

There is chance to me to have W500 for 100eur, working :)

I´m looking for mobile powerful WKS.
X301 - "WKS"
T42p - Old-school gaming machine... (not moded yet)
past: X220,T420,T400,X60,X31....

QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#187 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Tue Mar 31, 2015 7:21 am

Python.p wrote:Will this magic work on W500 ?

There is chance to me to have W500 for 100eur, working :)

I´m looking for mobile powerful WKS.
It will not Work on a W500. Some have reported it can start with "Core multi processing" disabled, however there is only 1 core avaible then. I cannot confirm this.
Thinkpad Helix 2
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, GTX 1050Ti, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Thinkpad W500, Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB), GPD win


FS: T61F

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#188 Post by RMSMajestic » Tue Mar 31, 2015 11:34 am

QWERTY Andreas wrote: I have not tried it. But what improvements should we expect?

We already have undervolting etc.
Version 2.29-1.08
BIOS: 2.29 / ECP: 1.08

•(Fix) Corrected an description of UPDATING THE BIOS in this README document.
•(Fix) Fixed an issue where Tivoli OS from USB memory key might not boot.

Also, the CPU microcode is upgraded to that in T400 and will/might bring slightly better temperature.

But don't try it if you haven't got the tools for recovery
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

bwaldow
Freshman Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 7:59 pm
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#189 Post by bwaldow » Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:04 am

Hello,

I have the two Frankenpads listed in my signature. I'm interested in this mod to extend their usable life - by putting in a QuadCore processor. I would like to hear about your experience with these questions:

If I do the mod successfully, is the system stable and usable (most important)?

I see there are instructions for using the mod with a Linux OS - is this usable?

Between these processors, is there any advantage/disadvantage (too much heat/power consumption or whatever)?:
Q9000, QX9300 ,Q9100

I'm not completely clear if I need to buy 800 RAM or reprogram my existing 667 RAM?

My motherboards are both Penryn native. One has a post-2008 NVidia NVS140m GPU - will that work? Will it get too hot for the HSF to handle? Both have T61 HSF with T61 fans (if I recall correctly).

Thanks for your feedback and experience with this.

Regards,
Bret
Frankenpad: T60/1 2.6Ghz Penryn C2D w/15" UXGA LED backlit LCD & NVS140M GPU
X61 Tablet 1.6Ghz SXGA (7769-A67)
T42 14" SXGA (2378-XXQ)

QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#190 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:20 am

bwaldow wrote:Hello,

I have the two Frankenpads listed in my signature. I'm interested in this mod to extend their usable life - by putting in a QuadCore processor. I would like to hear about your experience with these questions:

If I do the mod successfully, is the system stable and usable (most important)?

I see there are instructions for using the mod with a Linux OS - is this usable?

Between these processors, is there any advantage/disadvantage (too much heat/power consumption or whatever)?:
Q9000, QX9300 ,Q9100

I'm not completely clear if I need to buy 800 RAM or reprogram my existing 667 RAM?

My motherboards are both Penryn native. One has a post-2008 NVidia NVS140m GPU - will that work? Will it get too hot for the HSF to handle? Both have T61 HSF with T61 fans (if I recall correctly).

Thanks for your feedback and experience with this.

Regards,
Bret
Q9000 is not really that fast. Its crippled by its low frequency.

You should be able to flash your SPD, so you can use your current RAM.

I use a 256MB FX570m, with no issues. The GPU is undervolted to 0.95V, and the QX9300 is at 1.050V. The temps can go high, but otherwise its fine. No overheating.
Thinkpad Helix 2
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, GTX 1050Ti, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Thinkpad W500, Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB), GPD win


FS: T61F

umop_apisdn
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:18 am
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#191 Post by umop_apisdn » Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:29 pm

So I'm building my first frankenpad and want some insight. Getting ready to buy a processor next and trying to figure out if I would be better off with an X9000 and 8 GB PC-6400 or a T9900 with 8GB @ 533 or 667. My understanding is that I need to change the Speed/Timing of the ram and I want to know if this will slow anything down compared to the X9000? My motherboard is a 42W7873 with NVS140M.

I was thinking of going QX9300 but not sure how comfortable I will be with the changes I need to accomplish for the quad core to work right (Thoughts?). Really just want a 4:3 UXGA with the best power that will last me the next couple of years.

QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 468
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#192 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Sat Apr 18, 2015 2:51 am

umop_apisdn wrote:So I'm building my first frankenpad and want some insight. Getting ready to buy a processor next and trying to figure out if I would be better off with an X9000 and 8 GB PC-6400 or a T9900 with 8GB @ 533 or 667. My understanding is that I need to change the Speed/Timing of the ram and I want to know if this will slow anything down compared to the X9000? My motherboard is a 42W7873 with NVS140M.

I was thinking of going QX9300 but not sure how comfortable I will be with the changes I need to accomplish for the quad core to work right (Thoughts?). Really just want a 4:3 UXGA with the best power that will last me the next couple of years.
I have had a X9000. The QX9300 is way ahead. Its about equal (!!) speed with one core, and up to double speed in some applications. Take a look at the numbers if you want:
X9000: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-Core ... 838.0.html
QX9300: http://www.notebookcheck.org/Intel-Core ... 609.0.html

I would go all the way. If you can do the mods required to the T9900, you should be able to do the mods for the QX9300.

/Andreas
Thinkpad Helix 2
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, GTX 1050Ti, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Thinkpad W500, Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB), GPD win


FS: T61F

Morten
Freshman Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:00 am
Location: Waterloo, ON, Canada

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#193 Post by Morten » Sat Apr 18, 2015 5:15 pm

QWERTY Andreas wrote:
bwaldow wrote:Hello,

I have the two Frankenpads listed in my signature. I'm interested in this mod to extend their usable life - by putting in a QuadCore processor. I would like to hear about your experience with these questions:

If I do the mod successfully, is the system stable and usable (most important)?

I see there are instructions for using the mod with a Linux OS - is this usable?

Between these processors, is there any advantage/disadvantage (too much heat/power consumption or whatever)?:
Q9000, QX9300 ,Q9100

I'm not completely clear if I need to buy 800 RAM or reprogram my existing 667 RAM?

My motherboards are both Penryn native. One has a post-2008 NVidia NVS140m GPU - will that work? Will it get too hot for the HSF to handle? Both have T61 HSF with T61 fans (if I recall correctly).

Thanks for your feedback and experience with this.

Regards,
Bret
Q9000 is not really that fast. Its crippled by its low frequency.

You should be able to flash your SPD, so you can use your current RAM.

I use a 256MB FX570m, with no issues. The GPU is undervolted to 0.95V, and the QX9300 is at 1.050V. The temps can go high, but otherwise its fine. No overheating.
I haven't looked into the Quadcore cPU's but in regards to X9000 and T9900 an important point is the stepping. T9900 are all E0 stepping, but an X9000 is rare in E0, and same with X9100. I did not see any for sale or recently sold at ebay. But if you care about heat at all, you want the E0, at least that's what I see from people who have tried them.

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#194 Post by RMSMajestic » Thu Apr 23, 2015 3:11 pm

Morten wrote:
I haven't looked into the Quadcore cPU's but in regards to X9000 and T9900 an important point is the stepping. T9900 are all E0 stepping, but an X9000 is rare in E0, and same with X9100. I did not see any for sale or recently sold at ebay. But if you care about heat at all, you want the E0, at least that's what I see from people who have tried them.
no X9000 is E0 stepping. They are all C0
And very very few X9100 has E0 stepping. and the price for the E0 X9100 SLGE7 is insane, about the same as a QX9300
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

eru3
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:47 pm
Location: Szczecin,PL

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#195 Post by eru3 » Mon May 18, 2015 4:47 am

Why is this topic dead. Why it is not sticky!

I cannot do the mod on the 14" motherboards, seems that it is either the RAM frequency or faulty modification.

I have cut the resistor path as mentioned on the picture, RAM is like 400Mhz(effective rating) at usual timings. Laptop starts, flash it's lights and than stays as such, if there was wrong BIOS flashed - no beeps, no backlight.

Of course the BIOS flashed is from the topic with QUAD microcodes:

http://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/172581 ... ndervolten

This is the mod I have done.

http://abload.de/img/141wideltuf5.jpg

Also, I do not have the 1066FSB CPU to try yet, so I attempted to start it with T7500. I am in really bad luck with those QX9300... One did not come at all, second is delayed and may not come as well :(

Regards!

el-sahef
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#196 Post by el-sahef » Thu May 21, 2015 8:28 pm

The cut is not enough, you must also make the cable connection:

http://abload.de/img/141wideltuf5d9qwe.jpg (216kB image)
http://abload.de/img/cimg0859igqv2.jpg (92kB image)

Images taken from 14,1" widescreen board with nvidia NVS 140M, applies only to 14,1" widescreen boards.

The cable connection was not shown in the original picture because it was posted as an answer to this post with this picture (164kB) which shows a 14,1" widescreen board with the cable connection already applied, but with the trace cut at the wrong place.
T70 15" 4:3 QXGA @ daylight LED, Core i7 7820HQ, 32 GB RAM, SSD
X62t, SXGA+ @ daylight LED, Core i7 5500U, 16 GB RAM, SSD
T70 WUXGA RGB-LED, Core i5 7300HQ, 16 GB RAM, SSD

eru3
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:47 pm
Location: Szczecin,PL

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#197 Post by eru3 » Fri May 22, 2015 5:44 am

Going to give it a go, thanks a lot!

Got information about the modifications for:

14.1" 4:3 board
15.4" widescreen board?

eru3
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 5:47 pm
Location: Szczecin,PL

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#198 Post by eru3 » Fri May 22, 2015 9:15 am

It does not work. Exactly same reaction of motherboard - flashing two houses and leaving on the power.

Even with QX9300 inside. What could possibly be done wrong? Pins were insulated of course.

dastardlyman
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2015 11:52 am
Location: manchester. UK

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#199 Post by dastardlyman » Tue Jun 02, 2015 2:48 pm

hi eru3,

sorry if you knew this already.
for 14" T61s - the 1066fsb mod only works if the motherboard has an NVidia
graphics chip.
if your 14" T61 has an intel graphics chip then these guides don't work.
at least that's what I found out. :-(
my larger 15 inch t61 has an intel graphics chip and the mods DO work.
:-)

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#200 Post by RMSMajestic » Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:47 am

eru3 wrote:It does not work. Exactly same reaction of motherboard - flashing two houses and leaving on the power.

Even with QX9300 inside. What could possibly be done wrong? Pins were insulated of course.
I don't think the place you cut the wire is correct.
For the way you cut, the northbridge will still receive the BSEL signal from CPU at the blue circle and refuse to boot.
try to cut at the yellow cross...
http://i1026.photobucket.com/albums/y32 ... w8rrai.jpg
It'd be better if you tried this mod last year at the same time, when I was in UK and I can mod it for you.... :/
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#201 Post by RMSMajestic » Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:50 am

dastardlyman wrote:hi eru3,

sorry if you knew this already.
for 14" T61s - the 1066fsb mod only works if the motherboard has an NVidia
graphics chip.
if your 14" T61 has an intel graphics chip then these guides don't work.
at least that's what I found out. :-(
my larger 15 inch t61 has an intel graphics chip and the mods DO work.
:-)
Could you please send me pictures of the backside of your non-working 14" motherboards? I've tried the mod with 14" 4:3 nVIDIA NVS140m and 14" 4:3 intel ones and they all work fine....
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

el-sahef
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#202 Post by el-sahef » Sun Jun 07, 2015 7:47 am

I have a 14,1" 16:10 nvidia board that definitetely works @ FSB 1066 with the modifications done as shown in the pictures in this post.

I do not have a 14,1" 16:10 intel board to test, but I am pretty sure that it should also work with those.

The circuit paths were checked with castw.exe (lenovo board viewer).
T70 15" 4:3 QXGA @ daylight LED, Core i7 7820HQ, 32 GB RAM, SSD
X62t, SXGA+ @ daylight LED, Core i7 5500U, 16 GB RAM, SSD
T70 WUXGA RGB-LED, Core i5 7300HQ, 16 GB RAM, SSD

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#203 Post by thinkpadcollection » Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:49 pm

I'm not sure for reasons about needing to cut trace and solder a wire after flashing modified bios. I want to make sure the mainboard is locked at 800fsb permenently.

Also to use the modified bios for newer microcode and GPU undervolting. This is for 15.4" R61 which I knew this is same as T61 15.4".

Second question which download that contains best fit for this needs? There are two places to download from, one in german with undervolted GPU and other one eariler on?

Thanks and cheers, Jason

ELCouz
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:37 am
Location: QC/CAN

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#204 Post by ELCouz » Tue Jun 09, 2015 4:23 pm

I have a T61p that I would like to upgrade...

After reading the whole thread I'm still confused if doable or not...

P9700 + 8 GB ram and keep the SATA 2 bios I have (because of SSD)

I currently have a T7700 with 4GB ram.

I think the hardware mod is needed for the 1066 FSB but the rest about the bios I'm not sure...


What ram module (need to be 4 GB each) do you recommend for 1066 FSB processor?

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#205 Post by RMSMajestic » Tue Jun 09, 2015 11:59 pm

@ELCouz
I don't recommend 4GB*2 unless you absolutely need it.
The price for a pair is INSANE (~100-150 USD), about the same as the price of a good T500/W500/T400
If you are not a 4:3 die-hard, better upgrade to W500/T400, it's much less of a hassle
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

ELCouz
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:37 am
Location: QC/CAN

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#206 Post by ELCouz » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:35 am

RMSMajestic wrote:@ELCouz
I don't recommend 4GB*2 unless you absolutely need it.
The price for a pair is INSANE (~100-150 USD), about the same as the price of a good T500/W500/T400
If you are not a 4:3 die-hard, better upgrade to W500/T400, it's much less of a hassle
I really like the 16:10 screen 1920x1600 ... it feels like a downgrade going to a T400/T500.. :(

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#207 Post by RMSMajestic » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:30 am

ELCouz wrote: I really like the 16:10 screen 1920x1600 ... it feels like a downgrade going to a T400/T500.. :(
W500 also have 16:10 WUXGA(1920*1200 screen). Really pointless if you upgrade yout T61 to 8GB just for a dual core P9700 (but for quad core you also have instability issues)

The only thing I disklike about W500 is it's USB ports design.
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#208 Post by thinkpadcollection » Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:24 pm

I need to understand the reason for cutting a trace and solder a wire is for?

My plan is permenant 800fsb with bios mod flashed and C2D (not C2Q) CPU swapped.

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#209 Post by RMSMajestic » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:10 pm

thinkpadcollection wrote:I need to understand the reason for cutting a trace and solder a wire is for?

My plan is permenant 800fsb with bios mod flashed and C2D (not C2Q) CPU swapped.
reason for cutting the wire: prevent CPU to send BSEL[1] signal to North Bridge BSEL[1]. That is because if north bridge BSEL[1] receives anything other than a H signal, it will refuse to boot. A 1066FSB CPU will send a L to north bridge, and we don't want that.
reason for solder a wire: to send a H signal to north bridge and deceit it. cos after the trace is cut, there is nothing to send the north bridge BSEL[1] signals, and it will refuse to boot as well.
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 809
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: Install a 1066MHz FSB CPU on T61 (including Core 2 Quad)

#210 Post by thinkpadcollection » Wed Jun 10, 2015 5:30 pm

This is all good but idea is extra low watts concept, with under clocked 25w processors P8700 running 1.9GHz at 800fsb and P9600 running 2.0GHz at 800fsb. I have couple 1066fsb C2D processors for testing to see this works at 800fsb with modified bios flashed.

That is the reason I need to understand better or something different to modify.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests