Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T61 cpu swap

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
greenroost14
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Derby, Kansas

T61 cpu swap

#1 Post by greenroost14 » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:24 pm

So I put an intel t9400 replacing the t7300 and for some reason when i try boot up the fan spins for a bit then quits and the only icons i see on the little bar thing on the bottom would be the batter and the other one on the left of it. BTW I put Artic silver 5 as Thermal compound would that be a problem?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20658
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T61 cpu swap

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:27 pm

Wrong CPU. You'll want a T8100, T8300, T9300, T9500 or X9000, depending on your budget.
Best bang for your buck is the T9300.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

greenroost14
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Derby, Kansas

Re: T61 cpu swap

#3 Post by greenroost14 » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:29 pm

how is it wrong?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! :( :( :(

dogbarber
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

Re: T61 cpu swap

#4 Post by dogbarber » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:32 pm

greenroost14 wrote:So I put an intel t9400 replacing the t7300 and for some reason when i try boot up the fan spins for a bit then quits and the only icons i see on the little bar thing on the bottom would be the batter and the other one on the left of it. BTW I put Artic silver 5 as Thermal compound would that be a problem?
Most folk in these parts recommend the t9300. just put a 7700 in mine.
Nokia 920 Windows 8 phone
Dell Latitude E5500
Ideapad P500
Thinkpad R52
Thinkpad T61 ---> Intel 520 120G SSD, 1 Tb WD Blue Scorpion 12.5mm hard drive, Middleton BIOS, 4 Gigs Ram, Intel 6200 wireless N, T7700 processor.

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2999
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: T61 cpu swap

#5 Post by Neil » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:36 pm

greenroost14 wrote:how is it wrong?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! :( :( :(
Wrong bus speed for the T61...

http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/518/In ... GA%29.html
Last edited by Neil on Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Collection = T430 - T500 - R400 - X300 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - R61 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P

greenroost14
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Derby, Kansas

Re: T61 cpu swap

#6 Post by greenroost14 » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:37 pm

oh... does this forum have a trade/sale section?

Neil
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2999
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: Paragould AR USA

Re: T61 cpu swap

#7 Post by Neil » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:38 pm

Yup...it's called "Marketplace".
Collection = T430 - T500 - R400 - X300 - T61 (14" WXGA+) - R61 (15" SXGA+) - X40 - T43p - T43 - T42p - A30P

dogbarber
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:48 pm
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

Re: T61 cpu swap

#8 Post by dogbarber » Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:41 pm

purchased my 7700 from user TuuS. Drop'm a pm.
Nokia 920 Windows 8 phone
Dell Latitude E5500
Ideapad P500
Thinkpad R52
Thinkpad T61 ---> Intel 520 120G SSD, 1 Tb WD Blue Scorpion 12.5mm hard drive, Middleton BIOS, 4 Gigs Ram, Intel 6200 wireless N, T7700 processor.

greenroost14
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:42 am
Location: Derby, Kansas

Re: T61 cpu swap

#9 Post by greenroost14 » Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:38 pm

So after I replaced the cpu with original it is still doing the same thing. Did something happen???

jcvjcvjcvjcv
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 751
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: T61 cpu swap

#10 Post by jcvjcvjcvjcv » Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:45 am

Did it work before you swapped anything? Why bother replacing the T7300 with the T7700 anyway?
W520
T61

Medessec
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1191
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Chico, California
Contact:

Re: T61 cpu swap

#11 Post by Medessec » Sun Mar 16, 2014 4:18 pm

Are you sure you properly installed it, using a flathead screwdriver to lock the CPU in the socket? If you leave it unlocked, the CPU won't post. I've made this mistake a couple of times.

But installing a different CPU and powering on the board shouldn't break the board. Just make sure everything's in right.
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.

TuuS
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2064
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:41 pm
Location: Hockessin, Delaware

Re: T61 cpu swap

#12 Post by TuuS » Thu Mar 20, 2014 1:01 am

When you installed the old chip, did you use fresh thermal paste? Without it the chip could overheat in seconds.
Why bother replacing the T7300 with the T7700 anyway?
It's 20% faster than the T7300 and inexpensive, but the T7300 isn't a bad chip, they make a nice upgrade for some of the single core celeron laptops that you can buy for as little as $100 and with a $4 cpu upgrade (T7300) you'd actually have a useable laptop.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 29 guests