Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T61 cpu in a T60?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20665
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T61 cpu in a T60?

#31 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Jul 06, 2015 3:53 pm

Need to go a step back in history, since I just remembered that phlash16.exe requires DOS, not Windows.
Make a DOS-bootable USB stick using e.g. Rufus: https://rufus.akeo.ie/
Copy those extracted files from .rar onto it (including the renamed BIOS.WPH).
Then insert the USB stick, boot the laptop and immediately press F12.
Select Boot from USB-HDD.
You'll be booting into DOS, where it might ask for UK- or US-English keyboard.
Type phlash16.exe and hit Enter.
And done!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes)

mbr12
Freshman Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:23 am
Location: Meredith, NH

Re: T61 cpu in a T60?

#32 Post by mbr12 » Mon Jul 06, 2015 5:25 pm

I just installed the cpu and N adapter. No error code and the device manager recognizes the hardware changes.
Go figure.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests