Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
thinkpac
Freshman Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:17 pm
Location: Rockville, MD

Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#1 Post by thinkpac » Sun Apr 02, 2017 12:44 am

One day last week I came home to my T60 making a loud grinding noise. I shut it down, then tried to boot it up again, and got a "Fan error" message and it shut down.

So I got a new MCF-210PAM05 fan, which is the correct type of fan for the T60 and installed it. When I turn on the computer, I can feel the air blowing out of the vent, so the fan seems to work, but I still get the "Fan error" message and the computer shuts down.

Any idea why this is happening? Do I need to just get another replacement fan and see if it works?

Brad
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 1852
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:41 am
Location: Long Island New York

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#2 Post by Brad » Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:46 am

Sorry you are having trouble.

Usually you can continue with the boot process after a fan error message by pressing ESC.

As to why the error continues after you replaced the fan it could be a motherboard issue or a compatibility issue with your replacement fan.

Brad
Long Island New York
T43p 2669-Q1U, A22p's UTU A21p HXU
Transnote, 770's 8AU, 600, 701CS, 755CD

thinkpac
Freshman Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:17 pm
Location: Rockville, MD

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#3 Post by thinkpac » Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:52 am

What if I'm wrong and the fan isn't actually working, or if it stops working after I press ESC - could that cause any damage to the CPU?

Brad
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 1852
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 12:41 am
Location: Long Island New York

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#4 Post by Brad » Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:38 am

I don't know. I do know that CPU's are probably a lot less expensive than fans for your ThinkPad at the moment and that most likely will not change.

Brad
Long Island New York
T43p 2669-Q1U, A22p's UTU A21p HXU
Transnote, 770's 8AU, 600, 701CS, 755CD

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1495
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#5 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:11 am

thinkpac wrote:What if I'm wrong and the fan isn't actually working, or if it stops working after I press ESC - could that cause any damage to the CPU?
The fan is working as it's spinning and you can feel it blowing air.

Here's what I see as possible causes:

1. replacement fan's RPM circuit is malfunctioning or the wire is broken
2. the laptop's RPM sense circuit is malfunctioning
3. Both are working, but the laptop is actually detecting an irregularity in the fan's spin (problem with the fan's drive circuit)

If the laptop allows you to bypass the "Fan Error" with Esc, you can monitor the laptop's fan speed and CPU temperature, and set up an alarm that sounds when a set temperature is exceeded. IIRC IBM-ECW has such a feature. You can do this while waiting for another fan to arrive.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

thinkpac
Freshman Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:17 pm
Location: Rockville, MD

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#6 Post by thinkpac » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:14 am

I just tried pressing Esc on the Fan Error, and then it continued but quickly printed out "Fan Error" again. I pressed Esc again and it went into the Windows bootup. But then I didn't feel any air coming out of the vent anymore and I chickened out and did a hard power off for fear of damaging the CPU without the fan running.

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#7 Post by jaspen-meyer » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:15 am

The cpu has a thermometer inside itself. The cpu will shut itself off when it reaches it's T Junction temperature, which is around 100 C.

I run all of my thinkpads with the fan turned off. Having said that, the T60 with ATI graphics runs very hot (75-80C for temp4) with the fan off.
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

thinkpac
Freshman Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:17 pm
Location: Rockville, MD

Re: Still get a "Fan error" after replacing fan

#8 Post by thinkpac » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:17 am

jaspen-meyer wrote:The cpu has a thermometer inside itself. The cpu will shut itself off when it reaches it's T Junction temperature, which is around 100 C.

I run all of my thinkpads with the fan turned off. Having said that, the T60 with ATI graphics runs very hot (75-80C for temp4) with the fan off.
Oh you do? Does your CPU ever shut itself off?

My T60 has the ATI graphics. I'd like to run a chkdsk (since I did the hard power off) and then copy several GB worth of files to a USB drive before I can get another fan to try.

EDIT: Thanks for mentioning that! I booted up without the fan and I can run Windows with the CPU around 45 C and the GPU around 65 C.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests