Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
zoltan87
Freshman Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:16 pm
Location: Plymouth, United Kingdom

Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#1 Post by zoltan87 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:44 am

So I have a T60 with 2.3 ghz core 2 duo, 3 gb ram, ati x1400 and a 256gb ssd. Whenever I want to use google maps in my browser (mainly opera, but checked chrome as well), it's so so and unresponsive, that it is practically unusable. Takes like 10 seconds every zoom in/out click ro resize the map, and scrolling is almost impossible, it just doesn't register when I try to move the map.

I have no idea why this is happening, task manager doesn't show overly high cpu usage, and there is plenty of ram free too. It feels like if I was using a computer from the 90s. I understand that this machine is 10 year old now, but these specs are not that bad, and on most other sites I can use it just fine. Youtube and eBay are pretty slow too, but I can still use them just fine with patience. But this Google maps just completely kills my machine. It's so frustrating.

Could any of you check out google maps in your browser (just zoom in and out, and move around the map) so I could have a better idea whether I have a specific issue with my machine (maybe virus?), or this is how google maps works on every T60, meaning it's virtually broken for everyone.

theterminator93
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 867
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio, United States

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#2 Post by theterminator93 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:05 am

Try disabling GPU acceleration in the web browser to see what happens. The X1400 is ancient by today's standards. Even my T601F, with a 3.1 GHz Core 2 and the NVS 140m (which is 2x as powerful as the X1400) is a bit sluggish in Maps... :(
Daily: T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T420 i7-2640M·NVS 4200m·IPS FHD | X220 i7-2640M | T601F T9900·NVS 140M·IPS UXGA
Wife's: T61p T9500·2010 FX570m·WUXGA | X220T i7-2640M
Others: T61p·61·43·42p|X41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote|380D|365XD|701C|755C

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#3 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:47 pm

Also, try the lite mode. I found that working so much better in my T43p.
Hmm but it is strange though. Yes I do encounter stutter with UXGA resolution and Fire GL V3200, as well as CPU maxing out, but it is nothing that is unusable, even in the regular mode and no satellite. I am using default settings by Microsoft Edge.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

geka3250
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#4 Post by geka3250 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:47 pm

What OS and Chrome version are you using?
It seems Chrome 5X...6X dropped GPU acceleration for ATI Radeon X-series. I recommend Chrome 44.0.2403.157 at Windows 7 and you will be able to use X1300...V5250 videocards in browser. Any version of Chrome Portable can be found here
And dont forget to Enable "Override software rendering list" in chrome://flags
340CSE | 380XD | 770X | 770Z | 390E | 600E | 600X | T23 | X30 | T30 | T43 | T60p | X200T

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:06 pm

In my opinion, Edge is so much better for the older hardware - if you want Windows 10, which not everyone wants and not every computer works (anything older than T43 won't)
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

zoltan87
Freshman Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:16 pm
Location: Plymouth, United Kingdom

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#6 Post by zoltan87 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 1:39 pm

I have Win 8.1 64 bit on my T60. I will never upgrade to win 10, if win 8.1 will become unusable, I will switch to linux.
My browser is Opera. the newest version (48.0), but encountered the same issue on the latest version of Chrome too.
I tried disabling gpu acceleration, and also lite mode, unfortunately they have no effect on Google Maps. That one site just stays unusable and completely unresponsive. Very strange.

geka3250
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#7 Post by geka3250 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:03 pm

zoltan87,
Benchmark your browser here. What is your score?
My T60p can do it in about 15 seconds:
Image
Have no problems with Google Maps.
340CSE | 380XD | 770X | 770Z | 390E | 600E | 600X | T23 | X30 | T30 | T43 | T60p | X200T

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#8 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 3:02 pm

On this same computer (Absolutely maxed out OptiPlex 755), Edge crushes chrome with less than 1/2 of the time, maybe it's because recent versions of Windows purposely makes third party stuff slower, because I felt that with Media player classic and VLC player
https://imgur.com/a/HHdJB
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

sdfox7
Freshman Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:06 pm
Location: Danbury, CT

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#9 Post by sdfox7 » Sat Oct 28, 2017 9:39 pm

Just a suggestion, you may have a better experience using Google Earth, I use it on XP with my T41 with no issues. The T41 is older and has much lower specs than the T60.

Google Earth requires minimum XP SP3 to communicate properly with servers. You can try one of the following flavors:

Google Earth 5.2.1.1588
Google Earth 6.2.2.6613
Google Earth 7.1.8.3036

Image
IBM ThinkPad 600E 2645-8AU (Win98), T23 2647-4MU (Win2000), T41 2373-7FU (WinXP)
My name is Stephen Fox. I am a '18 BBA and '20 MBA student at WCSU.
Disable Google Chrome End of Support Infobar on Windows XP/Vista

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6969
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#10 Post by dr_st » Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:57 am

I use Pale Moon 26.5.0 on WinXP on my T60 with ATI X1400, SXGA+ (1400x1050), 2GB RAM, ATI X1400, full HW acceleration enabled.

Google Maps is quite smooth; I experience none of the problems reported by the zoltan87.

Must be a software issue.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 988
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#11 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 6:49 pm

Tried T43 even with X300 and the latest version of Windows 10 and Edge, the CPU usage is high, but is pretty responsive after the framework fully loads. Zooming takes time to load, but scrolling doesn't lag much even when it is loading.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

zoltan87
Freshman Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:16 pm
Location: Plymouth, United Kingdom

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#12 Post by zoltan87 » Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:31 pm

Wow, something is definitely not right. I just run a quick test on the mentioned webpage by geka3250, I have no patience to wait till the end, but here are some "interesting" stats:

FPS 2 >>>> WHY IS MY FPS SO LOW???
Total billboard draws: 2200
Average draw duration: 286ms >>>> THIS IS LIKE 26 TIMES SLOWER than geka3250's 11ms result?!?!?!?!

Or am I misunderstanding something?
Anyway I gotta go to bed now, will come back tomorrow for further investigation. It feels like something is spectacularly messed up on my T60.

Edit: I tend to use Google Earth as it was recommended here, that program works fine (although had to change the opengl mode to directx, as it didn't even start until that point).

geka3250
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#13 Post by geka3250 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 5:39 am

zoltan87,
CPU is doing all page rendering while GPU does nothing. This is your problem. Try Chrome version 44
340CSE | 380XD | 770X | 770Z | 390E | 600E | 600X | T23 | X30 | T30 | T43 | T60p | X200T

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18274
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#14 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:08 am

Which CPU?
T2700 2.3GHz (core duo)
T7600 2.3GHz (core2 duo)
Not that there is much difference...

zoltan87
Freshman Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:16 pm
Location: Plymouth, United Kingdom

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#15 Post by zoltan87 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:54 am

Holy cow!!! You were right guys, the versions of my browsers is the problem. In the newest versions my gpu is more than likely not supported, as I downloaded Chrome 44, and Google Maps works perfectly! What a bummer, looks like my old T60 is really getting obsolete.

Now I just have to find out which is the latest Opera version, that still supports the Ati x1400, and download that (hopefully it's still available somewhere). I didn't know that web browsers just drop support for older gpus every now and then. It's a real shame, as I am sure security wise it's not recommended to use out of date web browsers. But looks like I don't really have choice. Also I am surprised that nobody (at least to my knowledge) has brought up this issue before, as It's been going on for quite a while now on my machine, but I just kept ignoring it and rather used Google Earth.

Oh, and my cpu is T7600, 2.33 ghz.

geka3250
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#16 Post by geka3250 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:27 am

Yes, developers are all the time dropping legacy GPU support in new browsers making users buy new hardware. There are best browsers supporing legacy GPUs in my opinion:
-T42/T43/Z60 with R9600/X300/V3200 - Chrome 33(unfortunately Google dropped extensions support fot it);
-T60/Z61/R60 with X1300/1400/V5200 - Chrome 44
-T61/R61 with Quadro 140/570 - Firefox 40...50(it also can do hardware h264 decoding up to 720p60/1080p30)
-T400/T500/R500/X200 with MHD4500 - IE11/Edge (full hardware h264 1080p60 support!)
Not sure about T60/T61/X60/X61 with Intel GMA950/X3100 but as I remember Chrome 33 was fine there.
Same as Chrome versions of Opera also should do hardware acceleration, but a bit slower.
340CSE | 380XD | 770X | 770Z | 390E | 600E | 600X | T23 | X30 | T30 | T43 | T60p | X200T

zoltan87
Freshman Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:16 pm
Location: Plymouth, United Kingdom

Re: Practically unusable Google Maps on T60! Why?

#17 Post by zoltan87 » Thu Nov 02, 2017 12:55 pm

Looks like all is good now. Opera version 44 is also nice and fast on my T60. I run that speed test a few times, and it consistently scored between 21-24 seconds (once 35 though, not sure what that was). Google Maps is fine too, eBay feels a lot more responsive too. I had no idea a was struggling with a browser, that didn't even support the hardware, I was running it on. I feel pretty stupid now. So glad I decided to post here, otherwise I just would have kept using it the way it was (and it was a nightmare).

One thing to add about Opera, version 44 can't synchronise with the newer versions, so if one want's to use it, he has to set up all his bookmarks/passwords from the ground again :(. Also it keeps auto-updating itself, and there is no easy way to turn that off. I had to google it, and found a "hack" (had to make a new environment variable called "OPERA_AUTOUPDATE_DISABLED" in control panel).

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pete B and 27 guests