Good for my frankenpad

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
nightninja96
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

Good for my frankenpad

#1 Post by nightninja96 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 8:04 pm

Hello, I can't find a bios for my frankenpad. My frankenpad features a 14.1" 4:3 screen and an integrated intel graphics card. I want to install a c2q q9100 but I can't find the modified bios for my machine.
Thank you for your help

el-sahef
Sophomore Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 6:20 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#2 Post by el-sahef » Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:12 am

https://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/172581

They all work on any T61 with Intel graphics.
T70 15" 4:3 QXGA @ daylight LED, Core i7 7700HQ, 16 GB RAM, SSD
X62t, SXGA+ @ daylight LED,
T70 i5 WUXGA RGB-LED
600X @ Ivy Bridge Core i7 1,9 GHz

nightninja96
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#3 Post by nightninja96 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:23 am

Which bios is the best bios for me, I am getting a c2q q9100.
Thanks

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#4 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:32 am

nightninja96 wrote:
Sun Oct 29, 2017 9:23 am
Which bios is the best bios for me, I am getting a c2q q9100.
Thanks
Ok, You have to fill out the following:
Do you want a quad core: yes.
Do you want nVidia underclock: doesn't matter (would recommend standard voltage)
Do you want Active System Power Management: That is up to you!
Do you want nVidia overlock: doesn't matter (would recommend no)

Now pick a bios that fits the following specs above and install it!
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

nightninja96
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#5 Post by nightninja96 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:57 am

Ok, I picked the modded bios that best suits me, now I have to get the newest bios from lenovo. I have to flash the official (Lenovo bios) then re-flash my system with modded bios. I can't find a official bios for the t61 that supports non-widescreen.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#6 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:00 am

AFAIK, all T61's use the same BIOS, regardless of widescreen or not.
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

nightninja96
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:06 am
Location: Susquehanna Pa.

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#7 Post by nightninja96 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 12:49 pm

When I install the modified bios do I have to have my officially supported CPU in (t7200) or do I put my q9100 in before I install the modded bios?
Thanks

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1135
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#8 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sun Oct 29, 2017 1:39 pm

I doubt the machine will even boot with an unoffical CPU so installing without it would theoretically be impossible.
Welcome to the jungle, we have FrankenPads
If you want it you're going to bleed, but that is the price to pay
And you're a very rare mobo, very hard to get
You can see the blinky lights, but you won't get them for free.

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1474
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Good for my frankenpad

#9 Post by Cigarguy » Sun Oct 29, 2017 2:26 pm

Thinkpad4by3 wrote:
Sun Oct 29, 2017 1:39 pm
I doubt the machine will even boot with an unoffical CPU so installing without it would theoretically be impossible.
If one needs BIOS x to install CPU y, it would seems logical really. Otherwise there's no need to install said BIOS and CPU y is indeed supported.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Pete B and 12 guests