Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T6x+SSD & Windoze (7) SwapFile: Where ???

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16540
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T6x+SSD & Windoze (7) SwapFile: Where ???

#1 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:56 pm

Annecy wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:47 pm
Is PUTTING a SWAPFILE on an/y SSD (ever) "worth it" :?: :o
Absolutely not, IMO/IME.

I haven't had a swap file on an SSD-powered system for years now and the world hasn't come to an end.

RAM is inexpensive nowadays. Max out the system(s) and forget all about swap files.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16540
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: T6x+SSD & Windoze (7) SwapFile: Where ???

#2 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:07 pm

Annecy wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:01 pm
I don't see/understand how ...
simply running off of an SSD
would make killing-off the SWAPFILE ... viable :?:[/i][/color]
The fact that you don't understand how something occurs doesn't take anything away from a validity of the practice itself. Nothing on this planet happens "by itself", there's a lot more involved in a *proper* SSD system setup than just getting rid of a swap file.
My T420s W7x64Pro has 8gb RAM ...
I might give the NO SWAPFILE experience a try/chance ...
on that Thinkpad :idea:[/size]
Presuming that it's also running an SSD, try it. You may like it.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF, X60T

Abused daily: X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

ac12
Sophomore Member
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 am
Location: San Mateo, CA

Re: T6x+SSD & Windoze (7) SwapFile: Where ???

#3 Post by ac12 » Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:56 pm

Swap comes into play when your OS and applications run out of physical memory.
So if you have 4GB of RAM and have a bunch of stuff running at the same time, you could be using much more than 4GB of RAM. The system will "swap" RAM to/from the drive, virtual RAM.

If you have a LOT of RAM, or more RAM than the OS and programs use, then the need for a swap file is reduced/eliminated.
But there were programs that would not properly function without a swap file, for whatever reason.

I have not done this for a long while, but I recall there was a way to monitor swap file usage.

For spinning HD, the optimal was to put the swap file on a separate drive.
But with SSD, there isn't the latency problem and head contention of spinning HD, so I would put the swap file on the SSD.

Raidriar
Freshman Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:43 am
Location: Richmond, VA

Re: T6x+SSD & Windoze (7) SwapFile: Where ???

#4 Post by Raidriar » Thu Aug 23, 2018 9:54 am

Since you have T61p, increase ram to 8GB, and disable page file entirely. Gain space on your SSD and reduce writes. Just don't go crazy on the number of tabs you have open.
Thinkpads: 760XD, 600E, T23, T30, T43p, T61p
Alienwares: M17x R1, M17x R2, M18x R1, M18x R2, Alienware 18
Razers: Razer Blade Pro 2017 FHD

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests