Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Modem troubles

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Modem troubles

#1 Post by GunslingerThink » Sat Oct 20, 2018 2:15 pm

I have been testing the T61's modem and found out that it's unable to connect with other modems. The other modems are 100% operational because there are no problems connecting them with each other.

I have tried different speed, data bits, parity, etc settings with no success. I also tried different cables and even tried replacing the modem card with another one. I thought that it might be lack of contact in the RJ11 connector on the motherboard, but other motherboard's connector doesn't seem to work either.

The modem itself if somehow operational: it responds to AT commands, it makes noises (as if nothing were connected to it) when I'm trying to answer a call. But no actual connection establishes.

The physical connection is straight - just a cable between two modems, no telephone swith station. The software I use is HyperTerminal. Driver version is 7.70.
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

Dekks
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:38 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Modem troubles

#2 Post by Dekks » Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:01 am

enabled in BIOS? damaged connector?
Home Win10/i5 Arch//i3-gaps T61//GNOME 3/X230 Tablet //Spectrwm X61 Bunsenlabs 9.4/X32/X201i
Work - Win7/X220T BunsenLabs 9.4 T60p
Retired T60/X30/X31/X61S RIP R61/T400/T21/T43/X61T/X200T

Screamer
Sophomore Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Modem troubles

#3 Post by Screamer » Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:39 am

Did you leave the black 2-pin connector dangling out? If I am not wrong, it is supposed to be connected to the modem card. Otherwise, the RJ11 port wouldn't be responding to any modem connected to it.

Additionally, what operating system are you using for this modem? I can't find the modem's driver for Windows XP Professional x64, only 2000, XP (32-bit), and Vista (32/64-bit) seems to be supported with that driver version.

Is the modem card a Conexant D110? If it is, I could try searching another driver that might fix this problem.

GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Re: Modem troubles

#4 Post by GunslingerThink » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:05 am

Dekks wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:01 am
enabled in BIOS?
Yes.
Dekks wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:01 am
damaged connector?
Maybe. How do I test it?
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Re: Modem troubles

#5 Post by GunslingerThink » Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:18 am

Screamer wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:39 am
Did you leave the black 2-pin connector dangling out?
The connector is plugged, I double checked it.
Screamer wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:39 am
I can't find the modem's driver for Windows XP Professional x64, only 2000, XP (32-bit), and Vista (32/64-bit) seems to be supported with that driver version.
It is most probably the Vista driver. It's this one as far as I remember: https://thinkpads.com/support/Thinkpad- ... ma13ww.exe
Screamer wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 7:39 am
Is the modem card a Conexant D110? If it is, I could try searching another driver that might fix this problem.
I don't know. It displays as "ThinkPad Modem" in device manager. The "driver provider" is "CXT", maybe that means "Conexant"? I'll try to examine the card itself next time I disassemble the laptop.
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

Screamer
Sophomore Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:15 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Modem troubles

#6 Post by Screamer » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:04 pm

GunslingerThink wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:18 am
I don't know. It displays as "ThinkPad Modem" in device manager. The "driver provider" is "CXT", maybe that means "Conexant"? I'll try to examine the card itself next time I disassemble the laptop.
Yes, CXT is short for Conexant. The 'ThinkPad Modem' is just some simplified name that wouldn't tell whether if the modem is a D110, unfortunately.

Although when I looked at the driver files and compared them, it seems like you do have a D110 modem card. I am suspecting a driver issue, based on this.
GunslingerThink wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:18 am
It is most probably the Vista driver. It's this one as far as I remember: https://thinkpads.com/support/Thinkpad- ... ma13ww.exe
Alright. If it is the Vista 64-bit driver, try the older Dell driver (7.58) and see if anything changes with this driver.

GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Re: Modem troubles

#7 Post by GunslingerThink » Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:43 am

Screamer wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:04 pm
Alright. If it is the Vista 64-bit driver, try the older Dell driver (7.58) and see if anything changes with this driver.
Nothing has changed.
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1979
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Modem troubles

#8 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:01 am

Try disabling the 56k modes, I guess? There should be an AT command that forces V.34 (33.6kbps and lower). It's been over 10 years since I last dabbled in dial-up. Maybe this can help.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Dekks
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 9:38 am
Location: Birmingham, UK

Re: Modem troubles

#9 Post by Dekks » Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:39 am

GunslingerThink wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:05 am
Dekks wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:01 am
damaged connector?
Maybe. How do I test it?
Check for blocked or broken tracks, or anything restricting the connector being pushed fully in.
Home Win10/i5 Arch//i3-gaps T61//GNOME 3/X230 Tablet //Spectrwm X61 Bunsenlabs 9.4/X32/X201i
Work - Win7/X220T BunsenLabs 9.4 T60p
Retired T60/X30/X31/X61S RIP R61/T400/T21/T43/X61T/X200T

GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Re: Modem troubles

#10 Post by GunslingerThink » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:42 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:01 am
There should be an AT command that forces V.34 (33.6kbps and lower).
Tried this one: "AT+MS=V34,1,75,33600,75,33600". The modems responded OK, but it didn't help.
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Re: Modem troubles

#11 Post by GunslingerThink » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:44 pm

Dekks wrote:
Mon Oct 22, 2018 8:39 am
Check for blocked or broken tracks, or anything restricting the connector being pushed fully in.
I tested the connection from the 2-pin modem card connector to the farthest RJ11 connector of the cable with a multimeter. It's OK.
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

GunslingerThink
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:17 am
Location: Siberia, Russia

Re: Modem troubles

#12 Post by GunslingerThink » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:50 pm

Just tested the modem on my other T61 unit. Installed the very same XPx64 and the Screamer's driver onto it and tried to connect - no success. Then I installed a regular XPx86 with x86 driver - no success again. I don't know what to think.
  • T61 NVIDIA Quadro NVS 140M SXGA+
  • T61 Intel GMA X3100 XGA

Post Reply

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests