Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T-61 Reinstall Vista...

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#1 Post by inHaliburton » Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:14 pm

I have a T61 that I bought used years ago and am just getting around to using. Has a Vista Product Key on label on bottom of computer. When booting, message "Activate Windows now." After entering key, message: Product key won't work with this version of Windows Vista. You must either run Windows Vista Setup or enter a Windows Vista Home Premium product key."

I don't have any disks.

Ultimately, I want to end up with Windows 10 OS. Any help would be appreciated.

Regards, Paul.

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#2 Post by inHaliburton » Sun Jul 28, 2019 12:16 pm

I just notice message in bottom right corner:
Windows Vista
Build 6002
This copy of Windows is not genuine.

TinkerMan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:02 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#3 Post by TinkerMan » Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:44 pm

Win10 PRO is about 16 euros on LVLgo. Com
W530, 3630QM, 32GB, K2000M
P1, XEON 2176, 32GB ECC, P2000, IPS
X230, 3320M, 16GB, HD4000, IPS
T601F X9000, 8GB, X3100, UXGA FlexView 1600x1200
T61 14" 4:3, T9500, 8GB, NVS140M
T60 14" 4:3, T7600, 3GB, GMA950
P71, 7700HQ, 16GB, P600, IPS
X201, R61i, T430s, T43p

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1299
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#4 Post by TPFanatic » Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:07 pm

You can get 10 licensed and activated from a licensed Win 7 install, flash Middleton's BIOS on the T61 and then install Windows 7 from a set of recovery discs, with Middleton's SLIC 2.1 Windows 7 will be licensed and activated. Run the Windows 10 upgrade tool to install 10 from 7, as 10 is installing from a fully licensed 7, the 10 will be licensed as well, permanently.
lenovo "Super" T420 i7 2670qm WQHD 16GB
lenovo T500 P9700 Radeon 3650 WUXGA 8GB
lenovo T601F T7500 NVS 140m SXGA+ 8GB

Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry.

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#5 Post by inHaliburton » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:58 pm

TPFanatic wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 6:07 pm
You can get 10 licensed and activated from a licensed Win 7 install, flash Middleton's BIOS on the T61 and then install Windows 7 from a set of recovery discs, with Middleton's SLIC 2.1 Windows 7 will be licensed and activated. Run the Windows 10 upgrade tool to install 10 from 7, as 10 is installing from a fully licensed 7, the 10 will be licensed as well, permanently.
Thank you TPFanatic for that useful info. I've been reading about Middleton's BIOS and tried installing on the T-61, but in the "instructions" it said not advisable on a T-61, so I'm leaving it for another day.

I need to purchase a legal version of Windows 7, likely Pro. Where do you recommend I purchase? I'm in Canada.

My T61 has a Toshiba SSD 128-ish GB.

Regards, Paul.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20408
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#6 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:24 am

Run Lenovo's BIOS first, then M's BIOS #1.iso (both iso's included in download), then install any (pref. 64-bit) W7 from a Lenovo Recovery set, then "upgrade" to WX.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#7 Post by inHaliburton » Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:50 am

Thank you for that info, RealBlackStuff. I'll give it a try.

My purpose for the T-61 is I'm a ham radio operator and want to be able to control my transceiver (Icom IC-7100) via the laptop. The program I'll be using is called, TR4W and is available at www.tr4w.net

I'm only interesting in having tr4w operate in CW and SSB modes, not digital modes. The software only requires a USB A+B cable between the transceiver and T-61.

I mention this only because there may be hams on this forum.

I love Thinkpads like many love antique cars.

Am looking for a Thinkpad that has 4:3 aspect ratio and can run Windows 7 or newer.

Best regards,

Paul.
Picton, ON Canada

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20408
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:27 pm

That's called a FrankenPad or T601F.
It's a modded 15" T60 chassis/case with 4:3 screen, which has a T61 motherboard with Middleton BIOS in it.
LCD-options: XGA, SXGA+, UXGA (CCFL or LED), QXGA
Also have a look here: https://www.theboardroom.info/franken_pad.html
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#9 Post by inHaliburton » Tue Jul 30, 2019 6:38 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:27 pm
That's called a FrankenPad or T601F.
It's a modded 15" T60 chassis/case with 4:3 screen, which has a T61 motherboard with Middleton BIOS in it.
LCD-options: XGA, SXGA+, UXGA (CCFL or LED), QXGA
Also have a look here: https://www.theboardroom.info/franken_pad.html
I appreciate the info and help RealBlackStuff.

I picked-up a T410 from a bucko in Markham area today. Absolutely PRISTINE. No marks anywhere. even on the bottom. This thing musta come from a guy who never used it and just sat on a shelf. Not even dusty. He gets them direct from Lenovo and this one has both W7 and W10 both with product code code stickers on the bottom from Lenovo. Am going to save with Macrium Reflect on a separate drive so I can easily go back to the virgin OS.

Had to leave my T-61 with him. It's really messed up. He's going to put a legit copy of W7 on it with SSD and ship it back to me.

New battery from Lenoge arrived today for the T-61.

These are exciting times...

Regards, Paul.
in Picton, ON
Canada

ac12
Sophomore Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 2:06 am
Location: San Mateo, CA

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#10 Post by ac12 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:44 pm

Paul,
I think Win10 would be pushing the T61 a bit.
I am running Win7 on my T61.
The big problem is finding Win10 drivers for the T61. Because of that I did not upgrade the T61 to Win10.

73s
Gary
KH6JRB

Have not turned on a rig in years.
Distracted with other hobbies.

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#11 Post by inHaliburton » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:23 pm

ac12 wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:44 pm
Paul,
I think Win10 would be pushing the T61 a bit.
I am running Win7 on my T61.
The big problem is finding Win10 drivers for the T61. Because of that I did not upgrade the T61 to Win10.

73s
Gary
KH6JRB

Have not turned on a rig in years.
Distracted with other hobbies.
I hear you Gary re other hobbies. I can't put up any antennas, so gotta do the mobile thing. Icom IC-7100, a bunch of Hustler whips. Also have a Hi-Q screwdriver antenna.

That's what Adam told me about the T-61. Not a good thing for W10, so he's installing W7 on a new SSD for me. My Crucial 240 went bananas and died.

Have a T410 sitting here I got yesterda, the battery is bonkers. I'm never upset or disappointed with computer gear and software because I expect it to not work properly when I receive. Has been that way since 1982. The stuff isn't any more reliable today than it was 40 years ago. I'm never disappointed. Life is ever thus...

73 Paul.
ve3zt/m

olddog
Freshman Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#12 Post by olddog » Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:25 pm

I acquired four T61 machines with SSDs in them, running Win10. No issues at all, and quite quick enough to run MS Office. They don't have fast CPUs, and nor do they have huge amounts of RAM, so not ideal for heavy surfing perhaps. But for word processing or spreadsheets or normal business tasks they are fine.

So don't be afraid of Win10 on a T61.

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#13 Post by inHaliburton » Thu Sep 26, 2019 11:11 am

Thanks for that olddog. I be one myself. I have not as yet dealt with the T-61. I did purchase a T-420 and love it. A better laptop than the t-61 in every way.

Regards, Paul.
in Picton, ON

inHaliburton
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 11:12 pm
Location: Haliburton, Ontario, Canada

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#14 Post by inHaliburton » Thu Sep 26, 2019 11:16 am

That's a good point KH6JRB regarding suitable W-10 drivers for the t-61.

Might be better to obtain (somehow) W-7. All I want to do is install TR4W.net contesting software for mobile contesting.
+++++++++++++++++++
ac12 wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:44 pm
Paul,
I think Win10 would be pushing the T61 a bit.
I am running Win7 on my T61.
The big problem is finding Win10 drivers for the T61. Because of that I did not upgrade the T61 to Win10.

73s
Gary
KH6JRB

Have not turned on a rig in years.
Distracted with other hobbies.

olddog
Freshman Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: T-61 Reinstall Vista...

#15 Post by olddog » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:36 am

It's not clear whether AC12 tried to install Win10 and ran into driver problems, or was worried he would have problems, so didn't try it.

Since somebody else did the installation on my machines, I don't know whether there were problems or not. All I can say is that Win10 works fine.

If you plan to surf the net, a T61 is OK, but not ideal (I have others running Puppy Linux and Haiku, as well as Win10), but they are fine for other tasks.

The T420, as a three generations later model, should be better!
inHaliburton wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 11:16 am
That's a good point KH6JRB regarding suitable W-10 drivers for the t-61.

Might be better to obtain (somehow) W-7. All I want to do is install TR4W.net contesting software for mobile contesting.
+++++++++++++++++++
ac12 wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 12:44 pm
Paul,
I think Win10 would be pushing the T61 a bit.
I am running Win7 on my T61.
The big problem is finding Win10 drivers for the T61. Because of that I did not upgrade the T61 to Win10.

73s
Gary
KH6JRB

Have not turned on a rig in years.
Distracted with other hobbies.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests