Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

How? To? Middleton?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Meeks
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:22 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

How? To? Middleton?

#1 Post by Meeks » Tue Apr 14, 2020 4:15 pm

Hi folks.
Although this is not the first time I’m dealing with iso images I’m standing on glue now. Could someone please explain me in detail how to do the Middleton BIOS update?

Thus far I’ve tried a bootable USB (with Rufus), a bootable CD with the iso file, all files burned on a cd and launching the executable and and and but nothing brings me further. Either the system (T61 8885-A26, Win10 32-Bit), nothing happens or I get an error the function was not done (updating the bios).

If someone would find the minutes to tell me exactly what do I have to do to get this done would be great and I’d owe you a beer...

Cheers,

>m

theterminator93
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1149
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#2 Post by theterminator93 » Tue Apr 14, 2020 6:09 pm

Did you burn the ISO as a single file to the CD, or did you write the ISO as an image using imaging software, such as ImgBurn?
T480 with T25 keyboard | T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T601F T9900·NVS 140m·LED AFFS UXGA
T420 IPS FHD | X220 IPS FHD | T61p·T61·43·42p|X220T·301·41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote
600|770Z|770E|760XD|760EL|365XD|701C|755C

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21545
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 15, 2020 1:11 am

For installation under Windows you need to have any 32-bit W7, not W10.
Use the likes of ImgBurn for making CD from M's ISO-files.
From my own experience: M's BIOS on Rufus/USB for some reason does not work on a T61, but does work on an X61.
YMMV.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Meeks
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:22 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#4 Post by Meeks » Wed Apr 15, 2020 2:23 am

Thanks for the tips!
I burned the iso alone on the cd and made it bootable. But the probable cause is I didn’t know this doesn’t work under W10. Somehow I never saw this info, duh. So: I need a 32-Bit W7 HDD and a bootable CD with iso for this, right? Might even have one lying around.

But how should I practically start this? Instructions say launching the winuptp.exe?

Cheers,

>m

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21545
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 15, 2020 4:33 am

Read the Installation on https://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Middleton%27s_BIOS
as well as the READ_ME!!!.txt from Middleton.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Meeks
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:22 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#6 Post by Meeks » Wed Apr 15, 2020 7:27 am

Yes,
instructions I’ve read many times over, also the wiki and crawled the threads through. The Win7 pint eluded me. M

I installed Win7 Pro 32-bit on a hdd, made three copies of CD:
1) with iso,
2) with all data under BIOS Update folder,
3) one with only the files under 32-bit folder.

Running winuptp.exe from 2&3 results in an error (Utility not run), booting from 1 doesn’t go anywhere.

However, if I run the winuptp directly from USB the whole bios update goes through and I get a message Update done. But check shows the BIOS is still the older one from March ending ww

Further ideas?

>m

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21545
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:37 am

If your 'old' BIOS is the same date/version as the Middleton one, you won't see any difference after the update.
You'll need to try an unauthorized wifi-card or check the SATA speed (should be SATA II) or install W7 from Lenovo Recovery, to check that M's BIOS is now running.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Meeks
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:22 am
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: How? To? Middleton?

#8 Post by Meeks » Fri Apr 17, 2020 2:53 am

Success!
Although the way was not as described elsewhere after performing the action on a T61p with old BIOS I can report that running the winuptp.exe from USB stick does the trick and updates the bios to Middleton.

Thanks!

>m

Post Reply

Return to “ThinkPad T60/T61 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 74 guests