Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
MEA707
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Seattle, WA

T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#1 Post by MEA707 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:51 am

Does anyone know if the T61 is capable of running DDR2 800MHz RAM at 800MHz or does it slow it down to 667MHz?

I have a T61 with the T9300 processor and am looking to upgrade the RAM, the prices between 667MHz and 800MHz are the same or very close, so I'm mainly just curious as to what it will actually run at if I install 800MHz RAM.
Lenovo ThinkPad T440p | Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.50 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21600
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:50 am

It will take both PC2-5300/DDR2-667 and PC2-6400/DDR2-800.
The PC2-6400 runs a bit cooler and is usually also a bit cheaper.
I never bothered to check at what speed T61-RAM runs.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2710
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#3 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Apr 23, 2020 2:39 am

It's DDR2-667 max. DDR2-800 RAM will still run at 667 on the Intel 965GM/PM chipset that the T61 uses.

The DDR2-800 RAM running cooler on the T61 sounds reasonable, as it's running slower than its rated speed.
Last edited by axur-delmeria on Thu Apr 23, 2020 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#4 Post by Cigarguy » Thu Apr 23, 2020 2:43 am

Even if you could run at 800 MHz doubt you notice any difference at all over 667 MHz. I'd look for something reliable in the capacity that I need.

MEA707
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#5 Post by MEA707 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:56 am

Thanks everyone for the feedback.

I currently have two 2GB 667MHz modules and am considering replacing them with two 4GB modules to extend the life of the laptop a few more years, even though they're quite expensive. May not make the most financial sense...

I did decide to make the jump to Linux (specifically Linux Mint) as I did not have much luck with Windows 10 on it, plus I'm not sure how much longer Microsoft will push Windows 10 updates to the T61.
Lenovo ThinkPad T440p | Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.50 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#6 Post by Cigarguy » Thu Apr 23, 2020 5:43 pm

I've been running Mint Cinnamon on a T61, with pretty much the same specs as yours, for about 2 years. Love it. Originally it had 4 GB RAM before I upgraded to 8 GB RAM. I have not noticed any difference with the RAM upgrade. I did it because I got the RAM for cheap and because I can. I don't need/use a lot of computing power on my laptops so YMMV.

MEA707
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#7 Post by MEA707 » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:06 pm

Cigarguy wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 5:43 pm
I've been running Mint Cinnamon on a T61, with pretty much the same specs as yours, for about 2 years. Love it. Originally it had 4 GB RAM before I upgraded to 8 GB RAM. I have not noticed any difference with the RAM upgrade. I did it because I got the RAM for cheap and because I can. I don't need/use a lot of computing power on my laptops so YMMV.
Good to meet another T61 Linux Mint user! I just did the install this January due to the Windows 7 End of Life. I found everything worked out of the box very well. I think the only ThinkPad-specific software I added was tp-smapi for power management.

Is there anything else you installed or would recommend to install specific to ThinkPads or the T61? The only function or piece of hardware that I can tell is not working is the Intel Turbo Memory, which was pretty much useless and now that I have an SSD is completely useless.

Regarding the memory, I have 8GB on its way, but sort of wish now I didn't bother after reading more and more how it won't really make a noticeable difference in performance. I've checked memory usage at random times and never got close to 4GB. Oh well, I was bored...
Lenovo ThinkPad T440p | Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.50 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21600
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:54 am

Dorronto is looking to buy 2x4GB for a T61: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=130483
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Natakranta
Freshman Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:48 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#9 Post by Natakranta » Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:32 am

@MEA707, hello fellow Mint user! :D That's a vary good choice for first touch with Linux, I hope you enjoy it. I run Mint or Mint with dual boot W10 on all my laptops and NUCs. I like it.
Have you installed tlp from the Software Manager? It is supposed to help a bit with extending battery life and gives good stats about battery with "sudo tlp stat".
Could you post where did you buy that 2x4GB DDR2 and if it works with your T61 when arrives? I will be looking for same upgrade for my T60 Frankenpad I'll be building soon with T61 motherboard.

MEA707
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#10 Post by MEA707 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:10 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:54 am
Dorronto is looking to buy 2x4GB for a T61: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=130483
Thanks, after I receive the kit I'll install it and then see how I feel about keeping it.
Natakranta wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:32 am
@MEA707, hello fellow Mint user! :D That's a vary good choice for first touch with Linux, I hope you enjoy it. I run Mint or Mint with dual boot W10 on all my laptops and NUCs. I like it.
Have you installed tlp from the Software Manager? It is supposed to help a bit with extending battery life and gives good stats about battery with "sudo tlp stat".
Could you post where did you buy that 2x4GB DDR2 and if it works with your T61 when arrives? I will be looking for same upgrade for my T60 Frankenpad I'll be building soon with T61 motherboard.
Ah yes I forgot about TLP! Yes I installed it along with TLPUI for the GUI interface. The battery in my T61 is shot, only has 49% of its original capacity.

I bought from this eBay listing but it looks like the seller ran out:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/254276389256

Surprised at how much of a hot commodity 4GB DDR2 still is.
Lenovo ThinkPad T440p | Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.50 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21600
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:02 am

I wonder how many of those (Chinese) eBay modules are real and not fakes.
They all seem to use the same pictures and many Chinamen sell under various different names as well.
NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff).
Ireland is on FULL lockdown till December 2020!
Covid-19: Mask it or Casket!
Check out The Boardroom for Mods and Other Services.

Natakranta
Freshman Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:48 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#12 Post by Natakranta » Sat Apr 25, 2020 6:30 am

Yes it's gambling, but at least with PayPal protection it's safer than casino :)
It just takes time to deliver, time to get refund, time for next order to arrive, and so on.
It's game for those who have time.

MEA707
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#13 Post by MEA707 » Sat Apr 25, 2020 1:53 pm

Counterfeit is definitely a concern...

Luckily this seller has many reviews the vast majority positive and offers free return shipping, otherwise I would have been much more hesitant to buy it. I'm not too concerned about the photos all being similar as they're probably all using stock photos from the manufacturer.

I'll inspect the memory and run it through Memtest86.

I'd like to think that counterfeiters wouldn't be after DDR2 anymore, instead going after DDR3/DDR4, but who knows.

I'll keep everyone posted here once I get it.
Lenovo ThinkPad T440p | Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.50 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

MEA707
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:14 am
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#14 Post by MEA707 » Sat May 16, 2020 1:36 pm

Update on the RAM, I received it yesterday after 24 days in transit. I installed it in my T61 and it worked just fine, and ran Memtest86+ for 1 full hour and no errors shown.

However, it is not genuine. I was suspicious from the generic packaging and the part number on the sticker, does not match 4GB DDR2 800MHz SODIMM from Crucial, but instead is a part number for 2B DDR2 800MHz RAM for Mac computers. You can find other listings on eBay with this same exact part number, but for 2GB modules, so clearly there is some mass printing of fake labels and putting them on generic RAM modules.

On the somewhat positive note, the chips on the modules are Hynix supposedly, which are good quality, however Crucial RAM should have Micron chips, although I do believe sometimes manufacturers will source chips from other companies, even competitors, to address shortages, so I do believe there is genuine Crucial RAM out there with Hynix chips.

These are not genuine however, even though they MAY be of high quality, I don't know.

Regardless, I am going to return them. I don't like being cheated. Hopefully the seller cooperates, otherwise I will file a claim with eBay themselves.
Lenovo ThinkPad T440p | Intel Core i7-4800MQ 2.70 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 | Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.50 GHz | Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#15 Post by kfzhu1229 » Sat May 16, 2020 4:41 pm

MEA707 wrote:
Sat May 16, 2020 1:36 pm
Update on the RAM, I received it yesterday after 24 days in transit. I installed it in my T61 and it worked just fine, and ran Memtest86+ for 1 full hour and no errors shown.

However, it is not genuine. I was suspicious from the generic packaging and the part number on the sticker, does not match 4GB DDR2 800MHz SODIMM from Crucial, but instead is a part number for 2B DDR2 800MHz RAM for Mac computers. You can find other listings on eBay with this same exact part number, but for 2GB modules, so clearly there is some mass printing of fake labels and putting them on generic RAM modules.

On the somewhat positive note, the chips on the modules are Hynix supposedly, which are good quality, however Crucial RAM should have Micron chips, although I do believe sometimes manufacturers will source chips from other companies, even competitors, to address shortages, so I do believe there is genuine Crucial RAM out there with Hynix chips.

These are not genuine however, even though they MAY be of high quality, I don't know.

Regardless, I am going to return them. I don't like being cheated. Hopefully the seller cooperates, otherwise I will file a claim with eBay themselves.
I also have a pair of "crucial" 1G DDR PC2700 sticks that also have micron chips and CPUZ reveals one of them is a Hynix stick and the other is Adata using Hynix chips. I know they are fake because it has a datecode in 2016, which is just impossible for DDR sticks.
My theory is that they do this in order to sell it as pairs and as a better brand.
Go to CPUZ and see what it says there.
I think it is not worth for you to return and refund as getting the real deals can be EXTREMELY expensive for 4G DDR2 sticks and costs twice the price as 4G DDR3 sticks. Just try asking for a partial refund for false advertising
I have those fake DDR sticks in a Latitude C840 and I don't see any problems with it.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

cadillacmike68
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1272
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Florida

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#16 Post by cadillacmike68 » Wed May 20, 2020 9:49 pm

MEA707 wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:56 am
Thanks everyone for the feedback.

I currently have two 2GB 667MHz modules and am considering replacing them with two 4GB modules to extend the life of the laptop a few more years, even though they're quite expensive. May not make the most financial sense...

I did decide to make the jump to Linux (specifically Linux Mint) as I did not have much luck with Windows 10 on it, plus I'm not sure how much longer Microsoft will push Windows 10 updates to the T61.
Do it. I did on three T61s some time ago and just ordered four more 4GB modules for two more t61s. It cuts down on paging to & from disk. You can find them on ebay. The lowest I saw for a pair was about $80-90 for two 4GB modules, maybe less. Can't remember the exact price.
600, 600X
760LD FUBARd
T21 2647 T22 2647 1@ 1GHz SXGA+ 4 more; T23 2647 1@ 1.2GHz SXGA+ 3 more
T30 2366-88U 2GHz; 2366-83U 1.8G; 5@ 2366-LU0/66U; 2367-KU6 FUBARd
T41 T42 T43
T61 8897 2.4GHz SXGA+; 8898 2.4Ghz; 6463 2@ WSXGA+; 7658 2.5GHz; T61p; 6 more T61s
T500 2
T530 W530

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1779
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#17 Post by kfzhu1229 » Thu May 21, 2020 4:08 pm

cadillacmike68 wrote:
Wed May 20, 2020 9:49 pm
Do it. I did on three T61s some time ago and just ordered four more 4GB modules for two more t61s. It cuts down on paging to & from disk. You can find them on ebay. The lowest I saw for a pair was about $80-90 for two 4GB modules, maybe less. Can't remember the exact price.
I wouldn't even pay C$80-90 for two 4GB modules. After a month of hunting both locally and on eBay I got a pair for C$70. At US$80-90 you can already find a ThinkPad T500 if you look close enough. And also keep in mind these will run at 667Mhz on T61 and from time to time the slower speed will show signs of bottleneck.
Dell Lat CP MMX-233 64mb 40gb W2k
600 PII-266 416mb 40gb WXP
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
Lat D830 X9000 8gb 160gb WUXGA Ultrasharp fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10 (Sharp)
Lat C840 P4-2.5 2gb 60gb W7 (Ultrasharp)

atagunov
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:11 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#18 Post by atagunov » Thu May 21, 2020 7:45 pm

I was under impression though that if

- the motherboard is modified to accommodate a 1066FSB processor
- such processor is fitted
- it's an nVidia system
- memory is correctly SPD re-programmed

the memory will get overclocked reaching possibly even a little beyond 800Mhz?

That remains my Frankepad plan :) Though I'm not at all sure what % the cpu score will change. Not much probably?..
If I remember those topics correctly Crucial isn't particularly amenable to reprogramming. Of course you end up with a machine that costs lots more than more modern hardware..
X220, 2 *T520

theterminator93
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1151
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio, United States

Re: T61 DDR2 667MHz or 800MHz

#19 Post by theterminator93 » Thu May 21, 2020 9:40 pm

Correct. I checked the memory on my T601F and it is running at about 889 MHz, if memory serves.
T480 with T25 keyboard | T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T601F T9900·NVS 140m·LED AFFS UXGA
T420 IPS FHD | X220 IPS FHD | T61p·T61·43·42p|X220T·301·41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote
600|770Z|770E|760XD|760EL|365XD|701C|755C

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T60/T61 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests