Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Do I need a whole T61 to build a T601f?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
dances_with_woof
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 6:45 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA

Do I need a whole T61 to build a T601f?

#1 Post by dances_with_woof » Sun May 10, 2020 6:09 pm

To build a T601f, do I need both a T60 and T61? Or is it only only a complete T60 I need, plus a T61 motherboard for the 14 inch model?

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1723
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Do I need a whole T61 to build a T601f?

#2 Post by Cigarguy » Sun May 10, 2020 11:47 pm

Kinda make sense that no you don't need a complete T60 and T61. You only need the parts that goes into making a complete T601. The rest is spare parts or waste.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21452
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Do I need a whole T61 to build a T601f?

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon May 11, 2020 1:13 am

You need any 15" T60.
From a 14.1" non-widescreen T61 you need: motherboard + CPU + PC Card/ExpressCard (or PC Card/Smart Card) slot + possibly fan.
Preferably get a T500/W500 fan.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
Covid-19: Mask it or casket.

dances_with_woof
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 6:45 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA

Re: Do I need a whole T61 to build a T601f?

#4 Post by dances_with_woof » Mon May 11, 2020 11:32 am

Awesome! Thanks. I just received a good, working-order T60, and will be on the lookout for a 14" T61 Penryn board and the other parts listed. Is there a readily available source for the PCMCIA cardbus, other than pulling one from a parts machine?

In the short term, I'm going to figure out how to get that wonderful HYDIS 150UX2-100 display into the T60, which I plan on using as a laptop for free-writing and journaling.

The Lenovo bug really bit me hard. In addition to the T60, I have a T460p coming for image-editing muscle, and a T61 Penryn Widescreen for permanent docking with an Imacon Flextight Scanner. All my Mac products will be vacating my setup in the coming months, with the exception of a 2007 Black Macbook I like to rip vinyl records to using 32-bit Windows 10 and Soundbooth. (This was my first "hack", getting Windows 10 to run on the 2007 Macbook, which is an aesthetic favorite). Lenovo just feels "right" as far as what I want for the next decade. I love my T60's screen format and chunky-styling, which really gets reactions from the Apple-crowd I tend to run with. Nothing but disparaging remarks and odd looks. It's perfect.

atagunov
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 3:11 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Do I need a whole T61 to build a T601f?

#5 Post by atagunov » Mon May 11, 2020 2:26 pm

dances_with_woof wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 11:32 am
I'm going to figure out how to get that wonderful HYDIS 150UX2-100 display into the T60
Please note master Natakranta pleased with his HYDIS 150UX1-100 (clone?): link. CCFL not LED of course.

In either case please let us know which one you end up buying and your impressions!
X220, 2 *T520

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T60/T61 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 83 guests