Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
alexswett
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:06 pm
Location: Washington, DC

ANSWER: This did the trick

#31 Post by alexswett » Thu Oct 30, 2008 1:27 pm

Download the Intel Proboot utilities here:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... PrdMap=412

I formatted a bootable floppy as stated and the IBAUTIL was created on disc.

once you get through the floppy boot and the program creates your R: drive for the cdrom (drive letter may be different in some cases), switch to R and run the following command:

IBAUTIL -DEFCFG

(or IBAUTIL.EXE -DEFCFG)

solved

Alex

coldwombat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Hobart, Australia

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#32 Post by coldwombat » Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:03 am

Have same problem with my T60 -- the earlier message says that I should get Intel® Boot Agent PROBOOT.exe version: 11.2 -- but I can't find that version there (see http://mysearch.intel.com/support/Defau ... portSearch)

is there another version that will work?

with thanks

coldwombat

gpmoo7
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#33 Post by gpmoo7 » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:22 pm

I had successfully remove the error message but my Ethernet card didn't work.
So I called the Lenovo Support and they replaced (for free under guaranty) the motherboard.
IBM/Lenovo Thinkpad T60p (2007-WMJ)
Seven: ON
Vista SP1: OFF | XP SP3: OFF | Ubuntu 9.10: OFF | Leopard 10.5.2: OFF

coldwombat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Hobart, Australia

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#34 Post by coldwombat » Sat Mar 14, 2009 3:34 pm

Getting the motherboard replaced (as suggested by gpmoo7) seems more time consuming and excessive if the problem can be fixed via a download.

My question remains: Is there a later version of Intel® Boot Agent PROBOOT.exe other than version: 11.2 (which no longer seems to be available) that will fix this problem?

gpmoo7
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Montréal, Canada

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#35 Post by gpmoo7 » Sun Mar 15, 2009 9:41 am

coldwombat wrote:Getting the motherboard replaced (as suggested by gpmoo7) seems more time consuming and excessive if the problem can be fixed via a download.

My question remains: Is there a later version of Intel® Boot Agent PROBOOT.exe other than version: 11.2 (which no longer seems to be available) that will fix this problem?
If IBM prefer to replace the motherboard instead of just use a PROBOOT.exe, there is a reason.
IBM/Lenovo Thinkpad T60p (2007-WMJ)
Seven: ON
Vista SP1: OFF | XP SP3: OFF | Ubuntu 9.10: OFF | Leopard 10.5.2: OFF

think60pad
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:41 am
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#36 Post by think60pad » Tue Dec 01, 2009 6:16 am

I'm sorry for kicking this thread again, but I'm having the exact same problem with my 2007 T60P. I wondered whether someone found the download to fix the problem,
the link on the previous page doesn't seem to work anymore :(

It's not a problem to keep 'escaping' the error away everytime I start up my thinkpad, but it starts to get annoying after 6 months or so :| :wink:

oeconom
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:30 pm
Location: Kassel, Germany

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#37 Post by oeconom » Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:40 pm

Suddenly had that problem today, too.
...from one minute to the next (at next boot).

I'd be thankful for a resolution!

Best wishes,
Felix

oeconom
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:30 pm
Location: Kassel, Germany

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#38 Post by oeconom » Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:54 pm

This solution seems to have fixed the failure for me...!

--> http://www.matinfo.ch/blog/archive/2007 ... error.html

Best wishes,
Felix

devanshoom
Freshman Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:43 am
Location: saigon, vietnam

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#39 Post by devanshoom » Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:27 am

sorry for bringing up such an old thread, thought it less messy than starting a new one

this boot problem.....i have the very same thing and it started last night.....

Id like to ask you guys can you just forget about it and use the computer as normal? I mean all it is is that you have to click escape and then it boots fine...almost not worrying about. Or is it something that ought to be rectified?

anyway............heres the thing. My previous T60 (now deceased) also had exactly the same problem, but i didnt think it was worth worrying about...anyway it sort of died 8 months later....The final verdict was that a band of renegade ants got inside and messed things up (no joke) but im not fully convinced this was what caused my old t60s demise. I mean this boot thing appears to be connected to the main board, and apparently it was my main board that was decreed useless in the last one.. Could it be that this problem left unchecked can lead to permanent damage of some kind or other?.

Im stubborn as hell when it comes to thinkpads and after my old T60 died I wound up buying two second hand t60s rather than getting a brand new T500 with 3 year warranty for the same money ( :roll: )......so needless to say I'll be repeatedly kicking myself hard in the groin if these replacement T60s end up going the same way as the old one.

any info well appreciated
Last edited by devanshoom on Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#40 Post by Harryc » Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:33 am

I don't think the error will cause any permanent damage, and it is so simple to fix that the question is irrelevant. Just fix it ...

devanshoom
Freshman Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:43 am
Location: saigon, vietnam

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#41 Post by devanshoom » Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:35 am

ah...harry C to the rescue once again...nice one man

it might be easy for you harry, but definitely isnt for a layman like me. Having said that I might give it a go

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#42 Post by Harryc » Mon Apr 25, 2011 5:46 am

These instructions still work. The link was broken, so I fixed it. You'll need a bootable diskette drive. USB external will work.

Download the Intel Proboot utilities here:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... iid=dc_rss

I formatted a bootable floppy as stated and the IBAUTIL was created on disc.

once you get through the floppy boot and the program creates your R: drive for the cdrom (drive letter may be different in some cases), switch to R and run the following command:

IBAUTIL -DEFCFG

(or IBAUTIL.EXE -DEFCFG)

BobA
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 657
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 5:04 am
Location: Vancouver, WA

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#43 Post by BobA » Wed Jan 25, 2012 10:28 pm

Works like a champ - but Intel updated the Utility (took me awhile to figure it out).

Running PROBOOT.EXE creates a directory (Intel16.8 is default) wherever you specify. Within that directory is an APPS directory with BOOTAGNT, BootUtil, EFI, FCOEBOOT, and iSCSI. Bootutil is what we want. Under Bootutil Intel gives us directories for each OS you could use the utility under. I chose DOS and copied the executable BootUtil.exe to my DOS boot diskette. The utility has different names for the different OS subdirectories.

Running BootUtil.exe was painful as I ran from a floppy (it had to read a 500M file each time I used it). After running BootUtil -? several times (to understand all of the options), I ended up using the following:

1: BootUtil -p (to find the NIC port number needed in the next command)
2: BootUtil -nic=1 -defcfg (port 1 was the NIC port determined from step 1)

Success!!
Bob
X1 Carbon (5th Gen) -- T430s -- W530

birthdaymonkey
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:43 am
Location: Saint John, Canada

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#44 Post by birthdaymonkey » Tue Apr 24, 2012 1:33 pm

I have a T60 and suddenly started experiencing the error described in this thread. In addition, my ethernet wasn't working (wifi was fine).

The updated solution provided by BobA worked for me.

To make the DOS boot disk step easier, you can download and install unetbootin, which will allow you to quickly and easily create a bootable USB thumb drive (just run it, select FreeDOS from the pull-down menu, and select your flash drive letter).

Press the Thinkvantage menu on reboot, select the usb drive you just made, and run FreeDOS in safe mode (no drivers).

Now if only I could figure out how the EEPROM on my ethernet card was corrupted in the first place. I'm tempted to blame my employer's network.

Smokestoomuch
Freshman Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:59 pm
Location: Palm Springs, California

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#45 Post by Smokestoomuch » Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:27 pm

I have these exact same symptoms/error messages on a T42. Any danger of applying these T60 fixes to a T42? Thanks.

puffin42x
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:55 pm
Location: des moines, ia

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#46 Post by puffin42x » Wed Feb 13, 2013 9:18 pm

due to the pxe-e05 error on my T60, i went to:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... ldID=19186

and downloaded the "PROBOOT.EXE".

after extracting files, it appears that "bootutil" is the successor to "IBAutil" . . .

after booting with Hiren's BootCD (release 14.0) and selecting windows XP, under a command prompt (cmd), under "win32" i used "bootutilw32 -?" to see all the commands . . .

entering "bootutilw32 -defcfg -all" seemed to put good things in the right place and now the error does not appear.

good luck.

nophone
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#47 Post by nophone » Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:03 pm

I created an account to post the solution to this problem.

First of all, many of the solutions out there refer you to a program called BootUtil, which is a flash utility for Intel based network cards.

You may have tried flashing the firmware and found that it was not allowed: That is because you cannot flash an ON BOARD card. The guides you found about flashing with this utility were referring to add-in nic cards.

That being said, many people post links to intels BootUtil program, then the program gets updated and the link gets broken, so I will say this... google it. If you can't find this program using google... the rest of the solution is going to feel like a nightmare.

1: short instructions -
create a bootable dos disk (cd/usb/whatever) and put the BootUtil in a directory on this disk.
Then boot to the disk and navigate to BootUtil and type "BootUtil", you should get report of all of the nic cards on your pc... in this case there should be only 1. If that is the case, then proceed.
Type "BootUtil -all -DEFCFG" and reboot your computer
Problem Solved

2: Long instructions

Download the file PREBoot.exe (compressed file containing BootUtil) from the Intel(R) website using the link

below. http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... 6&lang=eng


The Intel® Ethernet Flash Firmware Utility (BootUtil) is a utility that can be used to program the PCI option ROM

on the flash memory of supported Intel PCI and PCI-Express-based network adapters, and to update configurations.

BootUtil.exe replaces existing utilities and provides the functionality of the older IBAUTIL, ISCSIUTL, LANUTIL,

and FLAUTIL. BootUtil supports all the adapters supported by the previous utilities.

Perform the following steps to reset the configuration of the Boot Agent.

1. The following operation requires use of a DOS-bootable floppy disk containing an executable file of the

BootUtil.EXE utility. If you do not have a floppy disk drive, You can boot your machine with a DOS bootable CD and

them launch BootUtil.EXE E directly from your HDD or CD.
BootUtil.EXE must in a location where it can be run in DOS. If you dont know how to do this then as a techie!!!

2. create a DOS bootable FDD or CD, boot your computer to a DOS prompt with the PREboot.exe file on the FDD or CD.

CAUTION: The next several steps require that your computer be booted only to DOS, and not from a Windows "DOS

box". These steps cannot be performed from a DOS Command Prompt window or using a DOS task within Windows . this must be performed at startup!!!!

NOTE: Remember to alter the startup sequence in BIOS to ensure that the machine will boot from FDD or CD,

alternatively press F12 and manually choose your boot device.

3. Navigate to the folder where you have "BootUtil" contained (by using the change directory command -> cd filepath
Once you have successfully navigated to the folder where you have BootUtil type the following into the command prompt

At the command prompt type "BootUtil -DEFCFG"
Alternatively you may be required to type "BootUtil -nic=1 -DEFCFG"
Alternatively you may choose to type "BootUtil -ALL -DEFCFG

without the "quotes"
This Resets Configuration and Control words in the EEPROM to default settings. Specifically, word 30h in the

Reboot your computer and your error should be gone.

Additionally, you will now be able to PXE boot.

EEPROM is set to 0100h and word 31h is set to 4000h. The checksum in the EEPROM is updated to account for these

new values. No other words in the EEPROM are modified.

Problem solved.

beny1961
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#48 Post by beny1961 » Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:23 am

I have a Lenovo laptop model t60p and I suspect the ethernet ROM is corrupted. When I try to run BOOTUTIL, it shows "flash not present" and "option ROM in the flash is not supported for this device on port 1". If I cannot use BOOTUTIL what is the solution? I already have flashed bios many times beginning from version 2.21. When I start the laptop everything is fine in the device manager, but after restart the lan adapter appear with exclamation yellow mark and code 10 - "device cannot start". Any suggestions? Thanks in advance

PS. Lan Ethernet Adaptor is Intel Pro/1000 PL - onboard

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#49 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Dec 21, 2013 7:41 am

What OS and in which 32/64- bit are you running?
Have you tried (in Device Manager) to update the LAN driver? Or UNinstalled it and upon reboot auto-install?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

beny1961
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#50 Post by beny1961 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:03 am

I have tried with 3 different OS - Windows XP_pro, Windows 7 pro (all 32 bit) and Ubuntu on second HDD (64 bit). First think I have made was to update the driver. The result is the same: by initial boot - everything is going fine, but on reboot the intel pro 1000 pl lancard driver appears with yellow exclamation mark in device manager. Obviously the device driver cannot be reset by reboot of the OS. I suspect that the reason is PXE-e05 error, but my onboard embedded intel pro 1000 pl cannot be flashed by BOOTUTIL.

Every comment will be very welcome

PS. My laptop is Thinkpad t60p 2007-8ju

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#51 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:32 am

Seen this? http://www.intel.com/support/network/sb/cs-006120.htm

Boot from a Linux Life CD and see if the LAN functions OK there.

Are you trying to run this program from inside Windows?
If so, create a bootable CD and use the DOS version instead.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

beny1961
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#52 Post by beny1961 » Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:44 am

Here are the results in Ubuntu 12.04:
lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M Family) SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV530/M66 GL [Mobility FireGL V5250]
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection (rev 02)
15:00.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1510 PC card Cardbus Controller

ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:757 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:757 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:127601 (127.6 KB) TX bytes:127601 (127.6 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:02:42:bb:50
inet addr:192.168.1.109 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::213:2ff:fe42:bb50/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9150 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6791 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7316236 (7.3 MB) TX bytes:963246 (963.2 KB)

Does anybody knows if the Ethernet card is onboard and cannot be flashed by Bootutil, is there any Flash utility issued by Lenovo capable to reconfigure the Eeprom of intel pro 1000 pl?

In Windows 7 or Windows XP the ethernet driver is present and is working normally /but without MAC address/ by initial boot. At the system reboot the driver appears with yellow exclamation mark and is not working!!! I think that it depends of the BIOS, not OS.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#53 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Dec 27, 2013 7:58 am

Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

beny1961
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#54 Post by beny1961 » Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:27 am

It is not working for me. No success. I will repeat my question: Does anybody knows if the Ethernet card is onboard and cannot be flashed by Bootutil, is there any Flash utility issued by Lenovo capable to reconfigure the Eeprom of intel pro 1000 pl?
In Windows 7 or Windows XP the ethernet driver is present and is working normally /but without MAC address/ by initial boot. At the system reboot the driver appears with yellow exclamation mark and is not working!!! I think that it depends of the BIOS, not OS.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#55 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:17 am

Come to think of it, and make things (only) sound more complicated:
the T60 LAN itself is controlled by a Broadcom chip BCM5751M, but Intel has the overall Chipset control PRO/1000.

At boot time, press F1 to go into BIOS.
Do you see the MAC Address there on the first screen near the bottom?
Is it:
1) blank, or reads
2) 00 00 00 00 00 00 or is it
3) numbers/letters combined?
If 1) or 2) you must run the Ibautil/Bootutil program.
if 3) UNinstall in Device Manager, then install the Vista driver in W7 http://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/pub/pc ... ww_v32.exe

Have a look here:
http://www.skullbox.net/ibmthinkpad.php
http://www.paoloiannelli.com/tag/bootutil/

PS: nobody stops you from doing an Internet search yourself...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

beny1961
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#56 Post by beny1961 » Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:31 am

Mary Christmas and Happy New Year to all members!

RealBlackStuff, thank you very much for your assistance and help! For great regret all of my efforts to fix the PXE-e05 error and the yellow exclamation mark for Lan Ethernet adapter were without success.
According to your above-mentioned message my choice is :

2) 00 00 00 00 00 00 – this is what is shown in BIOS for MAC address. In this case you suggested to run the Iabutil/Bootutil program, but when I did it, I received the message that my adapter is not flashable because is controlled by system BIOS.
I have checked and tried already the both web pages:
http://www.skullbox.net/ibmthinkpad.php
http://www.paoloiannelli.com/tag/bootutil/ but without success… and many others…
I didn’t try the vista driver because I have two OS – windows 7 and windows XP and the indications are the same – yellow exclamation mark in Device Manager.
It is very strange for me that other members with same configuration – Thinkpad T60p had success with usage of Bootutil-program. I suspect that for me this is hardware issue and I am going to contact some technician service and afterwards I will write the follow-up.
Meanwhile it would be very useful for me other members to share their experience for this bothering issue.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#57 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jan 02, 2014 5:11 am

Check BIOS in Config / Network / Internal Network Option ROM
Select whether to load the Internal Network Option ROM to enable startup from the integrated network device.
This option must be enabled to display the MAC Address
Your MAC address is: 00:13:02:42:bb:50 according to your Ubuntu test.
After your BIOS update(s), did you go into BIOS, then press F9 to load Default, and press F10 to save and reboot?
Final question: have you read ALL the posts in this thread?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

beny1961
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:14 am
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#58 Post by beny1961 » Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:32 pm

The forums member 'nophone' has written the following: "You may have tried flashing the firmware and found that it was not allowed: That is because you cannot flash an ON BOARD card. The guides you found about flashing with this utility (Bootutil) were referring to add-in nic cards."
00:13:02:42:bb:50 is MAC address of my wireless card, not the Lan Ethernet card.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#59 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jan 02, 2014 2:48 pm

You need to download this file cdproboot-0.2.iso from here: http://cachefile6.rayfile.com/zh-cn/dow ... ot-0.2.iso
and burn a bootable CD from it.
Then run the program IBAUTIL from it, instructions should be on the CD.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: T60 - Boot Agent and PXE-E05 errors. Help!

#60 Post by brucehe » Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:11 am

Hello,

I have this same Ethernet error with a X201. I have tried running UtilBoot and IBAUtil. As mentioned on the forum and and in the instructions this does not flash on board LAN EEPROM. I get an error message that says "No supported network adapters" and PXE is not flashed on port 1.

I also deleted the driver and re-installed from the Lenovo site. It returns a message that it cannot start the device.

Any other ideas? Do I need to replace the system board to get Ethernet?

Thanks,

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60 XGA with T60p board (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X230T, X200s for sale
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430,

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests