Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T60: Installing 3rd Antenna (Pic)

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
wswartzendruber
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:33 am
Location: Idaho, USA

T60: Installing 3rd Antenna (Pic)

#1 Post by wswartzendruber » Sat May 12, 2007 9:08 am

Is there a way to install a third antenna on a ThinkPad T60 that doesn't have one? I want either an Intel 4965AGN chip or an Atheros N chip in there.

MOD EDIT: Picture warning added.
Model: Lenovo ThinkPad T400
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 (2.26 GHz, 1067 MHz FSB, 3 MB L2 Cache)
RAM: 4 GB PC-8500 (1067 MHz, Dual-channel)
HDD: 500 GB, 54000 RPM
Audio: Conexant CX20561 (192 kHz, 24-bit)
Video: Intel GMA 4500MHD
Wireless: Intel 5300

darrenf
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 740
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 6:23 pm
Location: Durham, North Carolina

#2 Post by darrenf » Sat May 12, 2007 10:53 am

Yes. I just did this on a 15" T60 that originally had a Verizon WWAN card. The third N antenna goes in place of the WWAN antenna. I think that all screens have this knock-out, though. On the 15", the installed third antenna sits flush (no protrusion) and on the 14" it sticks out about 1/8". See if you have a 2.5" long knock-out on the right edge of your screen just above the bottom screw. If so then I would guess that then antenna will mount. Be sure to order the antenna designed for your screen size.

BTW: The Atheros a/b/g/n card draws about 2.5W of power which is 1 to 1.5W more power than the Intel a/b/g card so be prepared for a power penalty. It appears that the power management isn't working because the power use is the same regardless of where I set that option. The power use increase was present in a, g and n modes.

-darren

darrenf
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 740
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 6:23 pm
Location: Durham, North Carolina

#3 Post by darrenf » Sat May 12, 2007 11:25 am

One more piece of information to consider with this upgrade. The only consumer base stations that I'm aware of that support the 5GHz wide-band N mode are the Apple Airport Extreme and a unit from Buffalo. I wanted the latter because it has gigabit ports and will run G and N simultaneously but I didn't have $250 and the patience to wait for it to come off back order. I purchased the Apple unit from an Apple store who price-matched Best Buy's price of $160 (it was out of stock at Best Buy).

The software that comes with the Aiport Extreme runs under Windows and configuration was easy.

In real world transfer tests, I was downloading at 22Mbps under G, 26Mbps under A and now 59Mbps under N. My guess is that this limit is the result of the 100Mbps ethernet connection. One reviewer reported getting 109Mbps out of the Apple in what must have been a wireless-to-wireless test.

-darren

wswartzendruber
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:33 am
Location: Idaho, USA

#4 Post by wswartzendruber » Sun May 13, 2007 12:13 am

Yup, I've got that knock-out slot you talked about. So you're saying that in order to get 802.11n on this thing, I have to have something protruding from the side? Oh well, where do I go to order this antenna?
Model: Lenovo ThinkPad T400
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 (2.26 GHz, 1067 MHz FSB, 3 MB L2 Cache)
RAM: 4 GB PC-8500 (1067 MHz, Dual-channel)
HDD: 500 GB, 54000 RPM
Audio: Conexant CX20561 (192 kHz, 24-bit)
Video: Intel GMA 4500MHD
Wireless: Intel 5300

darrenf
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 740
Joined: Thu May 13, 2004 6:23 pm
Location: Durham, North Carolina

#5 Post by darrenf » Sun May 13, 2007 3:10 pm

The antenna sticks out, but not far at all -- nothing like the WWAN antenna. The P/N for the 14" antenna (taken from another post here) is 42R9909.

-darren

wswartzendruber
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:33 am
Location: Idaho, USA

#6 Post by wswartzendruber » Mon May 14, 2007 1:07 am

So even though this thing didn't come with one, I can get that 3rd antenna, an AR5008, and be good to go? The hardware RF kill switch will still work, right?
Model: Lenovo ThinkPad T400
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 (2.26 GHz, 1067 MHz FSB, 3 MB L2 Cache)
RAM: 4 GB PC-8500 (1067 MHz, Dual-channel)
HDD: 500 GB, 54000 RPM
Audio: Conexant CX20561 (192 kHz, 24-bit)
Video: Intel GMA 4500MHD
Wireless: Intel 5300

stephanpark
Freshman Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: CA, USA

#7 Post by stephanpark » Mon May 14, 2007 3:27 am

Now, what is that part number on the Integrated Wi-Fi Wireless a/b/g/n Card?

Here is the info I've found for the 15" Antenna.

Part number 42R9910.
On the image below, it is labeled "2"
Image

This part supports the following models:

XGA
* 1951-CTO
* 1952-CTO
* 1953-CTO, HBx
* 1954-CTO
* 1955-CTO
* 1956-CTO
* 2007-CTO
* 2008-CTO
* 2613-CTO
* 2623-CTO, 7Ux
* 2637-CTO

SXGA+
* 1951-CTO
* 1952-CTO
* 1953-CTO
* 2007-CTO, 7Kx, 7Px, 7Qx, FLx, J3x
* 2008-CTO, 7Kx, J3x
* 2613-CTO, KCx
* 2623-CTO

UXGA
* 1951-CTO
* 1952-CTO
* 1953-CTO
* 1954-CTO
* 1955-CTO
* 1956-CTO
* 2007-CTO
* 2008-CTO
* 2009-CTO
* 2613-CTO
* 2623-CTO
* 2637-CTO

This is a direct copy and paste from http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-62806. Search words are "Wireless LAN 3rd antenna".
for full 15" service parts list.
T21, T30, T60

Redmumba
Sophomore Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:47 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

#8 Post by Redmumba » Tue May 15, 2007 4:24 pm

darrenf wrote:Yes. I just did this on a 15" T60 that originally had a Verizon WWAN card. The third N antenna goes in place of the WWAN antenna. I think that all screens have this knock-out, though. On the 15", the installed third antenna sits flush (no protrusion) and on the 14" it sticks out about 1/8". See if you have a 2.5" long knock-out on the right edge of your screen just above the bottom screw. If so then I would guess that then antenna will mount. Be sure to order the antenna designed for your screen size.

BTW: The Atheros a/b/g/n card draws about 2.5W of power which is 1 to 1.5W more power than the Intel a/b/g card so be prepared for a power penalty. It appears that the power management isn't working because the power use is the same regardless of where I set that option. The power use increase was present in a, g and n modes.

-darren
A bit off topic, but as far as the missing power management options... is this because of Vista, or are these truly faulty drivers?

wswartzendruber
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:33 am
Location: Idaho, USA

#9 Post by wswartzendruber » Wed May 16, 2007 12:52 pm

I called (800) 426-7378, a no-[censored] IBM number in Atlanta, and was told by the tech support there that I can in fact install a 3rd antenna in my 1953-D6U. The kind gentleman on the phone then referred me to (800) 388-7080 where I spoke with more genuine IBM people at the parts warehouse. From them, I ordered these two parts:

42R9909: 14.1" MIMO antenna
42T0825: AR5008-based WLAN controller

This American tech support is awesome!
Model: Lenovo ThinkPad T400
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 (2.26 GHz, 1067 MHz FSB, 3 MB L2 Cache)
RAM: 4 GB PC-8500 (1067 MHz, Dual-channel)
HDD: 500 GB, 54000 RPM
Audio: Conexant CX20561 (192 kHz, 24-bit)
Video: Intel GMA 4500MHD
Wireless: Intel 5300

stephanpark
Freshman Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: CA, USA

#10 Post by stephanpark » Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:31 am

Howdy y'all,
So I heard from another thread that T60 with 7200 CPU may already have the third antennae installed. I don't know yet if this is the same for all T60 with 7200 but I'm not willing to break down my panel just yet.

I have a T60p with 7200 CPU and the standard A/B/G card.

If you know of this, please chime in here.
T21, T30, T60

pappcam
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 2:30 am
Location: Canada

#11 Post by pappcam » Fri Jun 01, 2007 1:33 pm

darrenf wrote:One more piece of information to consider with this upgrade. The only consumer base stations that I'm aware of that support the 5GHz wide-band N mode are the Apple Airport Extreme and a unit from Buffalo. I wanted the latter because it has gigabit ports and will run G and N simultaneously but I didn't have $250 and the patience to wait for it to come off back order. I purchased the Apple unit from an Apple store who price-matched Best Buy's price of $160 (it was out of stock at Best Buy).

The software that comes with the Aiport Extreme runs under Windows and configuration was easy.

In real world transfer tests, I was downloading at 22Mbps under G, 26Mbps under A and now 59Mbps under N. My guess is that this limit is the result of the 100Mbps ethernet connection. One reviewer reported getting 109Mbps out of the Apple in what must have been a wireless-to-wireless test.

-darren
I'm positive that all wireless router manufacturers have draft N routers that are available. Some even have them with gigabit ports.

shalliday
Freshman Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 1:53 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

#12 Post by shalliday » Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:54 pm

I purchased my T60p 2613CTO 7600 with IBM wireless A/B/G card in February and it definitely did not have the third antenna installed. I have since had it installed.
T500 T9900@3.06GHz | Win7 64 | 8Gb | 300Gb SSD | 15.4” WSXGA+ | 802.11bgn | BT | Blueray
T60p T7600@2.33GHz | Win7 64 | 4Gb | 120Gb SSD | 15” UXGA | V5250 | 802.11bgn | BT
V570 i5-2410M@2.3GHz | 15.6" | Win 7 64 | 6Gb | 640Gb 5400 | 802.11bgn
X31 1.6GHz | WinXP | 2Gb | 100Gb 7200 | 802.11bg

Bing0
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:33 pm
Location: Augusta, Georgia

#13 Post by Bing0 » Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:51 pm

I have a T60p with the WWAN card installed.
If I want the best Atheros card and opt not to install this antenna,
is that a problem?
Will I be better off just going with the wireless card without the N capability?

Thanks
Bing0

blackomegax
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:36 pm

#14 Post by blackomegax » Wed Jan 09, 2008 11:59 pm

It works fine for G-mode to use either both Tx ports or Tx and Rx ports.

Roadster
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Chicago, IL

#15 Post by Roadster » Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:08 am

What is the main benefit of Wireless N? My broadband internet service at home is limited to 6 Mbps download speed / 1 Mbps upload speed, so I suspect that is the bottleneck in my Wireless G network. How are you guys achieving 20+ Mbps (even 50+ Mbps)?
Roadster
W520, 4270-CTO, Win7 Pro 64, i7-2860QM, Quadro 2000M, FHD 95% Gamut, Blu-Ray, SDD + HDD
T500, 2055-CTO, Win7 Pro 32, T9600, Mob Rad 3650, WSXGA+, Blu-Ray, Dual HDDs
T60p, 8741-W1C, WinXP 32, T7400, FireGL v5250, WSXGA+, DVD Multi, Dual HDDs

whizkid
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1556
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:40 pm
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Contact:

#16 Post by whizkid » Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:17 am

Roadster wrote:What is the main benefit of Wireless N?
It's great for doing backups to another machine or transferring large files. Or even for lots of small files.

Also, if you have a large space to cover and need repeaters, each repeater uses half your bandwidth, so with two repeaters you're at 1/4 capacity. 1/4 of 248Mb/s is a lot faster than 1/4 of 54Mb/s.
Machine-Project: 750P, 600X, T42, T60, T400, X1 Carbon Touch

Roadster
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:45 am
Location: Chicago, IL

#17 Post by Roadster » Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:22 am

whizkid wrote:It's great for doing backups to another machine or transferring large files. Or even for lots of small files.

Also, if you have a large space to cover and need repeaters, each repeater uses half your bandwidth, so with two repeaters you're at 1/4 capacity. 1/4 of 248Mb/s is a lot faster than 1/4 of 54Mb/s.
Thanks. That was very helpful. I have a pretty large house, so I already have one repeater, and I'm thinking about adding another one in the basement.
Roadster
W520, 4270-CTO, Win7 Pro 64, i7-2860QM, Quadro 2000M, FHD 95% Gamut, Blu-Ray, SDD + HDD
T500, 2055-CTO, Win7 Pro 32, T9600, Mob Rad 3650, WSXGA+, Blu-Ray, Dual HDDs
T60p, 8741-W1C, WinXP 32, T7400, FireGL v5250, WSXGA+, DVD Multi, Dual HDDs

bill bolton
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 3848
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!

#18 Post by bill bolton » Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:26 pm

Roadster wrote:What is the main benefit of Wireless N?
Bandwdith! There are many uses for it in a household situation beyond just connecting to the Internet.

Devices such as the Microosoft Home Server and the growing number of lower cost NAS solutions are just a few examples pf where a wide bandwidth wireless connectivity can be very useful domestically!

Cheers,

Bill B.

tylerwylie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:40 pm
Location: Champaign, IL
Contact:

Re: T60: Installing 3rd Antenna (Pic)

#19 Post by tylerwylie » Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:34 pm

wswartzendruber wrote:Is there a way to install a third antenna on a ThinkPad T60 that doesn't have one? I want either an Intel 4965AGN chip or an Atheros N chip in there.

MOD EDIT: Picture warning added.
Hey I know you!

http://forums.gentoo.org/profile.php?mo ... le&u=49103

Don't get too much sand in it when you open it up.

8)
Samuel Adams wrote:The natural liberty of man is to be free from any superior power on Earth, and not to be under the will or legislative authority of man, but only to have the law of nature for his rule.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests