Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Hardware Virtualization on T60 on or off?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Entropy1024
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 9:46 am
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Hardware Virtualization on T60 on or off?

#1 Post by Entropy1024 » Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:58 am

I turned on the Hardware Virtualization in BIOS and was under the impression that it was now enabled.

However when I ran a program called SecurAble From GRC it reported back that Hardware Virtualization was 'Locked Off'
So I am not sure what 'Locked Off' means but I am guessing there is somewhere else I need to go apart from BIOS to fully enable HW Virtualization.

DOes anyone know how I can get it turned on?

Many thanks
Tim

http://www.grc.com/securable.htm is the little Prog I used BTW
ThinkPad T60 1951WJ1
www.entropy1024.com

atekant
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 12:03 pm

#2 Post by atekant » Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:30 pm

The easiest way would be to create a virtual machine, and you will see (at least in the MS incarnations) when you look at the settings whether hardware virtualization is enabled or not.

Entropy1024
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 9:46 am
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

#3 Post by Entropy1024 » Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:00 pm

I am Using VMware and not sure if that reports anywhere if it's using Hardware Virtualization.
ThinkPad T60 1951WJ1
www.entropy1024.com

jkahng
Sophomore Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:57 am
Location: Seoul, Korea / California

#4 Post by jkahng » Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:38 pm

vmware does not utilize virtualization only MS virtual machine.
what is your cpu? some cpus don't have the feature to begin with.
Z61M(9541-5HK) T7200, 3.0gb ram, X1400, 500gb 7200rpm HDD, Windows 7, Advanced mini dock
T400 2765-82u T9800 8gb ram, crucial M ssd, windows 7, Advanced mini dock

Dodge DeBoulet
Sophomore Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Brunswick, ME

#5 Post by Dodge DeBoulet » Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:49 pm

jkahng wrote:vmware does not utilize virtualization only MS virtual machine.
what is your cpu? some cpus don't have the feature to begin with.
If VMWare doesn't use hardware virtualization, why does it complain when it isn't enabled in the BIOS? When I first installed VMWare on my T60 and attempted to launch a VM brought over from my old laptop, I received a dialog box with the notification that I should enable virtualization in the BIOS. Odd for software that you claim does not utilize it.
(Current) T460p |   i7-6820HQ   | WQHD | nVidia 940MX  | 72Wh Battery | 32GB RAM | 2TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
(Retired) T420  | Core i5-2520M |  HD+ | Intel HD 3000 | 57Wh Battery | 16GB RAM | 1TB + 250GB Samsung SSDs

Entropy1024
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 9:46 am
Location: London, United Kingdom
Contact:

#6 Post by Entropy1024 » Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:10 pm

What version of VMware are you using Dogde?

I have VMWare Server V1.0.1 and that does not seem to mention HW Virt. Perhaps it's only supported in later versions.

However, somehow after a reboot or two the SecureAble program is now showing 'Locked On' for Hardware Virt.
ThinkPad T60 1951WJ1
www.entropy1024.com

Dodge DeBoulet
Sophomore Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Brunswick, ME

#7 Post by Dodge DeBoulet » Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:23 pm

Entropy1024 wrote:What version of VMware are you using Dogde?

I have VMWare Server V1.0.1 and that does not seem to mention HW Virt. Perhaps it's only supported in later versions.

However, somehow after a reboot or two the SecureAble program is now showing 'Locked On' for Hardware Virt.
I'm using VMWare Workstation 5.5.4 build-44386, on Windows XP Pro.
(Current) T460p |   i7-6820HQ   | WQHD | nVidia 940MX  | 72Wh Battery | 32GB RAM | 2TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
(Retired) T420  | Core i5-2520M |  HD+ | Intel HD 3000 | 57Wh Battery | 16GB RAM | 1TB + 250GB Samsung SSDs

jjesusfreak01
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:27 am
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Hardware Virtualization on T60 on or off?

#8 Post by jjesusfreak01 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:56 pm

Im resurrecting this thread, as I tried to install Windows Virtual PC today, and it in facts requires that hardware virtualization is enabled to run. The bios shows that it is enabled, but Virtual PC and Securable show that it is not enabled. Anyone have any insight into this? I have already confirmed that virtualization is supported in this system.
Lenovo X230 Tablet CTO modded with 128GB SSD and 8GB of RAM
Lenovo T60 2637-UN6 (Retired)

Marin85
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Hardware Virtualization on T60 on or off?

#9 Post by Marin85 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 10:47 pm

That´s weird. I installed Virtual PC on my Win 7 x64 setup a few days ago and it reports hardware virtualization to be enabled, no problems here whatsoever. I haven´t taken any additional steps beyond the fact that I have been having HVT enabled in BIOS for quite long time now.
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Hardware Virtualization on T60 on or off?

#10 Post by Harryc » Fri May 01, 2009 6:15 am

@jjesusfreak01, I would try the latest T60 BIOS if you are not running it already.

jjesusfreak01
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 11:27 am
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Hardware Virtualization on T60 on or off?

#11 Post by jjesusfreak01 » Fri May 01, 2009 2:31 pm

I have isolated the problem to the bios, though unfortunately I believe I am running the latest BIOS. I was able to get it to work by disabling DEP in the bios. I don't know why this works, but I got the tip from something I read in another forum. Anyways, this as much as guarantees that this is either a hardware or BIOS issue. When I disable DEP, running Securable shows DEP disabled, and VT locked on, though when I enable DEP, VT is locked off. I might have to beg lenovo to fix the bios.
Lenovo X230 Tablet CTO modded with 128GB SSD and 8GB of RAM
Lenovo T60 2637-UN6 (Retired)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: axur-delmeria, TPFanatic and 12 guests