Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

anyone try 8GB yet?

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

anyone try 8GB yet?

#1 Post by erik » Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:01 am

crucial has 4GB SODIMMs available on their site and through newegg at $550 and $510 USD respectively.

http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs. ... 51264AC667
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820148220

i need 8GB but not at those prices. :lol:   i put 16GB of OEM micron FB-DIMMs in my thinkstation for less than one 4GB SODIMM. ;)

so, who's going to be the first to try these in a T61? :D
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

aaa
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1062
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 2:36 pm

#2 Post by aaa » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:07 am


crazyfrog
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 4:02 am
Location: UK

#3 Post by crazyfrog » Sat Jul 26, 2008 1:37 pm

Amazing! :shock:

This surely is one more reason pushing me to upgrade. Humm.. I am thinking of getting a T61p mb....
Core 2 Duo T7600, 3GB DDR2-667 RAM, Main 7K320 320GB 7200RPM + Ultrabay 320GB 5400RPM, ATI FireGL V5250, 15" IPS UXGA, DVDRW, Bluetooth, Atheros ABGN, NMB Keyboard, Fingerprint, Win7 Pro X86 + Vista 64-bit SP2, Advanced Dock.

tinkererguy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Location: Connecticut

#4 Post by tinkererguy » Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:16 pm

I have my 6459-CTO T61p working just fine on 2 of the same 4GB DIMMs TP667/4G, works great, all RAM recognized with Vista Ultimate (64 bit).

Much more elbow room for juggling multiple OSs with VMware workstation.
2757CTO Lenovo W700 with 17"1920x1200, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M
C: UltraBay Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Windows 7 x64 SP1
D: ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GBx2 Software RAID0
http://tinkertry.com/thinkpadw520saga

erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

#5 Post by erik » Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:29 pm

tinkererguy wrote:I have my 6459-CTO T61p working just fine on 2 of the same 4GB DIMMs TP667/4G...
what brand modules did you buy?   i need 8GB as well but can't justify spending over $1000 to get there.   i'd rather buy a second thinkpad for that price. :lol:
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

#6 Post by crashnburn » Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:50 am

Wondering if my T61 8892 would support 8G ?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

#7 Post by erik » Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:12 am

all PM965 and GM965 chipsets should support 8GB.
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

#8 Post by crashnburn » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:52 pm

T61 8892 02U -
Mainboard :LENOVO 889202U
Chipset : Intel GM965

8G RAM support. I hope the IBM BIOS is not going to be a block.

Thats good :)
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

Dummvogel
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: Wolfenbüttel, Germany
Contact:

#9 Post by Dummvogel » Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:42 pm

I now got 2 of the Kingston modules(KTL-TP667/4G) in my T61p(6457-5GG). And I have to say, its running like a charm. 3 VMs with 2 GB each and I still got enough for the Host. Lots of fun.

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=8gbvxy.png

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=8gbt ... gerehl.png
Own:
X22 (640MB, P3-M 800)
T61p (8GB, T7700)
X40 (1,5GB, PM738)

Sold:
380 (64MB, P233MMX)
A21m (256MB, Mobile P3 700)
T21 (512MB, Mobile P3 800
T23 (768MB, P3-M 1.13)
T41p (2GB, PM 1,7)

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

#10 Post by crashnburn » Thu Jul 31, 2008 6:37 pm

Wow! How hot does it get?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

Dummvogel
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: Wolfenbüttel, Germany
Contact:

#11 Post by Dummvogel » Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:00 pm

Same as before
Own:
X22 (640MB, P3-M 800)
T61p (8GB, T7700)
X40 (1,5GB, PM738)

Sold:
380 (64MB, P233MMX)
A21m (256MB, Mobile P3 700)
T21 (512MB, Mobile P3 800
T23 (768MB, P3-M 1.13)
T41p (2GB, PM 1,7)

tinkererguy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:37 pm
Location: Connecticut

#12 Post by tinkererguy » Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:39 am

tinkererguy wrote:I have my 6459-CTO T61p working just fine on 2 of the same 4GB DIMMs TP667/4G, works great, all RAM recognized with Vista Ultimate (64 bit).

Much more elbow room for juggling multiple OSs with VMware workstation.
Dramatic price drop for getting 8GB in the T61p, $300 total (2 4GB sticks), see G.SKILL 8GB here:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231210

My friend is using them with success on his T61p.
2757CTO Lenovo W700 with 17"1920x1200, NVIDIA Quadro FX3700M
C: UltraBay Intel X25-M 80GB SSD, Windows 7 x64 SP1
D: ST9500420ASG Seagate Momentus 7200.4 500GBx2 Software RAID0
http://tinkertry.com/thinkpadw520saga

basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

#13 Post by basketb » Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:51 am

tinkererguy wrote:
tinkererguy wrote:I have my 6459-CTO T61p working just fine on 2 of the same 4GB DIMMs TP667/4G, works great, all RAM recognized with Vista Ultimate (64 bit).

Much more elbow room for juggling multiple OSs with VMware workstation.
Dramatic price drop for getting 8GB in the T61p, $300 total (2 4GB sticks), see G.SKILL 8GB here:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820231210

My friend is using them with success on his T61p.
How tempting. But I guess prices will only go down from here (unless some factory somewhere in Asia burns down again).

tylerwylie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:40 pm
Location: Champaign, IL
Contact:

#14 Post by tylerwylie » Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:49 pm

When it drops below 200 I think I'll move to 8gb and see what I can do with linux/vmware in it hehe.
Samuel Adams wrote:The natural liberty of man is to be free from any superior power on Earth, and not to be under the will or legislative authority of man, but only to have the law of nature for his rule.

Tony Chan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:25 am
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada

#15 Post by Tony Chan » Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:12 pm

It will come quickly I think. Desktop 4gb ddr2 sticks just dropped to around Cdn 50, so I'm expecting laptop ram to follow.

stkris
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:29 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

#16 Post by stkris » Sun Nov 02, 2008 11:10 am

Anyone tried 8GB in a T61 (not p)?
W530 with 3610QM, 20GB RAM, 2xSSD and Intel/nVidia gfx running Debian Wheezy.

A.K.A
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:56 pm
Location: Middlebury, Vermont, USA

#17 Post by A.K.A » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:04 am

Wait a second here. I'm not drooling just yet. How about reframing this question so we hear some real-world differences?

For those of you who have both your 8GB and your old(!) 4GB configurations, what can you tell us about the actual performance differences? Unless you're running 20 virtual machines at a time like Keith Combs, what is the tangible difference between 4GB and 8GB?
Are you sure you want to format?

T61p: 2.2GHz T7500; nVIDIA Quadro FX 570M 256MB; 500GB 5400 rpm WD Scorpio Blue; 250GB 5400 rpm Samsung HM250JI; Samsung 15.4" WSXGA+; Crappy Chicony keyboard; EasyBCD multiboot with Windows Server 2008 x64 + Vista Ultimate x64.

Marin85
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 10:54 am
Location: Munich, Germany

#18 Post by Marin85 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 11:17 am

That really depends on the apps one wants to run. 4 GBs are pretty enough for every OS (even for Vista :P) itself. However, a good reason to expand the amount of system memory installed in your machine is the fact that most of the recent graphics cards have become pretty RAM hungry with the newer Vista drivers (under nVidia Turbocache or ATI Hypermemory), so under circumstances certain amount of system memory can be locked alone for the gpu (in my case it´s quite notable with 3 GB totally available and ATI Hypermemory up to 1000+ MB including dedicated memory) :D

Cheers

Marin
IBM Lenovo Z61p | 15.4'' WUXGA | Intel Core 2 Duo T7400 2x 2.16GHz | 4 GB Kingston HyperX | Hitachi 7K500 500 GB + WD 1TB (USB) | ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 | ThinkPad Atheros a/b/g | Analog Devices AD1981HD | Win 7 x86 + ArchLinux 2009.08 x64 (number crunching)

phr
Sophomore Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:30 pm
Contact:

#19 Post by phr » Sun Dec 28, 2008 6:24 am

I have 8gb in my t61 (not p) which is useful for some memory intensive purposes. The 4gb sodimms are still very expensive though, I'd say don't get it unless you know you need it, until the price comes down. 4gb is practically a giveaway these days by comparison.

basketb
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 1:10 am
Location: California, USA

Re:

#20 Post by basketb » Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:11 pm

basketb wrote:

Code: Select all

[quote="tinkererguy"]Dramatic price drop for getting 8GB in the T61p, $300 total (2 4GB sticks), see G.SKILL 8GB here:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231210

My friend is using them with success on his T61p.[/quote]
How tempting. But I guess prices will only go down from here (unless some factory somewhere in Asia burns down again).
What happened? Why are those two sticks $80 more today than at the end of October of last year.

(apologies for the awkward way of quoting, but right now, the board doesn't allow me to quote more than 1 level deep)

erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

Re: Re:

#21 Post by erik » Fri Jan 09, 2009 3:44 pm

basketb wrote:What happened? Why are those two sticks $80 more today than at the end of October of last year.
like anything, memory prices fluctuate thanks to supply and demand. ;)
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

phr
Sophomore Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:30 pm
Contact:

Re: anyone try 8GB yet?

#22 Post by phr » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:29 am

It is weird, supplies seem to have dried up. I heard some factories shut down due to the economic slowdown. Lots of 2gb parts available but no 4gb. I had buyers remorse buying when I did, but it looks like I did fine.

hueb
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:07 pm
Location: Birmingham, AL

Re: anyone try 8GB yet?

#23 Post by hueb » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

It's funny, the newegg.com link above just had lowered the price to $285 last week. Now it is listed as de-activated. I'm sure there will be some suppliers, some where. We'll just have to wait and see. Phr, you did just fine.
T61P T7700 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" WUXGA, 320GB 7K2, ub 320GB 7K2, Intel 802.11bgn, Sprint WWAN, Bluetooth, Vista Business 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T60/T61 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 81 guests