Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Installing QXGA screen on T60p

T60/T61 Series
Message
Author
pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8531
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#31 Post by pianowizard » Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:33 am

sarbin wrote:pianowizard is the resident qxga wizard around here.
Please, don't say that! I use a very different method to install the QXGA panel into my T43p. It's simpler and less risky, but also less elegant than the method developed by Troels, catdog and those guys on that Chinese forum.

catdog, thanks so much for the effort and for describing in detail how you did it. At this point, I am not tempted to try it because I am perfectly happy with my T43p (which is pretty much just as powerful as the T60p IMO, and prettier too). But if I change my mind in the future, I will definitely come back to this thread and follow your and Troels' instructions.
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

DB2Dude
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:56 pm

#32 Post by DB2Dude » Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:55 pm

I've just placed an order for a couple QXGA panels and will be doing some interesting modding shortly. I also purchased a T61p 14". My intention is to combine the QXGA panel, the T61p system board with T9300 CPU, an advanced mini-dock with DVI (hopefully dual-link with the nvidia GPU on this board), and a 20.8" QXGA LCD (Iiyama Q5311D... same panel as IBM T210).

by the way, what is a good option today for a 250-320GB drive? I'd want quiet, cool, fast, and reliable... at a reasonable price.

One of the panels will go into an R60. Haven't decided whether or not to sell my R60e with UXGA panel so that I might replace it with a T60 for the second QXGA panel.

catdog
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 10:22 am
Location: Boston

#33 Post by catdog » Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:23 pm

DB2Dude wrote:I've just placed an order for a couple QXGA panels and will be doing some interesting modding shortly. I also purchased a T61p 14". My intention is to combine the QXGA panel, the T61p system board with T9300 CPU, an advanced mini-dock with DVI (hopefully dual-link with the nvidia GPU on this board), and a 20.8" QXGA LCD (Iiyama Q5311D... same panel as IBM T210).

by the way, what is a good option today for a 250-320GB drive? I'd want quiet, cool, fast, and reliable... at a reasonable price.

One of the panels will go into an R60. Haven't decided whether or not to sell my R60e with UXGA panel so that I might replace it with a T60 for the second QXGA panel.
That's great, I just bought a T60 15" XGA and another 15" QXGA to do my second transplant; this machine will be running XP and the T60p will be running vista 64 for my computational work. I thought of getting a T43p but the T60 (core duo) with x300 ATI was $380 on craigslist while the T43p (single core) were $200-300 more expensive. Keep us updated on your dream machine.
PS; i have the WD 320 (before black edition was available) and it runs cool and is fast.

spacejunk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:01 am
Location: Torrance CA

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#34 Post by spacejunk » Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:27 pm

I have also installed a T60P with QXGA panel and wanted to update this thread with a little more info.

1) There was a question as to whether a IAQX10S panel would work. I install the IAQX10S and it works so both the IAQX10N and IAQX10S will work with the proper EDID.
2) It's OK to modify other fields in the 128 byte EDID as long as you maintain the manufacturer defined string in block 3 of the detailed timing tab. I haven't change all the fields to test this theory but I think this is the field the BIOS is checking during boot.
3) You will lose the keyboard light because the connector mounting location on the QXGA is lower than the UXGA panel causing the cable to the light to be too short. Need to cut off the cable from the main ribbon cable.

Pretty straight forward swap using the instructions in this thread. I also swapped the UXGA panel in my T43P to QXGA and the T60P was faster because of the fewer steps it took to get the LCD off.

wild_bill
Sophomore Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 6:05 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Contact:

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#35 Post by wild_bill » Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:05 am

I think all of you in this QXGA thread must have Superman eyes, I have SXGA+ and am afraid that even UXGA on a 15" would put these 47 year old eyes into a fiery burnout :eek:
IBM T60 | 15'' BOE·hydis UXGA IPS | T7200 Core2Duo | 4GB CL4 | 320GB Fujitsu 7200 | Echo Indigo studio sound | NMB kb | XP Pro | Linux Mint | Win7 x64

~~~ celebrating my 37th year of working with micro computers - still have my original MITS Altair 8800 and LSI ADM-3 from '75 ~~~

lophiomys
Contributing Member
Contributing Member
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 3:50 am
Location: Austria, EU

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#36 Post by lophiomys » Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:15 am

You should always be able to increase gerneral font sizes via the OS.
Even with big fonts QXGA resolutions would give you the advantage
of very clear and sharp edged character display, which should be more
easy on your eyes, compared to a more "grainy" LCD.
Lophiomys
Thinkpads with 15inch 4:3 UXGA 133DPI IPS/Flexview: 2x T43p SATA Mod., 3x T42p (dying by Flexing), 2x T60p (1xATI, 1xIntel/new BoeHydis);
R51 SXGA+; X31; X41T; X41 Sata Mod; all Made in China; 570E, 701C; MBP15c3UB non-glossy mid09 / formerly 600X, 760E

yak
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1256
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:17 pm
Location: NRW, Germany

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#37 Post by yak » Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:06 am

Guys, your accomplishments are really great!

But... pics or it didn't happen :D
ThinkPad™ X201 / AFFS-120
i5-560M 2.67Ghz, 8GB RAM, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD, Win 8 Pro 64-bit, UltraBase X200, ThinkPad Compact USB Keyboard,
Dell U2713HM (2560x1440, IPS), ExpressCard USB 3.0 (2 ports, flush), Nexus 7+10

electron73
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: Corona, CA

Re:

#38 Post by electron73 » Thu Apr 09, 2009 12:42 pm

catdog wrote:UTTER, TOTAL AND COMPLETE SUCCESS!!!! YEAH BABE!
Troels, here is the deal:
Extracted the stock T60P UXGA eeprom data, manually entered it to make the edid editor read it then modified only the clock rate and the height and width of the QXGA and then exported it out and then burned it into the QXGA panel. So only thing modified was the clock, 1600 to 2048 and 1200 to 1536. Did not change anything else and presumably the secret lenovo data got transferred from the UXGA to the QXGA panel.
Fired up vista and thinkpad sign at bios now shows up and the screen is glorious. I am going to upload the bin file when i can figure out how to do that. Thank you again for everything, you really provided all the pieces and am indebted to you. Now i hope my wife talks to me again since i wasted the whole weekend. Best

Addon: can't figure out how to attach bin file, here is the byte table that worked as shown in phoenix edid editor:

EDID BYTES:
0x 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
------------------------------------------------
00 | 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 30 AE 46 40 00 00 00 00
10 | 00 0F 01 03 80 1E 16 78 EA BD 30 91 54 4F 8B 26
20 | 21 50 54 21 08 00 81 80 A9 40 01 01 01 01 01 01
30 | 01 01 01 01 01 01 29 40 00 30 82 00 32 60 40 C0
40 | 13 00 30 E4 10 00 00 19 29 40 00 30 82 00 32 60
50 | 40 C0 13 00 30 E4 10 00 00 19 00 00 00 0F 00 A9
60 | 43 32 A9 43 28 14 02 00 09 E5 00 00 00 00 00 FE
70 | 00 48 56 31 35 30 55 58 31 2D 31 30 30 0A 00 AC
Which verison of the Phoenix editor did you use?
If I enter this information into an ascii file and open it with phoenix 1.3 I get a warning that "This EDID Structure is not Verion 1 Revision 3". It then changes some of the bytes if you save it back to a different file.
Silence of the Thinkpads! http://tpfc.mywo.org

Troels
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1028
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:55 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#39 Post by Troels » Thu Apr 09, 2009 3:36 pm

electron73 wrote:Which verison of the Phoenix editor did you use?
If I enter this information into an ascii file and open it with phoenix 1.3 I get a warning that "This EDID Structure is not Verion 1 Revision 3". It then changes some of the bytes if you save it back to a different file.
Hmm, it must mean that there's a space somewhere in the table which shouldn't be there. Try pasting it all in notepad using a monospaced font such as Courier or Courier New. The first line of the document should contain "EDID BYTES:" without the quotations. Let me know if there's still a problem 8)

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1673
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re:

#40 Post by crashnburn » Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:04 pm

DB2Dude wrote:I've just placed an order for a couple QXGA panels and will be doing some interesting modding shortly. I also purchased a T61p 14". My intention is to combine the QXGA panel, the T61p system board with T9300 CPU, an advanced mini-dock with DVI (hopefully dual-link with the nvidia GPU on this board), and a 20.8" QXGA LCD (Iiyama Q5311D... same panel as IBM T210).

by the way, what is a good option today for a 250-320GB drive? I'd want quiet, cool, fast, and reliable... at a reasonable price.

One of the panels will go into an R60. Haven't decided whether or not to sell my R60e with UXGA panel so that I might replace it with a T60 for the second QXGA panel.
If this can be done on a T61 I'd really consider doing it. Any thoughts / updates on this front?

DB2Dude / Troels / Catdog ?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

spacejunk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:01 am
Location: Torrance CA

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#41 Post by spacejunk » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:27 pm

Yes it can. I have built 4 T61P QXGA machines. I listed a few things to watch out for in this thread:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=88859

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1673
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#42 Post by crashnburn » Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:47 am

spacejunk wrote:Yes it can. I have built 4 T61P QXGA machines. I listed a few things to watch out for in this thread:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=88859
Wow! I would bug you a bit about guiding me: firstly, which T61 machines too look for and where to get the QXGA LCD :)

PS: You in Torrance.. ah! near American Honda. Nice place to be.
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

spacejunk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:01 am
Location: Torrance CA

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#43 Post by spacejunk » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:36 pm

Any T61 14.1" 4:3 motherboard will fit in the 15" T60 chassis. You can get a QXGA panel for ~$100 here:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... K:MEWAX:IT

jketzetera
Sophomore Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#44 Post by jketzetera » Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:39 pm

The QXGA-panel you linked to is the IAQX10S model. To my understanding it has a 60ms avg response time while the IAQX10N has a 30ms avg response time.

I would argue that If you are going through the hassle of doing a QXGA-mod, you might as well spend a bit more extra cash and get IAQX10N version.

spacejunk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:01 am
Location: Torrance CA

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#45 Post by spacejunk » Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:25 pm

Yes, the link is to the older IAQX10S. When I was looking 3 months ago the only place I found that had the IAQX10N in stock was bigstock.com for $189 (over $200 shipped).

http://www.bigestock.com/detail.php?pri ... rt=1541561

I have built using both types and I think both screens are equally awesome, of course I don't play games on my Thinkpad so never noticed the differences in response time. Up to individual buyer to decide if the IAQX10N is twice as awesome as the IAQX10S based on price. Both are getting harder to find. A year ago I could easily find a new IAQX10N for around $125 but prices have crept up.

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1673
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#46 Post by crashnburn » Sun Aug 01, 2010 2:28 am

Thanks spacejunk. So, let me get this straight...

QXGA - From vendor
15" 4:3 Chassis / Body from T60 (not any T61/p)
Motherboard from T61 (Any T61.. or certain ones.. 15" / 15.4" / 14.1" ?)

Do I need special LCD cable / Inverter board etc?

PS: Lets say I order a QXGA LCD and I dont have ALL the remaining right stuff with me - i.e. T60/T61 chassis. Is there some way that I can test its A-okay... as I slowly acquire the parts?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

spacejunk
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 1:01 am
Location: Torrance CA

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#47 Post by spacejunk » Sun Aug 01, 2010 11:07 am

crashnburn wrote: QXGA - From vendor
15" 4:3 Chassis / Body from T60 (not any T61/p)
Motherboard from T61 (Any T61.. or certain ones.. 15" / 15.4" / 14.1" ?)


Yes, plus PC card cage and HSF from T61. I would get those from IBM parts for around $40 total
crashnburn wrote: Do I need special LCD cable / Inverter board etc?
Just re-use the LCD cable one that comes from a T60 since they are all the same. Also use the SXGA+/UXGA inverter (42T0079) from a T60
crashnburn wrote: PS: Lets say I order a QXGA LCD and I dont have ALL the remaining right stuff with me - i.e. T60/T61 chassis. Is there some way that I can test its A-okay... as I slowly acquire the parts?
Not really unless you already possess a working T60/T61 you can test with. The most economical way to build this Thinkpad is to buy a complete 15" T60 that has a broken motherboard and/or LCD, you should be able to get one for under $100 on eBay. Then get the T61 motherboard, LCD, and parts. The most expensive part is the motherboard because 4:3 14.1" T61s are pretty rare. Expect to pay upwards of $300 for a new T61 motherboard. Also most broken T60s on eBay come with missing parts (hard drive, optical drive, palmrest, etc...) so you have to source the missing parts also.

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1673
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#48 Post by crashnburn » Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:53 am

One thing I am trying to figure out is..

Body, Frame, LCD Inverter - Have to be from the T60 (could it be from the XGA one?)
Motherboard of course has to be - T61 (does it come with the CPU..? Also what model number / part number of Motherboard works)
PC Card cage & HSF (What is HSF??) - From T61
Are all the OTHER PARTS... CD, HDD, WiFi, RAM, etc etc .. All other cards INTER-REPLACEABLE? They could come from T60 or T61?
I am guessing there might be some exceptions.. So please guide on which of these... have to be from a T61, which have to be from T60 and which can be from EITHER of TWO :)

It would help to know so when I pick up those T60/T61s I know what I need to be alive, what can be dead / broken / gone.

Thanks.
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21996
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#49 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:17 am

You can use a T60 with XGA, but you then need to buy an SXGA+/UXGA inverter separately (42T0079) for the conversion.
Still NOT a great day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And I have TWO (closed) pubs within 500 meters/yards!
Ireland remains on FULL lockdown until 2nd half of May 2021!
Covid-19: Stay safe, so Mask it or Casket!

Kamika007z
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:04 am
Location: NJ
Contact:

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#50 Post by Kamika007z » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:19 am

Hello All,

I have a T61p 14.1 (4:3) SXGA+ model... I would like to install a QSXGA (or a QXGA), is this possible?

If so, am I thinking through this correctly that since I have an SXGA+ currently, I should move to a QSXGA - or is it just a QXGA?

Any insight with helping me understand this all would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!!
T61p [8891-CTO]: Intel X9000 (2.8GHz) CPU, 8GB RAM, 128GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 14.1in 1400x1050 (4:3) Modified Symmetrical LCD cover & bezel, nVidia FX 570M, DVDRW, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT, FR, Windows 7, SLIC2.1, Unlocked SATA II middleton BIOS, WLAN Whitelist Modified. Mint Condition.

Troels
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1028
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:55 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#51 Post by Troels » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:34 pm

Hi Kamika007z,

Well, the QXGA panel is 15" so you would need a 15" 4:3 chassis from a T60/p. You can use your T61p motherboard in a 15" T60/p - but it really does involve a lot of work of putting it all together. I have not performed this operation myself, just heard and read from others who have completed this transformation.

SXGA+ = 1400x1050
QXGA = 2048x1536
QSXGA = 2560x2048

The video card will only be able to drive up to the QXGA resolution since it has been decided that this resolution should be a maximum. Quite conveniently, the 2xLVDS interface (signaling to the LCD) is by some sort of industry standard considered to be maximized with regards to clock speeds. Going higher would make the demands for a properly designed PCB layout at the LCD driver board and ensuring that each of the lines in the LCD cable have the exact same (electrical) length.

So in short... QSXGA panels don't really exist*, let alone laptop panels. Monitors such as the WQUXGA IBM T221 exists, but it uses (?) two dual-link DVI interfaces (~4xLVDS) so that it refreshes at 48 Hz.


*) Some medical LCD displays are an exception to this rule.

Kamika007z
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:04 am
Location: NJ
Contact:

Re: Installing QXGA screen on T60p

#52 Post by Kamika007z » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:46 pm

Hi Troels,

Thank you so much for the detailed explanation!!

I think I'm going to stick to the 14.1 4:3 chasis for now since it's more portable for my needs :)

Thanks again!
T61p [8891-CTO]: Intel X9000 (2.8GHz) CPU, 8GB RAM, 128GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 14.1in 1400x1050 (4:3) Modified Symmetrical LCD cover & bezel, nVidia FX 570M, DVDRW, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT, FR, Windows 7, SLIC2.1, Unlocked SATA II middleton BIOS, WLAN Whitelist Modified. Mint Condition.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T60/T61 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dr_st and 26 guests