Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Ultimate SSD: Intel 80GB X25-M SSD for T60, Pics HDTune!

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Message
Author
jlingo
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm

#31 Post by jlingo » Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:22 am

Surprisingly, It's my third day using my laptop without any freezes whatsoever. I didn't even tweak anything just regular use. :/ So confusing sometimes.
IBM T60 2623A24- 2GHz T7200, 3GB RAM, 128GB Corsair S128, 14" SAMSUNG LCD SXGA+ TFT, 128Mb X1400,
Intel 802.11abg wireless, BT, and Vista Business SP1, 9-Cell Battery
80GB Intel X25-M SSD, 64GB Mtron 3500

Eckoman
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

#32 Post by Eckoman » Sat Nov 08, 2008 5:20 pm

May I ask again, if somebody knows if this SATA 1,5GBit restriction also applies to the latest Thinkpad generation? (X200/T400/W500 etc.)

And did you test if you get higher read speeds with the Intel X25-M when you are connected to a power-plug? Maybe the limitation only applies when relying on accu-power?
X61s 7666-E3G 3GB RAM, WWAN, Bluetooth, Fingerprint, 64GB Samsung SSD

jlingo
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm

#33 Post by jlingo » Sat Nov 08, 2008 9:17 pm

Eckoman wrote:May I ask again, if somebody knows if this SATA 1,5GBit restriction also applies to the latest Thinkpad generation? (X200/T400/W500 etc.)

And did you test if you get higher read speeds with the Intel X25-M when you are connected to a power-plug? Maybe the limitation only applies when relying on accu-power?
I'm wondering about this too very much.
IBM T60 2623A24- 2GHz T7200, 3GB RAM, 128GB Corsair S128, 14" SAMSUNG LCD SXGA+ TFT, 128Mb X1400,
Intel 802.11abg wireless, BT, and Vista Business SP1, 9-Cell Battery
80GB Intel X25-M SSD, 64GB Mtron 3500

Rochefort
Sophomore Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Biarritz, France

#34 Post by Rochefort » Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:48 am

jlingo wrote:
Eckoman wrote:May I ask again, if somebody knows if this SATA 1,5GBit restriction also applies to the latest Thinkpad generation? (X200/T400/W500 etc.)

And did you test if you get higher read speeds with the Intel X25-M when you are connected to a power-plug? Maybe the limitation only applies when relying on accu-power?
I'm wondering about this too very much.
Could you post a HD TUNE and CrystalDiskMark benches of your X25 on your TP?
- IBM T60p/1,83 M/RAM:3 Gb/15' SXGA+ IPS Ati Fire GL V5250 256Mo /SSD Intel X25 E 32 GB /XP Pro
- HP 8740w - Core i5 540M 2.53 GHz - 17" LED WVA TFT 1920 x 1200 ( WUXGA ) NVIDIA Quadro FX 2800M 1 GB GDDR3 SDRAM- Samsung 850 Pro 500 GB SSD

jlingo
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm

#35 Post by jlingo » Thu Nov 13, 2008 6:10 am

You may see the benchmark here:
http://www.mmu.co.id/intelssd.jpg
IBM T60 2623A24- 2GHz T7200, 3GB RAM, 128GB Corsair S128, 14" SAMSUNG LCD SXGA+ TFT, 128Mb X1400,
Intel 802.11abg wireless, BT, and Vista Business SP1, 9-Cell Battery
80GB Intel X25-M SSD, 64GB Mtron 3500

Rochefort
Sophomore Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Biarritz, France

#36 Post by Rochefort » Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:15 am

jlingo wrote:You may see the benchmark here:
http://www.mmu.co.id/intelssd.jpg
Thanks a lot ;)
Have you seen that !?
"Final Thoughts on SSD's
................ Making matters a little worse is the recently discovered defect in all Intel ICH9 and ICH9R chipsets which exhibit a bandwidth limit of approximately 80 MBps for SSD's. So if cost doesn't keep you away, perhaps Intel will."

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?o ... mitstart=6
---------------------------------
I've ICH7M on AHCI mode
You too !?
Coz I've the same benches with a slower Mtron Mobi 3000
- IBM T60p/1,83 M/RAM:3 Gb/15' SXGA+ IPS Ati Fire GL V5250 256Mo /SSD Intel X25 E 32 GB /XP Pro
- HP 8740w - Core i5 540M 2.53 GHz - 17" LED WVA TFT 1920 x 1200 ( WUXGA ) NVIDIA Quadro FX 2800M 1 GB GDDR3 SDRAM- Samsung 850 Pro 500 GB SSD

jlingo
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm

#37 Post by jlingo » Thu Nov 13, 2008 8:56 am

Oh man,
I guess that sucks to own a computer with ICH9.
Yeah my system is still using ICH7 at the moment.
IBM T60 2623A24- 2GHz T7200, 3GB RAM, 128GB Corsair S128, 14" SAMSUNG LCD SXGA+ TFT, 128Mb X1400,
Intel 802.11abg wireless, BT, and Vista Business SP1, 9-Cell Battery
80GB Intel X25-M SSD, 64GB Mtron 3500

Rochefort
Sophomore Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Biarritz, France

#38 Post by Rochefort » Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:52 pm

jlingo wrote:Oh man,
I guess that sucks to own a computer with ICH9.
Yeah my system is still using ICH7 at the moment.
Hi :)
An Intel can do 130/140 MB/s
The bug comes from Lenovo , we've to wait for Windows Seven much more SSD friendly :)
- IBM T60p/1,83 M/RAM:3 Gb/15' SXGA+ IPS Ati Fire GL V5250 256Mo /SSD Intel X25 E 32 GB /XP Pro
- HP 8740w - Core i5 540M 2.53 GHz - 17" LED WVA TFT 1920 x 1200 ( WUXGA ) NVIDIA Quadro FX 2800M 1 GB GDDR3 SDRAM- Samsung 850 Pro 500 GB SSD

akeskira
Sophomore Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 9:49 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

#39 Post by akeskira » Sat Nov 29, 2008 4:04 am

jlingo wrote:Surprisingly, It's my third day using my laptop without any freezes whatsoever. I didn't even tweak anything just regular use. :/ So confusing sometimes.
I've had the X25-M for a month now, and I haven't experienced any freezes whatsoever. I'm running XP Pro. The speed increase is incredible, and the whole OS is super responsive. This is the best upgrade ever.
600E, X20, X30, X40 2386-5FU, T42 2378-FVU, X61 7675-3BJ Intel X25-M SSD

StevenD
Freshman Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: Omaha, NE

#40 Post by StevenD » Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:55 pm

Hi, akeskira,

Were you able to *clone* your hard drive onto the Intel? There is a thread here where a user with a Samsung 128Gig SDD was unable to get a clone he made from Acronis to boot, so he had to re-install everything!

--Steve

jlingo
Sophomore Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2005 7:23 pm

#41 Post by jlingo » Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:55 pm

Yes, I was able to clone using Acronis no failure whatsoever.

Anyhow, it has been months since I bought my intel. I still experienced stuttering every couple of days. I guess it depends on how heavy I'm using my computer.

Now I replaced my intel X25-M to Mtron 3500 64GB without stuttering problem on my T60.
IBM T60 2623A24- 2GHz T7200, 3GB RAM, 128GB Corsair S128, 14" SAMSUNG LCD SXGA+ TFT, 128Mb X1400,
Intel 802.11abg wireless, BT, and Vista Business SP1, 9-Cell Battery
80GB Intel X25-M SSD, 64GB Mtron 3500

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests