Page 1 of 2

Trying 14" uxga mod .. Successs !!!!

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 6:50 pm
by xyz
As per the title going for a 14" uxga mod.

1. have an hitachi 14" uxga screen goes into a t43 with the uxga cable perfectly.

2. Stripped the screen down to read the spd.
Pin 7 is live while in the lcd, so removed the spd (24c02) from the board, reprogrammed with a uxga info from a t60 uxga (15")

3 asssembled back together, put in the machine and it tried to power then nothing, motherboard appears to be dead.

Any advice ?
Any pointers ?

Before I go again ?

Also anyone know what is being discusssed here

http://www.51nb.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=448851

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:48 pm
by Troels
Hi,
Some thoughts, i'll reply with more tomorrow evening i think.

What LCD model number is this exactly?

Flashing with a UXGA SPD from a 15" is not necessarily enough unless display timings are also identical. They rarely are. You will at least need the data sheet for the LCD you have. If you can't find it, i'll see if i have it somewhere.

The power on issue is most likely just a blown fuse somewhere in the system. Sorry, that wasn't much help, but it could be due to many factors.
Are yo 100% sure the EEPROM is soldered in completely on the LCD and not shorting?

About the thread: They are discussing that GND and VCC is switched around on some Hitachi SXGA+ LCDs ... that is a serious problem if unfused, and installed into a system where Vcc position is assumed to be GND and vice versa.

But from the mentioned pinout, it does not appear to have an EEPROM, which might suggest it is an old revision.

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 7:59 pm
by richk
What cable did you use? The 15" doesn't fit very well. Did you use the 14" T4x SXGA+ cable? The T4x 14" SXGA screen is the one with the leads reversed. If you used that one, you shorted something out. The best yiou can hope for is a blown fuse. If you used the T4x XGA cable, you don't have enough data leads. When I need to read the SPD, I use a T60 cable where I cut off the ribbon and soldered wires to the connector.

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:01 pm
by xyz
The lcd in question is hitachi tx36d58vc1caa

I see, i thought it would be a bit more comlicated.

The system board, will have sorted for weds, will just get a replacement.
I'M 90 % sure it was soldered on properly was at it for ages so was very tired towards the end, I know I should have took a break, oh well.

I thought it was something like that, do they also go on, and make these types of lcd work in ibm systems.

well will reprogram the 24c02 back to its old value and test again in a t43 system in which it is known to work and take from there.

Also I understand the edid can be dumped from a lcd using phoenix editor in windows while the machine is on, can we do this and then proceed to edit the parameters and then upload back to the lcd, so we will not need to be soldering etc to the panel.

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:04 pm
by xyz
To connect to the t60 i used the t60 cable.

To read the spd etc. i solder to the board direct, then ended up removing the chip to reporgram it.

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:08 pm
by xyz
Also the driver board on the lcd i have is more or less identical to the one on the link above..

@ troels .. do they give a value for the fuse they put in that panel in that thread ?

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:20 pm
by richk
Sorry about the talk about the T4x SXGA cable. I forgot this was T60 forum. I thought I was in T4x forum, but that doesn't make sense either because T4x ignores the spd. I need some more coffee.

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:32 pm
by xyz
No problem thanks for the input anywa, I'm beat too gonna get some sleep and get back to this tommorrow.

Pretty sure this talks about

t60 with uxga in 14

http://www.51nb.com/forum/viewthread.ph ... light=uxga

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 6:56 am
by xyz
Ok i have a theory here it goes,

The uxga panel shares a similar pin grounding to the dell type panels ie ground and pwer are reveresed.
On the t4x the mod has work so far with out failure because it needed the use of the uxga cable, and this cable has a similar pin out to the dell machines.

But on the t60 as they all use the same cable this has caused a short and killed the lcd controller chip and i am getting what i am getting.

So for the t60 i need to correct the spd chip and do the other mod too where on the chinese site the isolate pins 3 and 4, and then bridge the points at R61 ? with a fuse to ensure compatibilty ?

What do you think ?

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:04 am
by Troels
I couldn't find a data sheet for that LCD unfortunately.
xyz wrote:Also I understand the edid can be dumped from a lcd using phoenix editor in windows while the machine is on, can we do this and then proceed to edit the parameters and then upload back to the lcd, so we will not need to be soldering etc to the panel.
The EDID is read by the video bios upon boot-up. There is no way to really change modify the edid/eeprom. This would only be possible if There is no display data channel - DDC which supports modifications of the EDID on the fly.
@ troels .. do they give a value for the fuse they put in that panel in that thread ?
Couldn't find any value mentioned anywhere i'm afraid, but i was more worried it was a fuse somwhere on the motherboard of the laptop that blew.
On the t4x the mod has work so far with out failure because it needed the use of the uxga cable, and this cable has a similar pin out to the dell machines.

But on the t60 as they all use the same cable this has caused a short and killed the lcd controller chip and i am getting what i am getting.
I have swapped T60 15" UXGA panels to a 15" T42, and a 15" UXGA T42 LCD to a T60 without any issues - except that the EDID on the T60 systems must contain a specific vendor string to function correctly.
I've got to think a bit more about what could cause that your LCD damaged your motherboard... hmm.

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 9:41 am
by xyz
About the motherboard will be getting it repalced so no problem there, have to suffer some loss in some pursuits.

The panel for my uxga panel is jsut about the same as the panel shown in that post with the mod, both pins 1 and 2 are grounded ..

And i have sxga panel ment for a dell which i once tried in a t42 and it killed the motherboard, the same seems to have happened here with the uxga panel in the t60.

I am thinking maybe i need to lift pin 2 as this should not be ground for ibm type panels ...

some sucess

Posted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 11:11 am
by xyz
Have taken a dell lcd sxga and converted to ibm lcd by cutting a pin2 and edition of resistor/ fuse. so now works no longer do you have it kill ibm board.


have taken a xga cable and coverted to sxga


More details later

Posted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:02 pm
by crashnburn
I wanted to do this too. Do let me know how the 14" UXGA T6x works out.

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:19 pm
by xyz
I have had to call it a day, the uxga panel messed up on me just lights up and stays black screen not sure whats happened.

what i have leanrt so far is if you take a uxga panel (DELL) AND CONNECT STRAIGHT TO A T60 IT WILL KILL THE BOARD.

The reason people have been safe with the uxga mod on the t4x series is because the cable they use is a uxga cable and pin 2 is not really connected on that cable.

Where as at60 cable it is wired staright through and u have gnd pin1 and pwr pin2 so if u connect as is on the cable u will short the board.

Got around this by cutting pin2.

Also i added a fuse..

http://www.51nb.com/forum/attachment.ph ... update=yes

other than this as long as your lcd has a spd edid chip you will be fine

The board I was workign with was wired very differently, thats all.

Do you have a pic of the lcd panel you have the under side on the circuit panel..

But until I can source another lcd panel have to halt the experiment,

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 3:04 am
by crashnburn
Someone please get him a T61 to play with..

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:40 pm
by xyz
Some updates..

Have resurrected the sxga screen ...

Will play with the uxga one later as I don't have access to auxga cable unless i dismantle a r50p...

Not doing that again its stressful having 4-6 machines opened up.

I have a dead machine (loose GPu TYpe) that I now use when testing foreign lcds..

Anyway now i have solder a 8 pin socket to the lcd and I am using a 8 pin dip 24c02 to experiment with.. much easier like this ... Shud have done from the start.

I think trying to write to the 24c02 chip while in the board with pin 7 disconnected corrupted it... so its easier to remvoe and reporgram.

Ok back to some meaning full finds..

With the 24c02 removed in a t4x the lcd will boot too .. strange eh...




And in the t60 with no eprom i get 2/3 deep black.. and with a slightly modified file i get full balck screen..

Anyone good with Edid's

On a side note dropping any uxga panel straight into a t60 or t61 with out modifying the panel will 100% kill the system board I am sure of this...

@ crashnburn the lcd panel you have can you take some pics and post them of the rear panel.. which ever side has the chips on it..

PS ... anyone know of any t61's going with a dammaged screen...
Will update with some pics later on today if I get time...

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:57 pm
by xyz
Also does any one have some more spd's ... some sxga ones wud be nice ..

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:03 pm
by Troels
xyz wrote:And in the t60 with no eprom i get 2/3 deep black.. and with a slightly modified file i get full balck screen.
That's interesting... Goes to show Lenovo can blacklist it completely, and not send any power to the inverter if blacklisted.

I can get some pictures of any part of the driver board from the HV150UX1-100 if you want, but i think it may not help much...
They use a dual eeprom setup which is not compatible with the ponyprog i2c interface at least.

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:38 pm
by RealBlackStuff
There are some adapter cables here, perhaps they help?
http://www.pchub.com/uph/category/503-0 ... -Part.html

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:57 pm
by xyz
The uxga panel I have is the hitachi..

Theres also a sharp and samung variants of it I belive..

Maybe the samsung would the easiest as there is aready a variant of it in the xga ... so the timings would be very simillar...

About the black screen let me try and expand abit.

Sans eprom 2/3 of the screen deepen black .. are acitvated on
with a eprom with some sxga+ data give full screen ..

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:20 pm
by xyz
Also whats the srting they use to identify a panel anyone have have any ideas ?

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 12:06 pm
by xyz
Bought another panel a sharp uxga had delivered today..

But its cracked and it was last one they had :cry:

So anyone kno where I can find a uxga panel at a reasonable price..

Posted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 4:11 pm
by crashnburn
xyz. Unfortunately the Panel is currently in a box, in a crate shipping with most of my stuff across continents.

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:06 pm
by xyz
Just waiting on a panel to arrive .... the waits killing me

I am new here ....

Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:35 pm
by woo2k3
Hey GUys, I am kinda glad that i found this forum.

I had a similar idea and was looking fpr some help.
I want to buy a lenovo t400 and was thinking about exchanging the display against an older felxview ips panel.
Now my question is, is that possible? ANd are there any other ips - panels with even a UXGA resolution?

Does anyone know if the t400 fits on the Lenovo ADvanced dock with pci express, and which would be the best low profile grafic card ?


In order to give something to the community, hope you don#t know already.

http://lenovoblogs.com/connections/?p=59

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 9:54 am
by comptiger5000
You cannot put any IPS panel into a T400. The T400 is widescreen, the IPS panels are not. They just wouldn't fit.

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:15 am
by crashnburn
xyz wrote:Just waiting on a panel to arrive .... the waits killing me
Good luck.

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:40 am
by xyz
Received the dell machine today, but it has a Sxga panel in it and not the uxga :cry: unbelieveable, so it will be going back to the sender..

Re: Trying 14" uxga mod .. Successs !!!!

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:04 pm
by xyz
Right first off big thanks to RealBlackStuff for helping me get the lcd..

The panel used is Sharp LQ141U1LH02 14.1 LCD and it has gone striaght in no reprogramming of the spd..
All i had to do is to disconnect pin 2 on the lcd connector bit, as both are grounded and this will kill the ibm board.
Other than that its striaght in :)

Re: Trying 14" uxga mod .. Successs !!!!

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:52 pm
by RealBlackStuff
Congratulations are in order! :beer:
So now you have a T60 with a 14.1" UXGA LCD in 4:3 format!
Does the gfx chip supply the proper 1600x1200 resolution?