Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Specific questions about upgrade path for T60 with T2500

T60/T61 series specific matters only
CalypsoBean

Specific questions about upgrade path for T60 with T2500

#1 Post by CalypsoBean » Fri Oct 01, 2010 9:52 am

I have a T60 2623-D7U that has served me well for several years. After discovering that 4:3 laptops have gone the way of the dinosaur, I am now looking into upgrade options to keep the laptop viable for me.

I am a freelance writer, and I use the laptop pretty much exclusively for internet access and writing purposes when I am on the road. I don't play games with it, or anything of that nature.

That being said, I might be interested in using the laptop for music production in the future, and as such I had some specific questions about upgrades to speed it up.

1 - What is the fastest processor that I can install without seriously compromising battery life? I like the 4 - 5 hours I currently get. Is the T7800 the fastest processor that fits on my revision 3 motherboard?

2 - I intend to keep using Windows XP Home as my OS. I have read about some people having issues with this OS when using an SSD. Are SSDs compatible with Windows XP Home in this machine?

3 - I intend to upgrade the RAM to the 3 GB max. In your opinion, what would be a better upgrade for me to go with that - replacing my T2500 processor with something faster, or installing an SSD?

4 - Will an SSD negatively impact battery life in any way?

Thanks for your thoughts.

underclocker

Re: Specific questions about upgrade path for T60 with T2500

#2 Post by underclocker » Fri Oct 01, 2010 12:15 pm

Welcome to the forum and congrats on living in one of the finest cities in North America.