Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Using RAM with different frequency...

T60/T61 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
JKK
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:04 am
Location: France

Using RAM with different frequency...

#1 Post by JKK » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:31 am

Hello,

I got a PC4200 2GB stick that i add to my PC5300 1GB original from Lenovo (i guess..);

Windows was starting slowly or not.. So i changed slot order and now everything seems ok..

In this situation, the PC5300 is supposed to lower its frequence, right? I guess there's no risks doing that?

Thanks.

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#2 Post by Harryc » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:38 am

All of the RAM in the machine will run at the lower (PC2-4200) speed. That will slow the machine down. With that said, PC2-5300 is really cheap, so it's a shame to handicap the laptop for that reason.

OCedT60
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:58 am
Location: State College, PA

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#3 Post by OCedT60 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 12:22 pm

But even if you get 667Mhz rated ram it will still run it with the thinkpads 1/2 fsb to ram ratio which sucks. Wish there was a way to change that.
T61 | T8300 @ 2.6Ghz | Mushkin 4GB RAM | Mushkin Callisto 60 GB SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate

JKK
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:04 am
Location: France

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#4 Post by JKK » Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:44 pm

Don't undestand last message, what do you mean? That PC5300 is the max supported?

Harryc, from what i've heard, RAM frequency doesn't affect so much system performance...

And i believe it's true. Anyway i put both sticks and it works even thought at first weird things happened!

OCedT60
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:58 am
Location: State College, PA

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#5 Post by OCedT60 » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:23 pm

Thinkpad t60s have 1/2 pci divider so it always runs at 333Mhz double pumped. Some laptops have ability to change the pci divider so that you can run 5:4 or better ratios (best being 1:1) with higher timings and latencies but our oppressive BIOS will not allow that.

The best you can do on a thinkpad t60 without hacking the bios or using a program to change the fsb ratio(haven't found one) is get the lowest latency/timing ram available.

I believe the best is 4:4:4:5 timed (thats what my mushkin ram is) PC5200 but there may be lower.

But all in all the 1:2 ratio works fine and is stable so I don't know what I'm complaining about haha.
T61 | T8300 @ 2.6Ghz | Mushkin 4GB RAM | Mushkin Callisto 60 GB SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#6 Post by dr_st » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:32 am

I don't think the chipset in the T60 officially supports RAM over 333MHz (666MHz DDR). Desktop motherboard makers are famous in going past the official chipset limits as far as supported RAM speeds go, laptop makers less so.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

JKK
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:04 am
Location: France

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#7 Post by JKK » Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:53 pm

It's a R61 (so same as T61), did i say it was T60!?

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#8 Post by dr_st » Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:44 am

I seem to recall chipset is limited to DDR2-667 (PC5300) for T61/R61 too.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#9 Post by crashnburn » Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:14 am

General question I was wondering about.. Can one safely installing FASTER RATED RAM.. SODIMM in a Slower older laptop? To what extent?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2116
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#10 Post by Tasurinchi » Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:02 am

dr_st wrote:I seem to recall chipset is limited to DDR2-667 (PC5300) for T61/R61 too.
Would DDR2-800 work? (Doesn't matter if at PC5300 speed)
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7898
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#11 Post by dr_st » Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:08 am

Yes, it would.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#12 Post by crashnburn » Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:14 am

I've noticed that RAM prices for a system fall and then after a point, when the systems becoming a little old, the prices become high again because major demand has moved to the next gen of RAM. So, if the next gen RAM is reverse -capable / compatible / higher capacity.. Why not use it?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2116
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#13 Post by Tasurinchi » Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:46 am

True, that's why I was asking about DDR2-800 compatibility. My preferred vendor here has cheaper prices for 2GB DDR2-800 sticks than 2GB DDR2-667 ones.
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

OCedT60
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 10:58 am
Location: State College, PA

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#14 Post by OCedT60 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:20 am

Bugger now that you say that I see newegg has a mushkin 4gb kit for 3 bucks cheaper in ddr2 800. Looks like the 4gb single sticks are starting to show up in pc2-5300 too.
T61 | T8300 @ 2.6Ghz | Mushkin 4GB RAM | Mushkin Callisto 60 GB SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2116
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#15 Post by Tasurinchi » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:42 am

OCedT60 wrote:looks like the 4gb single sticks are starting to show up in pc2-5300 too
That was reason #2 for my question above! Actually here in Zurich I can't find anything bigger that 2GB in DDR2-667! My future plan for my T61 is putting a 8GB and a 64bits OS, to do that I have no other choice that DDR2-800 :|
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

JKK
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 7:04 am
Location: France

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#16 Post by JKK » Sun Nov 07, 2010 11:16 pm

I found a PC4200 2GB stick for extremely cheap price, that's why i took it :)

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#17 Post by Muse » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:47 pm

Tasurinchi wrote:That was reason #2 for my question above! Actually here in Zurich I can't find anything bigger that 2GB in DDR2-667! My future plan for my T61 is putting a 8GB and a 64bits OS, to do that I have no other choice that DDR2-800 :|
I went to Crucial's website yesterday and searched for RAM for my T61 and it said it supported PC2-6400 (I believe that's 800MHz) and only 2GB sticks for a total of 4GB maximum memory. I don't know if that's a limitation of the T61 or just that Crucial presently doesn't supply 4GB sticks (at the moment).

I have a couple of sticks of 2GB PC2-5300 667MHz G.Skill DDR2 I plan to put in my T61 (and load Windows 7 64bit Ultimate), which presently has 2GB. Don't know if this is much of a penalty, anyone?

It appears the 4GB limit is definitive for the T61:

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=49703
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20019
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#18 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:09 pm

That thread is quite old.
More modern here: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 95&start=0
allowing for up to 2x4GB = 8GB in a T61.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!

Muse
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:19 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#19 Post by Muse » Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:24 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:That thread is quite old.
More modern here: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 95&start=0
allowing for up to 2x4GB = 8GB in a T61.
Thanks. 8GB it is then. The thread I linked is stickied here. :?
"If a star were a grain of salt, you could fit all the stars visible to the naked eye on a teaspoon, but all the stars in the universe would fill a ball eight miles wide." - A Briefer History of Time, Stephen Hawking & Leonard Mlodinow

Dec. 2010: Now thought to be over 11 miles wide!

twillis449
Freshman Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 2:17 pm
Location: Summerland, Canada

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#20 Post by twillis449 » Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:13 pm

I have a T61 8889-26U with 2x4GB PC 5300 RAM. I mostly run 64 bit Ununtu linux 10.04 and all 8 GB are seen. I dual boot 32 bit windowsXP, so the XP doesn't see more than about 3 GB, but I rarely use XP and don't care about the memory address limitations.

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2116
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#21 Post by Tasurinchi » Thu Nov 11, 2010 4:32 am

Muse wrote:Crucial presently doesn't supply 4GB sticks
Kingston & Corsair offer 4GB sticks here, I've just checked my usual vendor. Too lazy to check more shops :oops: But I'm sure other companies will offer them too.
Last edited by Tasurinchi on Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20019
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#22 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Nov 11, 2010 6:17 am

@Tasurinchi
Are you aware of PC Hai?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2116
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#23 Post by Tasurinchi » Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:48 am

Almost forgot that one! I thought they were broke! I will add it to my favorites, thanks RBS! :thumbs-UP:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#24 Post by crashnburn » Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:41 am

Tasurinchi wrote:True, that's why I was asking about DDR2-800 compatibility. My preferred vendor here has cheaper prices for 2GB DDR2-800 sticks than 2GB DDR2-667 ones.
Thats what burns me as well. I wonder why.. Why is DDR3 RAM SODIMM cheaper than DDR2 RAM SODIMM?
G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Laptop Memory Model F3-8500CL7D-8GBSQ 79$
Patriot Signature 8GB (2 x 4GB) 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Laptop Memory Model PSD28G800SK 139$

I want to get the highest possible RATED 2x 4GB Sticks that are Future proof (when I move to next gen machine I can just pull out the sticks and insert) but can also be backward usable in my T61 / X61T.

Thoughts / ideas?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

msb0b
Sophomore Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:20 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#25 Post by msb0b » Tue Mar 22, 2011 6:51 pm

DDR3 is cheaper because there is a glut of memory chip in the market. Last I heard, which was in the news a month ago, DDR3 chips have dropped below $1 per gigabit chip. It means after assembly, the price should be around $10 per gigabyte or less.

DDR3 memory modules are not compatible with DDR2 systems and vice versa. They may have the same number of pins, but the actual connector, voltage and timing are different. Forget about bringing the memory to a newer system. All new systems are on the DDR3 standard.

4GB DDR2 modules will be as uncommon as the 2GB DDR modules when the industry moved from DDR to DDR2 standard. The prices on these modules will remain very high.

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#26 Post by crashnburn » Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:32 pm

msb0b wrote:DDR3 is cheaper because there is a glut of memory chip in the market. Last I heard, which was in the news a month ago, DDR3 chips have dropped below $1 per gigabit chip. It means after assembly, the price should be around $10 per gigabyte or less.

DDR3 memory modules are not compatible with DDR2 systems and vice versa. They may have the same number of pins, but the actual connector, voltage and timing are different. Forget about bringing the memory to a newer system. All new systems are on the DDR3 standard.

4GB DDR2 modules will be as uncommon as the 2GB DDR modules when the industry moved from DDR to DDR2 standard. The prices on these modules will remain very high.
Interesting. I was checking out the price spider graphs and DDR2 really dropped at Dec10-Jan11 border line.
OTOH - DDR3 had been falling more gradually through last year.

Can I / should we expect DDR2 to fall a bit more?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

msb0b
Sophomore Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 2:20 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Using RAM with different frequency...

#27 Post by msb0b » Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:29 am

Highly doubt the price of DDR2 will go significantly lower.

The rock bottom was back in 2007-2008. The retailers were moving 2GB modules for $10 to $15 each. 4GB modules were not yet available however.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T6x Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 31 guests