Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

X2/X3/X4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
aoitenshi
Sophomore Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Depok, Indonesia

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#1081 Post by aoitenshi » Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:53 am

alesanremo wrote:Excuse me for the question, but reading all the posts about this matter I'll get a little bit confused, so I ask to the experts if this ssd hd works fine and if needs other hardware to run into my x41 or I've just to plug it and play?

http://www.ebay.it/itm/KingSpec-1-8-IDE ... 70a&_uhb=1


Thanks

Alessandro M. Sanremo (ITALY)
My suggestion would be using an adapter like this one :
http://www.ebay.it/itm/Adattatore-mSATA ... 9a2&_uhb=1

and a msata ssd like this one :
http://www.ebay.it/itm/ADATA-Premier-Pr ... bb0&_uhb=1

so if you need to do 'secure erase', you can take the msata ssd from msata to ide adapter, into another adapter like these :
http://www.ebay.it/itm/New-50mm-mSATA-S ... 2fa&_uhb=1

or

http://www.ebay.it/itm/Mini-SATA-mSATA- ... em43c3827e

and perform secure erase on another laptop / pc with sata connector ..

a friend of mine in indonesia already done this and the X41 is now running on Linux
Hello world.

alesanremo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 2:09 am
Location: Sanremo - ITALY

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#1082 Post by alesanremo » Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:06 am

Thanks in advance for your answer; Do you think that the kingspec 1.8 ide is not reliable for the x41?
There are no room problems in fitting into the x41 sdd and adapter?
And finally, i haven't understood what is the "secure erase"... :(

Bye
Alessandro M. Sanremo

edivad
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 7:51 am
Location: catania, italy

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#1083 Post by edivad » Thu Aug 14, 2014 11:36 am

Ciao Alessandro ;),
... there are different solution for use ssd HD on a X40 X41, in my X40 I'm using a 3.3v 1.8" pata to mSata adapter, you will find this here and a Crucial M4 64GB "CT064M4SSD3", you can search it on amazon.it... or ebay.

For my X40 everything work well without any problems, I'm very satisfied about this upgrade, in the X41 system you should check the compatibility (disk not recognized from the bios),but as I remember Crucial M4 SSD are compatible also with X41 models, you can find in this forum some experience with this setup.

Ciao
Davide
Now
X40 ssd - T43 -X200s AFFS mod - T440 i7

fedeb777
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2014 11:27 am
Location: rome italy

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#1084 Post by fedeb777 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 11:22 am

Hi guys

I need information about HD chanhe in X41
What ssd/pata recommendet to install in my x41?

Ciao

c0rv00
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 11:55 am
Location: Lecce, Italy

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#1085 Post by c0rv00 » Thu Nov 19, 2015 12:06 pm

fedeb777 wrote:Hi guys

I need information about HD chanhe in X41
What ssd/pata recommendet to install in my x41?

Ciao
i installed this:http://www.ebay.it/itm/KingSpec-1-8-IDE ... 70a&_uhb=1
it work fine , to cancel error mex on the boot "Error 2012" you need to change BIOS

byebye

Trzyzet
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:54 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#1086 Post by Trzyzet » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:04 am

I tried with X41t, works pretty nice with SATA mod (maximum SATA1 bandwidth).

I found really nice offer from China, delivery in under 14 days. It has Intel memory chips and good controller.
Really long link
T400 With 8GB RAM, Undervolted T9900 and Radeon 3470 on Debian and Win7Pro

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X2/X3/X4x Series incl. X41 Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests