Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

X2/X3/X4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
itsne
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 7:48 pm
Location: Ellsworth, ME, USA

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#961 Post by itsne » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:08 am

Well, I am in the process with poor results.

The SSD I have is the KingSpec SSD 1.8 (PATA 64GB), P/N KSD-PA18.1-64MJ.

Problems:

1: I was not able to boot via generic USB CD-ROM and the USB attached external disk. I have two IDE/SATA to USB 2.0 conversion adapters. The internal BIOS is Phoenix BIOS 2.06 and it is the most current from IBM/Lenovo website. I did a quick search and it appears that there are more current BIOS levels available. I beleieve the BIOS should be upgraded. I will need to research this topic further.

I used my desktop PC to perform the Clone.
After the clone, i inspected the disk via my notebook, and by all appearances it was OK.

2: When i reconnected it to the X41, there was a failure to boot. Reattaching back the SSD to my notebook, the disk revealed only a 4 GB unformatted partition. So, i will be contacting KingSpec for a replacement.

PS: I converted my two Z60m and my two T61's to SATA-SSD and they all work excellent.
Thinkpad Z60m; 2 GHz; 2 GB; 128 GB SDD and 160 GB 7200; Win/XP
Thinkpad Z60m; 2 GHz; 2 GB; 160 GB 7200 rpm; Ubuntu
Thinkpad T61; 1.8 GHz- Duo; 3 GB; 128 GB SDD; Win/XP
Thinkpad R61i; 1.5 GHz- Duo; 3 GB; 128 GB SDD; Win/XP
Recenty Retired: R50p; 1.7 GHz; 1 GB; 60 GB 7200 rpm; Win/XP; Past: 770Z,

dwilsonfl
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:29 am
Location: Valparaiso, FL
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#962 Post by dwilsonfl » Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:19 am

That's not encouraging at all. I keep playing with the idea of keeping my X40 and slapping an SSD in there to give me a few more years of service. The original HD is so slow and noisy.

But every time I start to pull the trigger on a Kingspec I read something like this. And when I look at cost of the ZIF alternatives versus the speedbump I'm just not convinced.
Vocavit autem servirent

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#963 Post by sjthinkpader » Fri Jun 25, 2010 4:49 pm

itsne wrote:...
Problems:

1: I was not able to boot via generic USB CD-ROM and the USB attached external disk. I have two IDE/SATA to USB 2.0 conversion adapters. The internal BIOS is Phoenix BIOS 2.06 and it is the most current from IBM/Lenovo website. I did a quick search and it appears that there are more current BIOS levels available. I beleieve the BIOS should be upgraded. I will need to research this topic further.

I used my desktop PC to perform the Clone.
After the clone, i inspected the disk via my notebook, and by all appearances it was OK.

2: When i reconnected it to the X41, there was a failure to boot. Reattaching back the SSD to my notebook, the disk revealed only a 4 GB unformatted partition. So, i will be contacting KingSpec for a replacement.
....
The new HDD/SSD need to be in the HDD slot to write the MBR properly.
Have you set the BIOS boot device order correctly, USB CD before ATA?
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

topmahof
Sophomore Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Etters PA
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#964 Post by topmahof » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:38 pm

i'm using a 60 gig ssd drive that lenovo is now selling in my x41. i didn't get it from lenovo but on ebay for less than 200.00. it doesn't give any bios errors and it really speeded up this machine. no more hard drive noise. pt#41WO736.
current, T430s, X1C-2nd Gen, Helix 1st Gen, X301, X200T, X61T, X32, X41T, 2-X40s, tc4400, X60 , X61s U-160, Yoga 900, Yoga 910

bloovis
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 8:30 pm
Location: Bethel, VT
Contact:

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#965 Post by bloovis » Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:26 pm

topmahof wrote:i'm using a 60 gig ssd drive that lenovo is now selling in my x41. i didn't get it from lenovo but on ebay for less than 200.00. it doesn't give any bios errors and it really speeded up this machine. no more hard drive noise. pt#41WO736.
I also bought one of these Lenovo SSDs on eBay last week for my X41, and it's been wonderful so far.
X200s (Linux Mint 18), T61 (Linux Mint 17), X60s (Linux Mint 17), T60p (Linux Mint 18), R61 (Linux Mint 16), X41 (Linux Mint 13), R50p (Linux Mint 13), A21m (Linux Mint 7), 380Z (TinyMe Linux, inactive)

interweb
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 12:45 pm
Location: Park Ridge, IL

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#966 Post by interweb » Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:36 am

Hello Mofotech, was wondering how your 8GB Supertalent SSD test results worked. I'm interested in buying one of these as well but wanted to wait for your results. I'm currently using a Ridata 8GB 233X CompactFlash card (new one I brought from newegg) and its pretty slow in writes, but quick for reads -- which matches what other state, but am having some issues with when programs would hang temporarily while the HD LED light stays solid for a long time but eventually program would resume again --- am playing around with disabling the virtual memory page file for now.... I have 512MB of memory with Windows XP Pro SP2 but have ordered up a 1GB SODIMM memory module to see if that helps.. Already disabled file indexing as well as the disk write-ahead caching option.
Thanks
----

mofotech wrote:check this out...1.8" super talent ssd 8 gb... from ebay for $30. I bought it already and loaded on my x40. I used one of those zif connector that came with caddy. its the one you can drop any zif 1.8 drive exactly

like this one of these

http://cgi.ebay.com/IBM-X40-X41-X41t-HD ... 19b6756ef2

but i only used the ribbon wit the ide connection on the end and I did not use the caddy it self as the super talent did not fit in it. i guess u can use any zif to ide converter.

heres the super talent off ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... K:MEWNX:IT

I had alot of trouble in the past with my x40 and wasted alot of money on it...i went from a cf 4gb 300x trend, then a 16 gb 1.3" super talent ssd but the zif connector broke on it and I never got it back up to work and then I got a patriot 16gb 266x cf but that one was too slow... loll wat a waste of money but this one does a good job. i got ubuntu right now just to test the drive. I will put winxp and try crystal marks later.

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#967 Post by sjthinkpader » Mon Jul 12, 2010 12:08 pm

There are several versions of these that went into Acer Aspire. I tested the intel and Sandisk versions and they seem to have similar performance. There is a 32GB Super Talent in this format but quite expensive.

It seems the RiDATA 233x CF card may have dirty free space and need cleaning (garbage collection in TRIM speak).
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

Vik_Tor
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:47 am
Location: Lviv, Ukraine

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#968 Post by Vik_Tor » Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:03 am

Hi, All!

In the fifth year of using I decide to improve my X41. :)

Please recommend me, what is better for speed and reliability:
1. KingSpec 1.8" IDE PATA SSD MLC 64GB (http://cgi.ebay.com/KingSpec-1-8-IDE-PA ... ccessories)
or
2. CF to 44 pin 1.8" IDE HDD Adapter Case (http://cgi.ebay.com/CF-44-pin-1-8-IDE-I ... ccessories) with CF?

Thank's a lot.

sjthinkpader
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2908
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 8:29 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#969 Post by sjthinkpader » Tue Aug 17, 2010 8:25 pm

I think what is locally supported is probably best. There are a few stories having something returned to foreign countries and costing arm and a leg.
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=86707

Most advertised CF speeds are read while write speed is most important when used as SSD. The RiDATA 233x CF cards continued to be good value with acceptable write performance.
T60p 2623-DDU/UXGA IPS/ATI V5200
T60 2623-DCU/SXGA+ IPS/ATI X1400
T43p 2668-H8U/UXGA IPS/ATI V3200
R50p 1832-NU1/UXGA IPS/ATI FireGL T2
X61t 7762-B6U dual touch IPS/64GB SSD
X32 2673-BU6/32GB SSD
755CDV 9545-GBK Transmissive Projection LCD

fasteez
Freshman Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:22 pm
Location: paris, france

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#970 Post by fasteez » Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:09 pm

in case you're interested :

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 53#p588453 ( link to mod the x41 for sata drives )

X60s 1702-YAB `L2400 | T61 7659-12U `T7300
X32 2672-KJG `750 | X31 2672-CBG `705 |X41 | X41t 1867-A44 `758
[fs] x61s 3GB, 100GB, Batt+AC ... dead mobo & lcd
[sold] x60 T2400 1Gb wlan|eth

vixvix
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:31 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#971 Post by vixvix » Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:41 pm

Got my kingspec 32G for a while from ebay($13x). I feel it is well worth for the upgrade for my x40. My thinkpad is with the low voltage 1G cpu and 1G+256M only. Now it takes around 40 sec to boot from hibernation instead of more than 5min before.

The upgrade wasnt smooth. My windows xp installation usb key doesnt work. The usb drive I made can boot up the lappy and start the installation process, but wrote out the system files back to the usb key itself instead of the SSD drive. So I borrowed a usb-dvdrw drive and installed the windows. Took around 15min and the new system up and running in the new drive.

The upgrade might enable the x40 to serve me for some more years.

tehdude
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#972 Post by tehdude » Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:20 am

Having succesfully bought 3 KingSpec MLC SSD-s from eBay and looking for another one I stumbled upon a new offering - an SLC 1.8" SSD:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-1-8-SLC-SSD-PAT ... 1710wt_654

If the information posted underneath isn't entirely incorrect, it should be using Samsung K9WAG08U1A chips (from 2006??).

Are there any drives known to use those chips and performance/issues they might have? What about the controller, what could it be using...
Q: Is it really SLC? Any plans for bigger SLC SSD-s for 1,8" PATA?
A: hi , it is really SLC , I have 8GB to 128GB , which size do you need ?

X41 Tablet // 2GB DDR // 64GB KingSpec // Win7
X61 Tablet // 8GB DDR2 // 80GB X25-M @ Sata-II // Win7

AMATX
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 500
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 12:17 pm
Location: SFO/HNL

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#973 Post by AMATX » Sat Aug 28, 2010 6:12 pm

If shopping KingSpec off of ebay, try a worldwide search for whatever you want. The item will come up in multiple currencies, and you can select whichever has the best conversion rate for that day. Usually free shipping, so doesn't matter which ebay country site it's ordered from.

ovi
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:20 am
Location: Glostrup, Denmark

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#974 Post by ovi » Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:08 am

hi i have 2 X x41 with kingspec 1,8" 64 GB
These machines are working just fine but i will like to know if is possible to remove / bypass the bootup delay ( Error Message) because of an unrecognized drive.
King regards
Ovi

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#975 Post by Tasurinchi » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:25 am

You cannot remove the error message, there's an option in the BIOS menu where it continues booting after the message, so no more need to press ESC. You can find that option under "Startup" (from the initial BIOS screen).

Hope this helps...
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

ovi
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 5:20 am
Location: Glostrup, Denmark

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#976 Post by ovi » Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:25 am

hi Tasurinchi
thx for you reply
it works :-)
Regards
Ovi

tehdude
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#977 Post by tehdude » Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:43 am

quick question.

KingSpec SSD-s are both 3,3V and 5V tolerant,
but could Lenovo 60GB SSD also be used in regular
2,5" hard drive bay (5V)?
For example in T4x-series

X41 Tablet // 2GB DDR // 64GB KingSpec // Win7
X61 Tablet // 8GB DDR2 // 80GB X25-M @ Sata-II // Win7

loyukfai
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:08 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#978 Post by loyukfai » Sat Nov 27, 2010 1:20 pm

If I'm not mistaken those Samsung-rebranded SSD are specified for 3.3V operations.

See also this... http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80773

Cheers.

Donald
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:16 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#979 Post by Donald » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:00 am

I threw in a 64GB Runcore Pro IV (RCP-IV-P1864-MCNV) into my X41 Tablet. 3.3 Volts on the label. Windows 7 blazes. The metal guide inside the drive bay next to the PATA plug needs to be bent back a little accommodate the RunCore to allow it to seat completely. The video speaks for itself:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCl5Qxj8yuE

Donald

enfamille
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 12:17 pm
Location: PARIS, FRANCE

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#980 Post by enfamille » Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:00 pm

@ Tasurinchi, Ovi
I'm French, as my english !
To remove the Dos 2010 error when you use a non IBM disk such as the Kingspec, you juste have to flash the bios :
X41 non tablet, Version: 2.09 (74ET64WW). Release Date: 2006/12/25
http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thread ... post344779

enfamille
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 12:17 pm
Location: PARIS, FRANCE

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#981 Post by enfamille » Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:16 pm


Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#982 Post by Tasurinchi » Thu Dec 09, 2010 6:04 pm

enfamille wrote:To remove the Dos 2010 error when you use a non IBM disk such as the Kingspec, you juste have to flash the bios :
I know that BIOS, but if I remember correctly it was released after my post above. Luckily this silly error is history. (btw I tried it already in my T43p and it works great)
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

elee123
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 4:05 pm
Location: colorado

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#983 Post by elee123 » Sat Dec 18, 2010 11:31 am

i just picked up a 32GB kingspec for 72 dollars on ebay, but i regret the purchase. the stutter makes multitasking unuseable. i tried all sorts of tweaks with no real improvements.

has anyone tried the jmicron firmware update on these drives? I have seen good reports of eliminating the stutter at a little cost of throughput. this was an update provided by supertalent, but has been tested on other vendors' drives. there is an xp based tool, but that's for flashing through usb (not on the kingspec, unless there is a usb connector on the pcb). there is also a dos based tool that is for flashing through sata interface.

http://www.daffodilistic.com/2009/08/21 ... e-mystery/
http://www.supertalent.com/support/down ... 90508s.rar
http://www.supertalent.com/support/down ... 90508s.doc
http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum ... or-Core-V2
T21 750 PIII, 384 MB RAM, XP and fedora 7
T42 1.8 PM, 2048 MB RAM, Radeon 9600, 1400x1050 14.1, VISTA and UBUNTU 7.10
X40 1.2 PM

frankiepankie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:50 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#984 Post by frankiepankie » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:09 pm

Benchmarks of the Kingspec 1.8" 16GB PATA SSD that i bought for my X41 Tablet:

Crystal Disk Mark:
http://tweakers.net/ext/f/so9ZLbfISXo7d ... 8/full.png

HD Tune:
http://tweakers.net/ext/f/ME9XEDuo2rHmb ... p/full.png

Modelnumber: KSD-PA18.1-016MJ
Lenovo ThinkPad T410

loyukfai
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1085
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:08 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#985 Post by loyukfai » Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:20 pm

elee123 wrote:i just picked up a 32GB kingspec for 72 dollars on ebay, but i regret the purchase. the stutter makes multitasking unuseable. i tried all sorts of tweaks with no real improvements.
Tried FlashFire (http://flashfire.org/)...? I haven't used it for some time and it was kind of unstable back then. Maybe things have improved and you may see if it helps through.

Cheers.

tehdude
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#986 Post by tehdude » Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:47 am

frankiepankie wrote:Benchmarks of the Kingspec 1.8" 16GB PATA SSD that i bought for my X41 Tablet:

Crystal Disk Mark:
http://tweakers.net/ext/f/so9ZLbfISXo7d ... 8/full.png

HD Tune:
http://tweakers.net/ext/f/ME9XEDuo2rHmb ... p/full.png

Modelnumber: KSD-PA18.1-016MJ
uuh, that's pretty bad.
As it's a small drive, I can understand why you'd be using WinXP, but still, I suggest you partition the drive on windows 7 setup and install winxp on the 2nd partition (1st is 100MB) or just move the start position further up. Idea is to align the partitions properly and put the start offset to 1024k instead of 31k.

Definitely improves performance:
pic

Then it's just as fast under WinXP than in Windows 7 and no third-party soft is necessary.

Read more about partition alignment

X41 Tablet // 2GB DDR // 64GB KingSpec // Win7
X61 Tablet // 8GB DDR2 // 80GB X25-M @ Sata-II // Win7

frankiepankie
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:50 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#987 Post by frankiepankie » Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:40 am

Where did you read that i am using Windows XP :lol: ?

I am running Windows 7 on it :P

But i will try the partition aligning, it sounds interesting

P.S Your imageshack link is not working, maybe try another host like TinyPic ?
Lenovo ThinkPad T410

tehdude
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:58 am
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#988 Post by tehdude » Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:19 am

frankiepankie wrote:Where did you read that i am using Windows XP :lol: ?

I am running Windows 7 on it :P
then you just managed to royally f'ck up :P

16GB KingSpec on WinXP:

Seq 81.45 / 27.39
512K 78.33 / 20.00
4K 12.23 / 2.296
4K QD 32 14.20 / 2.249

Just reinstall windows 7, delete all partitions on setup and let windows make its own. Problem easily solved and numbers are going to skyrocket.

But yeah, for some reason the chinese sellers on eBay have the SSD-s pre-partitioned and pre-formatted and not the "right way".

X41 Tablet // 2GB DDR // 64GB KingSpec // Win7
X61 Tablet // 8GB DDR2 // 80GB X25-M @ Sata-II // Win7

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2112
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#989 Post by Tasurinchi » Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:35 pm

Found in Ebay an offering for an Sandisk 64GB: (click). Does anyone knows the performance compared to his smaller brother Sandisk SDU5B? I've only found benchmarks for the latter here in the forum.

Thanks in advance!
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

ladoga
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Has anyone tried an SSD in the X41? *PICS*

#990 Post by ladoga » Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:24 pm

elee123 wrote:i just picked up a 32GB kingspec for 72 dollars on ebay, but i regret the purchase. the stutter makes multitasking unuseable. i tried all sorts of tweaks with no real improvements.
Have you aligned your partitions to match erase block size? That should get rid of performance hiccups.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X2/X3/X4x Series incl. X41 Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: maxcreations and 4 guests