Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Fn+F4 turns my X31 off

X2/X3/X4x series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

Fn+F4 turns my X31 off

#1 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:21 am

It started a week ago or so (I'm not sure if it was the same before the latest MS Patch-day)

I used to be able to put my X31 into Stand-By mode by just pressing Fn+F4.

Now, when I do the key combination, the splash screen appears (where it say it's going into Stand-By), then it just turns itself off. :?

I have double-checked the Power Properties to make sure that everything is set correctly. Stil no go.

Did anyone experience something similar to this before? If so, how did you solve it?
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8513
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#2 Post by pianowizard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:23 am

Go to "Display Properties" --> "Screen Saver" --> "Power" --> "Advanced" --> see what option is selected under "When I press the sleep button on my computer".
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (12.0" 1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (10.8" 1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Bolva 40BL00H7; Crossover 404K; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#3 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:25 am

Thanks for the quick reply, PW :)

It's set to Stand-By. That's why I'm puzzled. :wink:
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8513
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#4 Post by pianowizard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:29 am

That doesn't make any sense!

Yeah, I am almost constantly on this forum to make sure I don't miss any good for-sale ads!
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (12.0" 1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (10.8" 1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600)
Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Bolva 40BL00H7; Crossover 404K; Monoprice 10734; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#5 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:19 am

OK, another thing I've just noticed:

After it turns itself off, the power button is not working. I have to take the power plug off and on. Then the power button reacts.

Weird.
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

compnerd4
Sophomore Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

#6 Post by compnerd4 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:33 am

It sound like a short but I don't see why it would still be running.

Try uninstalling the power management and hibernation IBM tools and reinstalling them if that does not work it might a hardware problem!
T40 ~ P-1.5 GHz ~ 512MB ~ 40 GB~ Win XP
Fujitsu LT P-600 - 30gb -256mb win 2000
Past~ X30 ~ T23 ~ T21 ~x20

Be sure to check out my CONTEST!

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#7 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:35 am

Unfortunately, uninstalling and re-installing power management utilities and drivers didn't help. It's still shutting the power off, when I press Fn+F4.

I think I'll have to live with it.

I'm not re-installing Windows, it's working fine this way.
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

compnerd4
Sophomore Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

#8 Post by compnerd4 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:11 pm

Hmm... that is strange!
T40 ~ P-1.5 GHz ~ 512MB ~ 40 GB~ Win XP
Fujitsu LT P-600 - 30gb -256mb win 2000
Past~ X30 ~ T23 ~ T21 ~x20

Be sure to check out my CONTEST!

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#9 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 12:45 pm

Strange indeed.

BTW, before giving up completely, I'd love to try an older version of Power Manager driver. Where do I find them?

I have the latest one, 1.43 - Where can I get my hands on 1.41 - or maybe even 1.40?

Any ideas?
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

compnerd4
Sophomore Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

#10 Post by compnerd4 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:08 pm

Deckard wrote:Strange indeed.

BTW, before giving up completely, I'd love to try an older version of Power Manager driver. Where do I find them?

I have the latest one, 1.43 - Where can I get my hands on 1.41 - or maybe even 1.40?

Any ideas?
Try from HERE
T40 ~ P-1.5 GHz ~ 512MB ~ 40 GB~ Win XP
Fujitsu LT P-600 - 30gb -256mb win 2000
Past~ X30 ~ T23 ~ T21 ~x20

Be sure to check out my CONTEST!

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#11 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:25 pm

Thanks for the link. But that link leads me to the latest driver 1.43, which I already have.
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

compnerd4
Sophomore Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

#12 Post by compnerd4 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:43 pm

Do you have the restore Disks?

If so they should have the old drivers because the new driver you have is a new one right?

if it is you might be able to dig the drivers out of the disks!

im not sure where to look but you should be able to dig them up!!

If you do find them and there the same tell me and ill look around!

And i might have the old drivers at my house on my computer and if i do ill let you know and ill send them to you!

Regards,

Matthew
T40 ~ P-1.5 GHz ~ 512MB ~ 40 GB~ Win XP
Fujitsu LT P-600 - 30gb -256mb win 2000
Past~ X30 ~ T23 ~ T21 ~x20

Be sure to check out my CONTEST!

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#13 Post by Deckard » Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:50 pm

Thanks mate. I'll let you know. :)
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

wackydan
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:01 pm

#14 Post by wackydan » Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:24 pm

Not turning back on is signs of potential cmos battery failure.

May want to check there just in case.

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#15 Post by Deckard » Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:14 am

OK, here I am again.

I wasn't able to find the 1.41 power management driver. Does anyone know where I can find this file online?

wackydan, thanks for the heads up. I'll look into that CMOS battery. Actually, it's turning on again, but I have to disconnect the power plug for a couple of seconds and re-connect again. Then it's booting. Otherwise, it's doing nothing, the power button has not effect at all.

Thanks a lot.
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#16 Post by Deckard » Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:17 am

Update

From my older backup, I've managed to extract older versions of Power Management Driver. I have tried 1.33 and 1.41 so far, Standby still not working.

So, I'm guessing that it's not a driver related issue. But I have no idea what's causing this.
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#17 Post by Deckard » Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:04 pm

Update II

Today, I have noticed another problem. It's similar to the one above, but somehow related. Here goes;

When I shut down the computer via the regular way (i.e. Start - Shut Down - Shut down), it powers down without a complication.

Here comes the weird part, when I want to power it up, I'm pressing the power button, nothing is happening. But, if I disconnect the power jack and re-connect it, it works and the laptop boots just fine.

I consider myself quite computer savvy, Windows user since 3.1, but for the life of me, I can't figure out what kind of a problem I'm dealing with here.

Wackydan mentioned CMOS battery above. Could it be the culprit? I'm not getting a CMOS battery error.

What's the CMOS battery actually doing, other than holding BIOS info? Does CMOS have any effect on Stand-By?
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

compnerd4
Sophomore Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

#18 Post by compnerd4 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:19 pm

Sounds like a motherboard Short! :(
T40 ~ P-1.5 GHz ~ 512MB ~ 40 GB~ Win XP
Fujitsu LT P-600 - 30gb -256mb win 2000
Past~ X30 ~ T23 ~ T21 ~x20

Be sure to check out my CONTEST!

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#19 Post by Deckard » Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:26 pm

Uh oh, that doesn't sound good :(
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

compnerd4
Sophomore Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:19 pm
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

#20 Post by compnerd4 » Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:03 pm

Deckard wrote:Uh oh, that doesn't sound good :(
It might not be... But if it is that is bad :(

if it is possible id say reformat! and if that doesn't fix it it must be a hardware problem!
T40 ~ P-1.5 GHz ~ 512MB ~ 40 GB~ Win XP
Fujitsu LT P-600 - 30gb -256mb win 2000
Past~ X30 ~ T23 ~ T21 ~x20

Be sure to check out my CONTEST!

andyP
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:56 am
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

#21 Post by andyP » Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:44 am

Regarding the Fn + F4 causing the TP to shut down; I had a TP here with the same problem, in this case it was definitely caused by the settings in TP Energy-Manager - Global Settings. (not in Control Panel which were set as expected for Stand-By), Fn + F4 was set to shut down the TP and it did. After altering it, it didn't, it went into Stand-By.
T61p 6460-67G; 15,4 WSXGA+ W7P x64, no hairdryer.
T43p 2668-G2G, 14,1 SXGA+, XP Pro, internal hairdryer
T23 2647-9LG, 14,1 SXGA+, XP Pro, no hairdryer

Deckard
Sophomore Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 7:03 am
Location: Germany

#22 Post by Deckard » Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:23 am

Hi andyP,

thanks for your feedback.

I wouldn't be worried if it was a regular shut down procedure. But in my case, it just cuts the power.

After pushing Fn+F4 and the "Preparing to Standby" message appears, the screen goes blank, the HDD light flashes for a short time and at the moment, where the moon symbol is supposed to get turned on, the system cuts the power.

I have the feeling that this is a power management related problem. I was using RMClock to undervolt my laptop, which is disabling the driver for system power management. It might be somewhat related to this utility.

Next step will be replacing the CMOS battery. I still couldn't find information on whether CMOS battery have any relation to Hibernate or Standby mode.
IBM Thinkpad X31 2884-JGU
P M 1.4Ghz | 2GB RAM | 80GB HDD | 12.1" XGA | X3 Ultrabase | DVD/CD-RW | 802.11 a/b/g WLAN | BT | WinXP Pro SP2

andyP
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 821
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:56 am
Location: Ratingen, Germany
Contact:

#23 Post by andyP » Mon Jul 23, 2007 8:48 am

Just another thought, are you able to swap out the keyboard? Not that maybe your keyboard has a problem / short :?:
T61p 6460-67G; 15,4 WSXGA+ W7P x64, no hairdryer.
T43p 2668-G2G, 14,1 SXGA+, XP Pro, internal hairdryer
T23 2647-9LG, 14,1 SXGA+, XP Pro, no hairdryer

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X2/X3/X4x Series incl. X41 Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests